A Chitosan Based, Laser Activated Thin Film Surgical Adhesive "SurgiLux ': Vorbereitung und Demonstration

Bioengineering

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's Bioengineering section to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 

Summary

Die Herstellung einer erfindungsgemäßen, flexiblen Dünnfilm chirurgischen Klebstoff aus FDA zugelassenen Inhaltsstoffen, Chitosan und Indocyaningrün beschrieben. Bonden dieser Klebstoff auf Kollagengewebe durch eine einfache Aktivierung mit einer Low-Power-Infrarotlaser nachgewiesen wird.

Cite this Article

Copy Citation | Download Citations

Foster, L. J., Karsten, E. A Chitosan Based, Laser Activated Thin Film Surgical Adhesive, 'SurgiLux': Preparation and Demonstration. J. Vis. Exp. (68), e3527, doi:10.3791/3527 (2012).

Please note that all translations are automatically generated.

Click here for the english version. For other languages click here.

Abstract

Nähte sind ein 4.000 Jahre alten Technik, der "goldene Standard" für einen Wundverschluss aufgrund ihrer Reparatur Festigkeit (~ 100 KPa) verbleiben. Allerdings können Nähte als nidus zur Infektion handeln und in vielen Verfahren sind derzeit keine Wundheilung zu bewirken oder zu stören funktionelle Geweberegeneration. 1 Chirurgische Leimen und Klebstoffen, z. B. solche auf Basis von Fibrin und Cyanoacrylaten, sind als Alternativen zu Nähten für entwickelt Die Reparatur dieser Wunden. Jedoch gegenwärtigen kommerziellen Klebstoffen auch erhebliche Nachteile auf, die von viralen und Prion-Transfer und einem Mangel an Reparatur Stärke wie bei den Fibrinkleber, um Gewebe Toxizität und mangelnder Biokompatibilität der Cyanoacrylat basierende Klebstoffe. Weiterhin neigen derzeit verfügbaren chirurgische Klebstoffe sein Gelbasis und kann verlängert Aushärtezeiten, die ihre Anwendung limitieren haben. 2 Ebenso ist die Verwendung von UV-Laser, um eine Vernetzung Mechanismen auf Proteinbasis oder Albumin 'Sol erleichternDers 'kann zu DNA-Schäden führen, während Laser-Gewebe-Schweißen (LTW) prädisponiert thermische Schäden an Geweben. 3 Trotz ihrer Nachteile, Klebstoffe und LTW eingefangen haben ca. 30% der Wundverschluss Markt berichtet über 5 Mrd. US $ pro Jahr betragen, ein signifikanter Beweis für die Notwendigkeit für nahtlose Technologie. 4

Im Streben nach nahtlosen Technik haben wir Chitosan als Biomaterial verwendet für die Entwicklung eines flexiblen, Dünnschicht, laseraktivierten chirurgischen Klebstoff als 'SurgiLux'. Dieser Roman bioadhäsiven nutzt eine einzigartige Kombination von Biomaterialien und Photonik, die FDA zugelassen sind und erfolgreich eingesetzt in einer Vielzahl von biomedizinischen Anwendungen und Produkte. SurgiLux überwindet alle Nachteile, die mit Nahtmaterial und aktuelle chirurgische Klebstoffe (siehe Tabelle 1) zugeordnet ist.

In dieser Präsentation berichten wir über die relativ einfaches Protokoll für die Herstellung von SurgiLux und demonstrierenihre Laseraktivierung und Gewebe Nahtfestigkeit. SurgiLux Folien haften Kollagengewebe ohne chemische Modifikation wie Vernetzung und durch Bestrahlung mit einer vergleichsweise leistungsschwachen (120 mW) Infrarotlaser anstelle von UV-Licht. Chitosan Filme haben eine natürliche, aber schwachen Kleber Anziehungskraft auf Kollagen (~ 3 KPa), betont Laseraktivierung der Chitosan basierende SurgiLux Filmen die Stärke dieser Haftung durch Polymerkette Interaktionen als Folge von transienten thermischen Ausdehnung. 5 Ohne diese "Aktivierung"-Prozess werden SurgiLux Folien leicht entfernt. 6-9 SurgiLux sowohl in vitro als auch in vivo wurde auf einer Vielzahl von Geweben, einschließlich Nerven, Darm, Dura mater und Hornhaut getestet. In allen Fällen zeigten gute Biokompatibilität und vernachlässigbare thermische Schädigung als Folge der Bestrahlung. 6-10

Protocol

Ein. Vorbereitung der SurgiLux Lösung

  1. Bereiten Sie eine 2% (v / v) Lösung von Essigsäure mit deionisiertem Wasser in einem sauberen Becherglas, verwenden Sie einen Laminarströmungshaube, um eine Kontamination zu vermeiden.
  2. Wiegen 0,02% (w / v) des Chromophors, Indocyaningrün, IKG, in einer sterilen Eppendorfröhrchen; sicherzustellen das Rohr in Alufolie eingewickelt, um kein Licht eindringen kann.
  3. Mit einem sauberen, Einwegpipette, übertragen etwa 1 ml der verdünnten Essigsäure-Lösung auf das Rohr, um den Farbstoff zu lösen, leicht schütteln und halten in Folie gewickelt.
  4. Übertragen des solubilisierten ICG in den Becher und mit 2% (w / v) Chitosan Pulver vor dem Hinzufügen eines sterilen Magnetrührer.
  5. Das Becherglas mit Parafilm dann in Alufolie zu wickeln, bevor das Mischen der Inhalte bei etwa 125 UpM für 72 h bei Raumtemperatur in einer Sterilbank.
  6. Transferieren des Inhalts in saubere Röhrchen und Zentrifuge bei 15.000 g für 15 min bei 4 ° C zu entfernen particulate Materie.
  7. Transferieren es vorsichtig in die grüne SurgiLux Lösung in ein sauberes Becherglas, decken mit Parafilm dann wickeln in Silberfolie, vor dem Speichern in einem Kühlschrank für 12 Stunden, um die Viskosität der Lösung zu erhöhen.

2. Gießen SurgiLux Films

  1. Mit einer sterilen Spritze verzichten 8 ml des kalten SurgiLux Lösung in einem sauberen, Petrischale von 95 mm Durchmesser und leicht kippen die Platte um eine vollständige Abdeckung von der Lösung zu gewährleisten. Variation des Verhältnisses von Volumen der Lösung zum Gießen Bereich erlaubt die Kontrolle der Schichtdicke, siehe Abbildung 1.
  2. Entfernen Sie alle sichtbaren Luftblasen in der Lösung mit der Spitze einer sterilen Nadel. Decken Sie die Schale in Alufolie und in einem Kühlschrank, um alle restlichen Mikrometergröße Luftblasen zu entfernen.
  3. Nach 20 min vorsichtig die Petrischale aus dem Kühlschrank, in einem Laminarströmungshaube decken mit Silberfolie und lassen Sie die Lösung für 3 Wochen verdampfen.
  4. Nach Kosolute Verdampfung des Gastes die äußeren Kanten der klaren grünen SurgiLux Film in der Petrischale und sanft "Schale" des Films vom Gericht Oberfläche.
  5. Die SurgiLux Film sollte flexibel und leicht ohne Reißen oder Brechen manipuliert.
  6. Bewahren Sie die kreisförmige SurgiLux Filme in der Petrischale in Silberfolie unter trockenen Bedingungen verpackt bis zur Verwendung.

3. Laser Aktivierung SurgiLux Klebefolien

  1. Um den Laser Aktivierung zeigen, verwenden wir ein Stück Rindergewebe wie Steak geschnitten zu einer Größe von 15 mm Breite und 20 mm Länge. Präparieren des Gewebes in einer geraden Linie unter Verwendung eines Number 10 chirurgischen Klinge, um zwei Stücke von 15 × 10 mm zu erzeugen.
  2. Angleichung der zwei Gewebestücke so daß ihre Kanten sich berühren aber nicht überlappen, und mit einem Wattestäbchen oder Gaze, sanft absorbieren überschüssiges Fluid.
  3. Dann schneiden Sie ein Stück SurgiLux Film 7 x 9 mm und vorsichtig die Folie in Längsrichtung über die halbierten pIECE von Gewebe; drücken Sie dann vorsichtig mit einem trockenen Wattestäbchen.
  4. SurgiLux Filme werden aktiviert Verwendung eines Infrarot-Diodenlaser bei einer Einstellung von 120 mW. Da es sich um eine Klasse IIIB Laser, sollten geeignete Sicherheitsmaßnahmen zu treffen, einschließlich der Verwendung von geeigneten Schutzbrille für alle Mitarbeiter sein.
  5. Ab in die Ecke, bestrahlen die SurgiLux mit einem Infrarot-Laser bei 120 mW eingestellt und eine Fleckgröße von 1 mm Durchmesser. Übergeben der Strahlfleck über den grünen Folie bei einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 1 mm pro Sekunde. Wiederholen Sie die Bestrahlung zwei weitere Male.

4. Stärke der Reparatur

  1. Vorsichtig sichern die Enden des Gewebes in den Klemmbacken einer Zugprüfmaschine Instrument. Wir verwenden ein Instron Mini55 System mit einer 50 Newton Kraftmessdose. Die maximale Last, Zugfestigkeit und Bruchdehnung wurden unter Verwendung Bluehill Computersoftware (USA). Mittel aus mindestens 10 Proben wurden bestimmt (n = 10).
  2. Nehmen Sie die "slack"und dann Trennen der Gewebeteile mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 1 mm pro Sekunde, bis die beiden Teile des Gewebes miteinander durch die SurgiLux Streifens vollständig getrennte gehalten.

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Representative Results

Zentrifugation führt zu einem transparenten grüne Lösung, die Viskosität steigt nach Lagerung bei 4-6 ° C. Nach einer Standzeit von 3 Tagen, die grüne Lösung in einen transparenten Film grünen SurgiLux etwa 20 Mikron dick umgewandelt wird und, wie in dem Video gezeigt, ist leicht flexibel.

Bei Bestrahlung mit dem Laser, die SurgiLux Film-Bindungen an das Gewebe. Dies kann an den Rändern des Films, wo das Gewebe scheint zusammenziehen wie der Laserstrahl über die Folie (2) beobachtet werden. Kein Verkohlung oder Ablation des Gewebes und Film sollte beobachtet werden. Die Bindungsstärke SurgiLux zum Gewebe sollte ausreichend sein, um die halbierte Gewebestücke heben, und wenn die Zugfestigkeit gemessen wird, sollte ca. 15 KPa für den Test über die hier berichtet wird.

Tabelle 1
Tabelle 1. </ Strong> Vergleich der Eigenschaften für vorgeschlagene SurgiLux und kommerziell erhältlichen Fibrin und Cyanacrylat chirurgische Klebstoffe.

Abbildung 1
Abbildung 1 Schematische Darstellung des SurgiLux dünne Klebefilm Herstellung und Aktivierung;.. Entsprechend dem Protokoll Text Klicken Sie hier für eine größere Abbildung zu sehen .

Abbildung 2
Abbildung 2 Fotografisches (x20), die die dünnen Films nach SurgiLux Laseraktivierung eingehalten Rinderdarm Gewebe und "öffentlichen" in das Gewebe Einschnitt (T A, T B:. Separate Stücke of Gewebe I: Einschnitt, S: SurgiLux Film).

Abbildung 3
Abbildung 3 Graph zeigt Gewebeadhäsion Stärken für verschiedene Klebstoffe:. Chitosan und SurgiLux Folien aufgebracht auf Gewebe, Tisseel (Fibrin) und Histoacryl Gele (Cyanacrylat) auf das Gewebe aufgetragen.

Abbildung 4
Abbildung 4 Rasterelektronenmikroskopaufnahmen (REM) darstellt, die an Zellen SurgiLux Filme;. Menschlichen Zelllinien (a) olfaktorischen einhüllende Zellen [x1.5k], (b) Stromafibroblasten [x500], und (c) abgeleitet Skelettmuskel Satelliten Stammzellen [x1.7k]. Klicken Sie hier für eine größere Abbildung zu sehen .


Abbildung 5. Schaubild, das die Veränderung der Filmdicke mit zunehmender SurgiLux Lösungsgießen Volumen (ml) und einer konstanten Gießbereich (7,09 x 10 3 mm 2).

Abbildung 6
Abbildung 6. Rasterelektronenmikrographie (SEM) der Folie, welches das Vorhandensein von 'Nippel' (SN), die von der Oberfläche (S).

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Discussion

Chitosan kann in einer Vielzahl von Molekulargewichten und mit unterschiedlichen Graden an deactylation (DDA) erhalten werden. Variationen in Chitosan Reinheit kann auf das Vorhandensein von Partikeln in der SurgiLux Lösung führen; Zentrifugation wird verwendet, um diese zu beseitigen und sollte in einem transparenten grüne Lösung führen. Allerdings können auch die Filtration als zusätzlichen oder alternativen Herstellungsschritt verwendet werden. Wie bei jedem Materialbearbeitung, Variationen, wie Chitosan DDA und Molekulargewicht haben Auswirkungen auf die physikalisch-chemischen, biologischen und materiellen Eigenschaften der resultierenden SurgiLux Filme, darunter der Stärke ihrer Bindung an Gewebe.

Der Herstellungsprozess für SurgiLux eine beträchtliche Bandbreite. Beispielsweise Veränderungen des Verhältnisses Lösungsvolumen auf Gießoberfläche Bereich (ml: 2 mm) verwendet werden, um die Filmdicke einzustellen 5 zeigt eine lineare Erhöhung in der Dicke der endgültigen SurgiLux Filme als das Volumen.der Lösung in der Petrischale gegossen wurde erhöht. Ähnlich können Modifikationen an der Gießoberfläche zur des Films Oberflächenmorphologie modifizieren. Abbildung 6 zeigt die Anwesenheit von Mikrometergröße 'Nippel' auf der Oberfläche des Films SurgiLux. Solche Matrizenmittel Techniken verwendet werden können, um verschiedene Oberflächen zu erzeugen, um Gewebe Haftung zu verbessern, zu verhindern mikrobiellen Zellanheftung und fördern Gewebe Reintegration werden. 11 Ferner können verschiedene biologisch aktive Wirkstoffe in den Herstellungsprozess eingebunden werden, um eine Klebefolie für regionale Arzneimittelabgabe erzeugen. 10

Tabelle 1 fasst die Vorteile dieser SurgiLux Dünnfilm Klebstoffsystem gegenüber herkömmlichen Fibrin und Cyanacrylat-Klebstoffen. Während die Festigkeit der Reparatur von Gewebe weniger als Nahtmaterial, vermeidet SurgiLux die zahlreichen Nachteile dieser klassischen Wundverschluß Technik sowie der aktuellen bevorzugten kommerziellen chirurgischen Klebstoffen.

Die Fähigkeit von SurgiLux zu binden verschiedenen Kollagengewebe mit seinem Material Flexibilität kombiniert schlagen sein Potenzial in der Laparoskopie, während die Vielseitigkeit des Herstellungsprozesses fördert die weitere Entwicklung für Anwendungen im Tissue Engineering und der regenerativen Medizin.

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Disclosures

Keine Interessenskonflikte erklärt.

Acknowledgements

Die Autoren bedanken sich einen Zuschuss von der National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (NHMRC # 1000674) zu LJR Foster.

Materials

Name Company Catalog Number Comments
Chitosan Sigma-Aldrich 448877
Indocyanine Green Sigma-Aldrich I2633 Also known as Cardiogreen
Acetic acid Sigma-Aldrich 320099
Infra-red diode laser with fiber delivery. (808 nm, 120 mW, Beam core 200 μm) CNI Lasers Fc-808 Variable system up to 5 W power
Laser safety glasses CNI Lasers LS-G
Tensile testing apparatus Instron Pty Ltd 5542 50 N load cell

DOWNLOAD MATERIALS LIST

References

  1. Kjaergard, H. K. Suture support: is it advantageous. Am. J. Surg. 182, 15S-20S (2001).
  2. Lauto, A., Mawad, D., Foster, L. J. R. Adhesive biomaterials for tissue reconstruction. J. Chem. Tech. Biotech. 83, 464-472 (2008).
  3. Fung, L. C., Mingin, G. C., Massicotte, M., Felsen, D., Poppas, D. P. Effects of temperature on tissue thermal injury and wound strength after photochemical wound closure. Lasers Surg. Med. 25, 285-290 (1999).
  4. Piribo, Glues & Sealants: Industry Background Report. (2005).
  5. Lauto, A., Hook, J., Doran, M., Camacho, F., Poole-Warren, L. A., Avolio, A., Foster, L. J. R. Chitosan adhesive for laser tissue-welding: in vitro characterisation. Lasers Surg. Med. 36, 193-201 (2005).
  6. Lauto, A., Stoodley, M., Marcel, H., Avolio, A., Sarris, M., McKenzie, G., Sampson, D. D., Foster, L. J. R. In vitro and in vivo tissue repair with laser-activated chitosan adhesive. Lasers Surg. Med. 39, 19-27 (2007).
  7. Lauto, A., Foster, L. J. R., Avolio, A., Sampson, D., Raston, C., Sarris, M., McKenzie, G., Stoodley, M. Sutureless Nerve Repair with Laser-Activated Chitosan Adhesive: A Pilot in vivo Study. J. Photomed. Laser. Surg. 26, (3), 227-234 (2008).
  8. Marçal, H., Badylak, S. F., Sellaro, T. L., Lauto, A., Foster, L. J. R., Mahler, S. The coalescence of decellularized tissue scaffolds, laser-activated chitosan bioadhesive and olfactory ensheathing cells for tissue repair and regeneration of the spinal cord. Lasers Med. Sci. 23, (1), 96 (2008).
  9. Foster, L. J. R., Thomson, K., Marcal, H., Butt, J., Watson, S., Wakefield, D. A chitosan-vancomycin composite biomaterial as a laser activated surgical adhesive with regional antimicrobial activity. Biomacromolecules. 11, (12), 3563-3570 (2010).
  10. Shahbazi, J., Marcal, H., Watson, S., Wakefield, D., Sarris, M., Foster, L. J. R. Sutureless sealing of penetrating corneal wounds using a laser-activated thin film adhesive. Lasers Surg. Med. accepted 15/05/2011 Forthcoming.
  11. Meyers, M. A., Chen, P. -Y., Lin, A. Y. -M., Seki, Y. Biological materials: Structure and mechanical properties. Prog. Mater. Sci. 53, (1), 1-206 (2008).

Comments

0 Comments


    Post a Question / Comment / Request

    You must be signed in to post a comment. Please or create an account.

    Usage Statistics

JoVE   
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Biology

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Neuroscience

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Immunology and Infection

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Clinical and Translational Medicine

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Bioengineering

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Applied Physics

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Chemistry

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Behavior

  
You do not have subscription access to articles in this section. Learn more about access.

  JoVE Environment

|   

JoVE Science Education

General Laboratory Techniques

You do not have subscription access to videos in this collection. Learn more about access.

Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology

You do not have subscription access to videos in this collection. Learn more about access.

Model Organisms I

You do not have subscription access to videos in this collection. Learn more about access.

Model Organisms II

You do not have subscription access to videos in this collection. Learn more about access.

 JoVE Bioengineering

A Chitosan Based, Laser Activated Thin Film Surgical Adhesive, 'SurgiLux': Preparation and Demonstration

1, 1

1Bio/Polymer Research Group, School of Biotechnology & Biomolecular Sciences, University of New South Wales

Article
    Downloads Comments Metrics

    You must be subscribed to JoVE to access this content.

    This article is a part of   JoVE Bioengineering. If you think this article would be useful for your research, please recommend JoVE to your institution's librarian.

    Recommend JoVE to Your Librarian

    Current Access Through Your IP Address

    You do not have access to any JoVE content through your current IP address.

    IP: 54.81.134.80, User IP: 54.81.134.80, User IP Hex: 911312464

    Current Access Through Your Registered Email Address

    You aren't signed into JoVE. If your institution subscribes to JoVE, please or create an account with your institutional email address to access this content.

     

    Summary

    The fabrication of a novel, flexible thin film surgical adhesive from FDA approved ingredients, chitosan and indocyanine green is described. Bonding of this adhesive to collagenous tissue through a simple activation process with a low-powered infra-red laser is demonstrated.

    Date Published: 10/23/2012, Issue 68; doi: 10.3791/3527

    Cite this Article

    Foster, L. J. R., Karsten, E. A Chitosan Based, Laser Activated Thin Film Surgical Adhesive, 'SurgiLux': Preparation and Demonstration. J. Vis. Exp. (68), e3527, doi:10.3791/3527 (2012).

    Abstract

    Sutures are a 4,000 year old technology that remain the 'gold-standard' for wound closure by virtue of their repair strength (~100 KPa). However, sutures can act as a nidus for infection and in many procedures are unable to effect wound repair or interfere with functional tissue regeneration.1 Surgical glues and adhesives, such as those based on fibrin and cyanoacrylates, have been developed as alternatives to sutures for the repair of such wounds. However, current commercial adhesives also have significant disadvantages, ranging from viral and prion transfer and a lack of repair strength as with the fibrin glues, to tissue toxicity and a lack of biocompatibility for the cyanoacrylate based adhesives. Furthermore, currently available surgical adhesives tend to be gel-based and can have extended curing times which limit their application.2 Similarly, the use of UV lasers to facilitate cross-linking mechanisms in protein-based or albumin 'solders' can lead to DNA damage while laser tissue welding (LTW) predisposes thermal damage to tissues.3 Despite their disadvantages, adhesives and LTW have captured approximately 30% of the wound closure market reported to be in excess of US $5 billion per annum, a significant testament to the need for sutureless technology.4

    In the pursuit of sutureless technology we have utilized chitosan as a biomaterial for the development of a flexible, thin film, laser-activated surgical adhesive termed 'SurgiLux'. This novel bioadhesive uses a unique combination of biomaterials and photonics that are FDA approved and successfully used in a variety of biomedical applications and products. SurgiLux overcomes all the disadvantages associated with sutures and current surgical adhesives (see Table 1).

    In this presentation we report the relatively simple protocol for the fabrication of SurgiLux and demonstrate its laser activation and tissue weld strength. SurgiLux films adhere to collagenous tissue without chemical modification such as cross-linking and through irradiation using a comparatively low-powered (120 mW) infrared laser instead of UV light. Chitosan films have a natural but weak adhesive attraction to collagen (~3 KPa), laser activation of the chitosan based SurgiLux films emphasizes the strength of this adhesion through polymer chain interactions as a consequence of transient thermal expansion.5 Without this 'activation' process, SurgiLux films are readily removed.6-9 SurgiLux has been tested both in vitro and in vivo on a variety of tissues including nerve, intestine, dura mater and cornea. In all cases it demonstrated good biocompatibility and negligible thermal damage as a consequence of irradiation.6-10

    Protocol

    1. Preparation of SurgiLux Solution

    1. Prepare a 2% (v/v) solution of acetic acid using deionized water in a clean glass beaker; use a laminar flow hood to avoid contamination.
    2. Weigh 0.02% (w/v) of the chromophore, indocyanine green, ICG, in a sterile Eppendorf tube; ensure the tube is wrapped in silver foil to prevent any light penetration.
    3. Using a clean, disposable pipette, transfer approximately 1 ml of the dilute acetic acid solution to the tube to dissolve the dye, shake gently and keep wrapped in foil.
    4. Transfer the solubilized ICG into the beaker and add 2% (w/v) of chitosan powder before adding a sterile magnetic stirrer.
    5. Cover the beaker with Parafilm then wrap in silver foil, before mixing the contents at about 125 rpm for 72 hr at room temperature in a laminar flow hood.
    6. Transfer the contents into clean centrifuge tubes and centrifuge at 15,000 x g for 15 min at 4 °C to remove any particulate matter.
    7. Carefully transfer the green SurgiLux solution into a clean glass beaker, cover using Parafilm then wrap in silver foil, before storing in a refrigerator for 12 hr to increase the viscosity of the solution.

    2. Casting of SurgiLux Films

    1. Using a sterile syringe, dispense 8 ml of the cold SurgiLux solution into a clean, Petri dish of 95 mm diameter, and gently tilt the plate to ensure complete coverage by the solution. Varying the ratio of solution volume to casting area permits control of the film thickness, see Figure 1.
    2. Remove any visible bubbles in the solution using the tip of a sterile needle. Cover the dish in silver foil and place in a refrigerator to remove any residual micron-sized bubbles.
    3. After 20 min carefully remove the Petri dish from the refrigerator, place in a laminar flow hood, cover with silver foil and leave the solution to evaporate for 3 weeks.
    4. After complete evaporation, score the outer edges of the clear green SurgiLux film in the Petri dish and gently 'peel' the film away from the dish surface.
    5. The SurgiLux film should be flexible and readily manipulated without tearing or breaking.
    6. Store the circular SurgiLux films in the Petri dish wrapped in silver foil under dry conditions until ready for use.

    3. Laser Activation of SurgiLux Adhesive Films

    1. To demonstrate the laser activation process we will use a piece of bovine tissue such as steak cut to a size of 15 mm wide and 20 mm length. Dissect the tissue in a straight line using a Number 10 surgical blade, to produce 2 pieces of 15 by 10 mm.
    2. Approximate the two pieces of tissue so that their edges are touching but not overlapping, and using a cotton swab or gauze, gently absorb any excess fluid.
    3. Next, cut a piece of SurgiLux film 7 x 9 mm and carefully place the film lengthways across the bisected piece of tissue; then press down gently with a dry cotton swab.
    4. SurgiLux films are activated using an infra-red diode laser at a setting of 120 mW. As this is a class IIIB laser, appropriate safety measures should be taken, including the use of appropriate safety glasses for all personnel.
    5. Starting in the corner, irradiate the SurgiLux with an infra-red laser set at 120 mW and a beam spot size of 1 mm diameter. Pass the beam spot over the green film at a rate of approximately 1 mm per second. Repeat the irradiation process two more times.

    4. Strength of the Repair

    1. Carefully secure the ends of the tissue in the clamps of a tensile testing instrument. We are using an Instron Mini55 system with a 50 Newton load cell. The maximum load, tensile strength, and extension at break were calculated using Bluehill computer software (USA). Means from at least 10 samples were determined (n = 10).
    2. Take up the 'slack' and then separate the tissue pieces at a rate of 1 mm per second, until the two pieces of tissue held together by the SurgiLux strip separate completely.

    Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

    Representative Results

    Centrifugation leads to a transparent green solution, which increases viscosity after storage at 4-6 °C. After standing for 3 weeks, the green solution is converted into a transparent green SurgiLux film approximately 20 microns thick and, as demonstrated in the video, is readily flexible.

    Upon irradiation with the laser, the SurgiLux film bonds to the tissue. This can be observed at the edges of the film where the tissue appears to contract as the laser beam passes over the film (Figure 2). No charring or ablation of the tissue and film should be observed. The bonding strength of SurgiLux to the tissue should be sufficient to lift the bisected pieces of tissue, and when the tensile strength is measured should be approximately 15 KPa for the test reported here.

    Table 1
    Table 1. Comparison of properties for proposed SurgiLux system and commercially available fibrin and cyanoacrylate surgical adhesives.

    Figure 1
    Figure 1. Diagrammatic illustration of the SurgiLux thin film adhesive fabrication and activation process; corresponding to the protocol text. Click here to view larger figure.

    Figure 2
    Figure 2. Photograph (x20) showing the thin SurgiLux film after laser activation adhered to bovine intestine tissue and 'contracting' into the tissue incision (TA, TB: separate pieces of tissue, I: incision, S: SurgiLux film).

    Figure 3
    Figure 3. Graph showing tissue adhesion strengths for various adhesives: Chitosan and SurgiLux films applied on tissue, Tisseel (fibrin) and Histoacryl gels (cyanoacrylate) applied on tissue.

    Figure 4
    Figure 4. Scanning Electron Micrographs (SEMS) illustrating cells attached to SurgiLux films; human cell lineages (a) olfactory ensheathing cells [x1.5k], (b) stromal fibroblasts [x500], and (c) skeletal muscle derived satellite stem cells [x1.7k]. Click here to view larger figure.

    Figure 5
    Figure 5. Graph showing the change in film thickness with increasing SurgiLux solution casting volume (ml) and a constant casting area (7.09 x 103 mm2).

    Figure 6
    Figure 6. Scanning Electron Micrograph (SEM) of film showing the presence of 'nipples' (SN) protruding from the surface (S).

    Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

    Discussion

    Chitosan can be obtained in a variety of molecular weights and with different degrees of deactylation (DDA). Variations in chitosan purity may lead to the presence of particulates in the SurgiLux solution; centrifugation is used to eliminate these and should result in a transparent green solution. However, filtration can also be used as an added or alternative fabrication step. As with any materials processing, variations, such as chitosan DDA and molecular weight, have implications for the physiochemical, biological and material properties of the resulting SurgiLux films, including the strength of its bonding to tissue.

    The fabrication process for SurgiLux allows for considerable variation. For example, changes to the ratio of solution volume to casting surface area (ml:mm2) can be utilized to adjust the film thickness. Figure 5 shows a linear increase in the thickness of final SurgiLux films as the volume of solution poured into the Petri dish was increased. Similarly, modifications to the casting surface can be used to modify the film's surface morphology. Figure 6 shows the presence of micron-sized 'nipples' on the surface of SurgiLux film. Such templating techniques can be utilized to produce various surfaces to improve tissue adhesion, prevent microbial cell attachment and promote tissue reintegration.11 Furthermore, various biologically active agents can be incorporated into the fabrication process to produce an adhesive film for regional drug delivery.10

    Table 1 summarizes the advantages of this SurgiLux thin film adhesive system compared to conventional fibrin and cyanoacrylate adhesives. While the strength of tissue repair is less than sutures, SurgiLux avoids the numerous disadvantages of this traditional wound closure technique as well as the current favored commercial surgical adhesives.

    The ability of SurgiLux to bond various collagenous tissues combined with its material flexibility suggest its potential in laparoscopy, while the versatility of the fabrication process promotes its further development for applications in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.

    Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

    Disclosures

    No conflicts of interest declared.

    Acknowledgements

    The authors acknowledge a grant from the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (NHMRC #1000674) to L.J.R. Foster.

    Materials

    Name Company Catalog Number Comments
    Chitosan Sigma-Aldrich 448877
    Indocyanine Green Sigma-Aldrich I2633 Also known as Cardiogreen
    Acetic acid Sigma-Aldrich 320099
    Infra-red diode laser with fiber delivery. (808 nm, 120 mW, Beam core 200 μm) CNI Lasers Fc-808 Variable system up to 5 W power
    Laser safety glasses CNI Lasers LS-G
    Tensile testing apparatus Instron Pty Ltd 5542 50 N load cell

    References

    1. Kjaergard, H.K. Suture support: is it advantageous. Am. J. Surg. 182, 15-20S (2001).
    2. Lauto, A., Mawad, D., & Foster, L.J.R. Adhesive biomaterials for tissue reconstruction. J. Chem. Tech. Biotech. 83, 464-472 (2008).
    3. Fung, L.C., Mingin, G.C., Massicotte, M., Felsen, D., & Poppas, D.P. Effects of temperature on tissue thermal injury and wound strength after photochemical wound closure. Lasers Surg. Med. 25, 285-290 (1999).
    4. Piribo. Glues & Sealants: Industry Background Report (2005).
    5. Lauto, A., Hook, J., Doran, M., Camacho, F., Poole-Warren, L.A., Avolio, A., & Foster, L.J.R. Chitosan adhesive for laser tissue-welding: in vitro characterisation. Lasers Surg. Med. 36, 193-201 (2005).
    6. Lauto, A., Stoodley, M., Marcel, H., Avolio, A., Sarris, M., McKenzie, G., Sampson, D.D., & Foster, L.J.R. In vitro and in vivo tissue repair with laser-activated chitosan adhesive. Lasers Surg. Med. 39, 19-27 (2007).
    7. Lauto, A., Foster, L.J.R., Avolio, A., Sampson, D., Raston, C., Sarris, M., McKenzie, G., & Stoodley, M. Sutureless Nerve Repair with Laser-Activated Chitosan Adhesive: A Pilot in vivo Study. J. Photomed. Laser. Surg. 26(3), 227-234 (2008).
    8. Marçal, H., Badylak, S.F., Sellaro, T.L., Lauto, A., Foster, L.J.R., & Mahler, S. The coalescence of decellularized tissue scaffolds, laser-activated chitosan bioadhesive and olfactory ensheathing cells for tissue repair and regeneration of the spinal cord. Lasers Med. Sci. 23(1), 96 (2008).
    9. Foster, L.J.R., Thomson, K., Marcal, H., Butt, J., Watson, S., & Wakefield, D. A chitosan-vancomycin composite biomaterial as a laser activated surgical adhesive with regional antimicrobial activity. Biomacromolecules. 11(12), 3563-3570 (2010).
    10. Shahbazi, J., Marcal, H., Watson, S., Wakefield, D., Sarris, M., & Foster, L.J.R. Sutureless sealing of penetrating corneal wounds using a laser-activated thin film adhesive. Lasers Surg. Med. (accepted 15/05/2011).
    11. Meyers, M.A., Chen, P-Y., Lin, A.Y-M., & Seki, Y. Biological materials: Structure and mechanical properties. Prog. Mater. Sci. 53(1), 1-206 (2008).

    Comments

    0 Comments

    Post a Question / Comment / Request

    You must be signed in to post a comment. Please or create an account.

    Metrics

    Waiting
    simple hit counter