Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.6: Corrélation et causalité
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Correlation and Causation
 
TRANSCRIPTION

1.6: Corrélation et causalité

Aperçu

Les tests statistiques peuvent calculer s’il existe une relation ou une corrélation entre les variables indépendantes et dépendantes. Une relation indirecte des variables signifie une corrélation tandis qu’une relation directe montre la causalité. S’il est déterminé qu’il n’existe aucun lien entre les variables, alors la corrélation est une coïncidence.

Corrélation par rapport à la causalité

Si la variable dépendante augmente ou diminue lorsque la variable indépendante augmente, il y a respectivement une corrélation positive ou négative entre les deux variables. Si cette relation est indirecte, elle est due à une corrélation. Cependant, une relation directe va signifier la causalité.

Par exemple, si un chercheur veut déterminer la raison de la perte de queue chez cinq populations différentes de gecko, et qu’il trouve une relation négative entre le nombre de geckos sans queue et le nombre de tiques parasites chez les corbeaux, ce résultat constituera une corrélation négative et indiquera que le parasite du corbeau ne provoque pas directement la perte de queue chez les geckos.

Toutefois, si les corbeaux avaient été comptés à proximité de chaque population de gecko, une relation positive entre le nombre de corbeaux et de geckos sans queue aurait pu être trouvée. Si après avoir examiné le contenu de l’estomac des corbeaux, les queues de gecko manquantes avaient été découvertes, le nombre de corbeaux aurait déterminé directement le nombre de queues perdues par les geckos, indiquant la causalité. Si les queues de gecko n’avaient pas été trouvées dans l’estomac des corbeaux, alors la corrélation aurait pu être fortuite.

Fait important, dans cet exemple, il existe une corrélation négative entre le nombre de corbeaux et le nombre de tiques parasites. En réalité, le nombre de parasites de corbeau est susceptible d’augmenter avec un nombre croissant de corbeaux, une corrélation positive. Dans ce scénario, le nombre de tiques de corbeau serait également positivement corrélé avec le nombre de lézards sans queue. Cependant, contrairement à la relation entre les populations de corbeaux et de lézards sans queue, le nombre de tiques et le nombre de lézards sans queue ne sont pas liés de façon causale.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.6: Correlation and Causation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

1.6: Correlation and Causation

Overview

Statistical tests can calculate whether there is a relationship, or correlation, between independent and dependent variables. An indirect relationship of the variables signifies a correlation while a direct relationship shows causation. If it is determined that no connection exists between the variables, then the correlation is a coincidence.

Correlation versus Causation

If the dependent variable increases or decreases when the independent variable increases, there is a positive or negative correlation, respectively, between the two variables. If this relationship is indirect, then it is due to a correlation. However, a direct relationship would signify causation.

For example, if a researcher wants to determine the cause of tail-loss in five different gecko populations, and finds a negative relationship between the number of geckos without tails and the number of parasitic ticks in crows, this result would constitute a negative correlation and indicate that the crow parasite is not directly causing tail-loss in geckos.

However, if the crows had been counted near each gecko population, a positive relationship between the number of crows and tailless geckos may have been found. If, after examining the contents of the crows’ stomachs, the missing gecko tails were discovered, the number of crows would have directly determined the number of tails lost by the geckos—indicating causation. If the gecko tails had not been found in the crows’ stomachs, then the correlation could have been coincidental.

Importantly, in this example, there is a negative correlation between the number of crows and the number of parasitic crow ticks. In actuality, the number of crow parasites is likely to increase with increasing numbers of crows, a positive correlation. In this scenario, the number of crow ticks would also be positively correlated with the number of tailless lizards. However, unlike the relationship between populations of crows and tailless lizards, the numbers of ticks and tailless lizards are not causally related.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter