Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.7: Taxonomie
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Taxonomie
 
TRANSCRIPTION

1.7: Taxonomie

La taxonomie est la science qui définit et nomme des groupes d’organismes biologiques en fonction de caractéristiques communes. Elle utilise une hiérarchie de catégories de plus en plus inclusives avec des noms latins. Les plus petites unités de taxonomie, les espèces et genres, sont utilisées pour attribuer un nom officiel et taxonomique à chaque espèce d’un système. Ce système de classification, appelé nomenclature binomiale, a été formalisé par Carl von Linné au XVIIIe siècle.

Hiérarchie de la taxonomie

La hiérarchie proposée pour la première fois par Carl von Linné est encore utilisée aujourd’hui, bien qu’elle ait été élargie. L’ordre de classement, du groupe le plus élevé ou plus grand au plus petit ou au plus spécifique, est le suivant : domaine, règne, phylum, classe, ordre, famille, genre et espèce.

Nomenclature binomiale

En partant de la plus petite unité de taxonomie, les espèces similaires sont regroupées dans un même genre. Par exemple, le lièvre arctique et le lièvre de Californie appartiennent tous deux au genre Lepus ; cependant, ils appartiennent à des espèces différentes : arcticus et californicus, respectivement. Dans le nom taxonomique d’un organisme, le genre et l’espèce sont en italique, et la première lettre du genre est mise en majuscules. Ce format en deux parties pour nommer et catégoriser des organismes particuliers est appelé nomenclature binomiale.

Taxonomie de niveau supérieur

Les membres du même genre appartiennent à la même famille. Par exemple, les lièvres et les lapins appartiennent à la famille des Leporidae. Ils partagent également le même ordre, Lagomorpha, avec d’autres espèces de rongeurs comme les pikas (famille des Ochotonidae), qui ressemblent aux lièvres et aux lapins mais qui ont des corps plus petits, plus ronds et pas de queue visible. Les lagomorphes appartiennent tous à la classe Mammalia, qui comprend tous les animaux placentaires à fourrure donnant du lait comme les chèvres, les souris et les humains, qu’on appelle également Homo sapiens.

Tous les vertébrés appartiennent au phylum Chordata et au règne Animalia. Enfin, au sommet de la hiérarchie se trouvent les trois domaines. Les Eukarya comprennent tous les animaux, les plantes, les champignons et les protistes. Les Archaea et les Bactéria sont des procaryotes : organismes unicellulaires sans noyaux et autres organites.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.7: Taxonomy
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

1.7: Taxonomy

Taxonomy is the science of defining and naming groups of biological organisms based on shared characteristics. It uses a hierarchy of increasingly inclusive categories with Latin names. The smallest units of taxonomy, species and genus, are used to assign a formal, taxonomic name to each species in a system. This classification system, referred to as binomial nomenclature, was formalized by Carolus Linnaeus in the 18th century.

Hierarchy of Taxonomy

The hierarchy that Carolus Linnaeus first proposed is still used today, although it has been expanded upon. The order of ranking—from the highest or largest group to the smallest or most specific—is as follows: domain, kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species.

Binomial Nomenclature

Beginning from the smallest unit of taxonomy, similar species are grouped into the same genus. For example, the arctic hare and the black-tailed jackrabbit both belong to the genus Lepus; however, they belong to different species—arcticus and californicus, respectively. Within an organism’s taxonomic name, both the genus and species are italicized, and the first letter of the genus is capitalized. This two-part format for naming and categorizing specific organisms is referred to as binomial nomenclature.

Higher Level Taxonomy

Members of the same genus belong to the same family. For example, hares and rabbits belong to the Leporidae family. They also share the same order, Lagomorpha, with some other rodent species like pikas (Ochotonidae family), which resemble hares and rabbits but have smaller, rounder bodies and no visible tail. The lagomorphs all belong to the class Mammalia, which includes all placental, fur-bearing, milk-producing animals like goats, mice and humans, also referred to as Homo sapiens.

All vertebrate animals belong to the phylum Chordata and the kingdom Animalia. Finally, at the top of the hierarchy are the three domains. Eukarya includes all animals, plants, fungi, and protists. Archaea and Bacteria are prokaryotes—single-celled organisms without nuclei and other organelles.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter