Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.9: Isotopes
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Isotopes
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

2.9: Isotopes

Les éléments ont un nombre défini de protons qui détermine leur nombre atomique. Par exemple, tous les atomes avec huit protons sont de l’oxygène. Cependant, le nombre de neutrons peut varier pour un atome du même élément. Ces variations d’éléments, avec le même nombre de protons mais des nombres différents de neutrons, sont appelées isotopes.

Le nombre de masse est la somme des protons et des neutrons. Par conséquent, les isotopes d’un élément ont le même nombre atomique, mais des nombres de masse différents. La masse atomique d’un élément, ou poids atomique, est une moyenne pondérée des masses des isotopes de l’élément. On dit que la moyenne est pondérée parce qu’elle reflète l’abondance relative des différents isotopes de l’échantillon. En d’autres termes, les masses des isotopes les plus courants contribuent le plus fortement à la moyenne.

Plusieurs éléments existent sous forme d’isotopes multiples dans la nature, y compris le carbone, le potassium et l’uranium. Sur le tableau périodique, la masse atomique d’un élément reflète l’abondance relative de leurs isotopes naturels sur Terre.

Les isotopes sont souvent discutés dans le contexte de la radioactivité. Un élément radioactif est essentiellement un élément avec un noyau instable. La plupart des éléments radioactifs ont un nombre atomique de 84 ou plus. D’autres éléments ont des isotopes qui ne sont pas radioactifs et, dans la plupart des cas, au moins un isotope radioactif, un radioisotope.

Pour devenir plus stables, les radioisotopes libèrent des particules subatomiques. Dans le processus, connu sous le nom de désintégration radioactive, ils émettent de l’énergie connue sous le nom de rayonnement. La désintégration radioactive peut modifier le nombre de protons dans un élément, changeant efficacement son identité.

Le rayonnement peut être utilisé pour aider à déterminer l’âge ou l’épaisseur de différents matériaux. En médecine, il est appliqué pour diagnostiquer et suivre les conditions médicales à l’aide de scanners PET, ainsi que pour traiter le cancer.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.9: Isotopes
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

2.9: Isotopes

Elements have a set number of protons that determines their atomic number. For example, all atoms with eight protons are oxygen. However, the number of neutrons can vary for an atom of the same element. These variations of elements, with the same number of protons but different numbers of neutrons, are called isotopes.

The mass number is the sum of protons and neutrons. Hence, isotopes of an element have the same atomic number, but different mass numbers. An element’s atomic mass, or atomic weight, is a weighted average of the masses of the element’s isotopes. The average is said to be weighted because it reflects the relative abundance of the different isotopes in the sample. In other words, the masses of the most common isotopes contribute most strongly to the average.

Several elements exist as multiple isotopes in nature, including carbon, potassium, and uranium. On the periodic table, the atomic mass of an element reflects the relative abundance of their naturally-occurring isotopes on Earth.

Isotopes are often discussed in the context of radioactivity. A radioactive element is essentially an element with an unstable nucleus. Most radioactive elements have atomic numbers of 84 or higher. Other elements have isotopes that are non-radioactive and, in most cases, at least one radioactive isotope, a radioisotope.

To become more stable, radioisotopes release subatomic particles. In the process, known as radioactive decay, they emit energy known as radiation. Radioactive decay can alter the number of protons in an element, effectively changing its identity.

Radiation can be used to help determine the age or thickness of different materials. In medicine, it is applied to diagnose and track medical conditions using PET scanners, as well as to treat cancer.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter