Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.16: Solvants
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Solvents
 
TRANSCRIPTION

2.16: Solvants

Un solvant est une substance, le plus souvent un liquide, qui peut dissoudre d’autres substances. Ici, la substance dissoute s’appelle un soluté. Lorsqu’un solvant et un soluté se mélangent, ils forment une solution qui, au niveau moléculaire, est un mélange homogène du solvant et du soluté. L’eau est un solvant biologique universel. Sa structure polaire lui permet de dissoudre de nombreux autres composés polaires. La capacité de l’eau à dissoudre est régie par un équilibre entre les molécules d’eau qui se lient les unes aux autres et se lient au soluté.

Une solution saturée contient la quantité maximale de soluté pouvant être dissoute. Par exemple, le sel (NaCl) est facilement dissous dans l’eau pour créer de l’eau salée, ou saline. Il se dissout parce que le sel se dissocie en ses ions respectifs sodium (Na+) et chlorure (Cl-). L’eau est polaire, de sorte que son atome d’oxygène, étant légèrement négatif, est attiré par les ions sodium positifs. Plusieurs molécules d’eau peuvent se lier à un seul ion sodium, créant une sphère d’hydratation. De même, les atomes d’hydrogène de l’eau sont légèrement positifs et sont attirés par les ions chlorure négatifs, créant une sphère d’hydratation autour des ions chlorure. Ces couches d’hydratation maintiennent les particules de soluté séparées et dispersées, créant ainsi une solution.

Une solution saturée d’eau salée (à température ambiante) contient environ 26 % de chlorure de sodium. Si du sel est rajouté, l’excès ne peut pas être dissous dans la solution et se transforme en précipité au fond. La teneur en sel du Grand Lac Salé dans l’Utah (États-Unis) varie de 5 à 27 %. La mer Morte, qui est bordée par Israël, la Jordanie et la Cisjordanie, a une teneur en sel d’environ 34 %. C’est beaucoup plus élevé que le niveau de saturation en sel dans l’eau. L’excès de sel précipite, créant d’extraordinaires formations de cristaux de sel.

La solubilité d’un soluté, ou sa capacité à se dissoudre dans l’eau, est essentielle pour les fonctions biologiques. Par exemple, les protéines et les acides aminés doivent être dissous pour avoir accès aux cellules. De même, les ions sodium, chlorure, potassium et calcium (entre autres) sont nécessaires pour la fonction cellulaire. Les protéines, les ions et autres nutriments sont dissous dans le sang, qui est constitué d’environ 79 % d’eau. Les reins aident à maintenir des niveaux appropriés de ces solutés dissous dans le sang en les éliminant ou en les ajoutant pendant la filtration, un processus qui s’appelle osmorégulation.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

2.16: Solvents
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

2.16: Solvents

A solvent is a substance, most often a liquid, that can dissolve other substances. Here, the substance being dissolved is called a solute. When a solvent and a solute combine, they form a solution that, at the molecular level, is a homogenous mixture of both the solvent and the solute. Water is a universal biological solvent. Its polar structure allows it to dissolve many other polar compounds. The ability of water to dissolve is governed by a balance between water molecules binding to each other and binding to the solute.

A saturated solution contains the maximum amount of dissolvable solute. For example, salt (NaCl) is readily dissolved in water to create salt water, or saline. It dissolves because salt dissociates into its respective ions sodium (Na+) and chloride (Cl-). Water is polar, so its oxygen atom, being slightly negative, is attracted to the positive sodium ions. Several water molecules can bind to a single sodium ion, creating a sphere of hydration. Likewise, water’s hydrogen atoms are slightly positive and are attracted to the negative chloride ions, again creating a sphere of hydration around the chloride ions. These hydration shells keep the solute particles separated and dispersed, creating a solution.

A saturated solution of salt water (at room temperature) contains about 26% sodium chloride. If more salt is added, the excess cannot be dissolved into the solution and becomes a precipitate at the bottom. The salt content of the Great Salt Lake in Utah (USA) ranges from 5-27%. The Dead Sea, which is bordered by Israel, Jordan, and the West Bank, has a salt content of ~34%. This is substantially higher than the saturation level of salt in water. The excess salt precipitates out, creating extraordinary salt crystal formations.

A solute’s solubility, or ability to dissolve in water, is crucial for biological functions. For example, proteins and amino acids must be dissolved to gain access to cells. Likewise, sodium, chloride, potassium, and calcium ions (among others) are necessary for cellular function. Proteins, ions and other nutrients are dissolved in the blood, which is ~79% water. The kidneys help maintain the proper levels of these dissolved solutes in the blood by removing or adding them during filtration, a process called osmoregulation.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter