Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.15: Phagocytose
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Phagocytose
 
TRANSCRIPTION

5.15: Phagocytose

Les cellules tirent les particules vers l’intérieur et les engloutissent dans des vésicules sphériques dans un processus nécessitant de l’énergie qui s’appelle l’endocytose. La phagocytose (“ des cellules qui mangent ”) est l’un des trois principaux types d’endocytose. Les cellules utilisent la phagocytose pour absorber de grands objets : comme d’autres cellules (ou leurs débris), les bactéries et même les virus.

L’objectif de la phagocytose est souvent la destruction. Les cellules utilisent la phagocytose pour éliminer les visiteurs indésirables, comme les agents pathogènes (p. ex., les virus et les bactéries). Il n’est peut-être pas surprenant que de nombreuses cellules du système immunitaire, y compris les neutrophiles, les macrophages et les monocytes, exploitent la phagocytose pour détruire les agents pathogènes ou les cellules hôtes infectées. En plus des cellules du système immunitaire, les amibes, les algues et d’autres organismes unicellulaires utilisent la phagocytose pour manger.

La phagocytose commence lorsqu’une particule (p. ex., un virus) entre en contact avec la cellule engloutissante, appelée phagocyte. Parfois, c’est une rencontre fortuite. D’autres fois, le phagocyte suit un signal chimique jusqu’à la particule, dans un processus appelé chimiotaxie. Le phagocyte finit par se lier à la particule ou à la cellule par le biais de récepteurs de surface. Les différents types de phagocytes utilisent des récepteurs distincts pour la phagocytose. Ces récepteurs peuvent être généraux, répondant à une grande variété de stimuli, ou spécifiques.

Le phagocyte commence à entourer et à engloutir la particule liée à sa surface en étendant des régions de son cytoplasme, appelées pseudopodes, autour de la particule. Les pseudopodes continuent d’entourer la particule jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit complètement enveloppée et séparée par pincement dans le cytoplasme. Ensemble, la particule et la vésicule enveloppante forment un phagosome.

Le phagosome fusionne alors avec un lysosome, formant un phagolysosome. Le lysosome est un organite cytoplasmique sphérique qui traite les déchets cellulaires dans un milieu très acide. La fusion du phagosome et du lysosome met en contact les particules englouties avec les enzymes dégradantes qui neutralisent ou éliminent les particules. Finalement, le phagolysosome forme un corps résiduel contenant des déchets qui est libéré de la cellule.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.15: Phagocytosis
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

5.15: Phagocytosis

Cells pull particles inward and engulf them in spherical vesicles in an energy-requiring process called endocytosis. Phagocytosis (“cellular eating”) is one of three major types of endocytosis. Cells use phagocytosis to take in large objects—such as other cells (or their debris), bacteria, and even viruses.

The objective of phagocytosis is often destruction. Cells use phagocytosis to eliminate unwelcome visitors, like pathogens (e.g., viruses and bacteria). It is perhaps unsurprising, that many immune system cells, including neutrophils, macrophages, and monocytes, leverage phagocytosis to destroy pathogens or infected host cells. In addition to immune system cells, amoebae, algae, and other single-celled organisms use phagocytosis to eat.

Phagocytosis begins when a particle (e.g., virus) contacts the engulfing cell, called a phagocyte. Sometimes, this is a chance encounter. Other times, the phagocyte follows a chemical signal to the particle, in a process called chemotaxis. The phagocyte eventually binds to the particle or cell via surface receptors. Different types of phagocytes use distinct receptors for phagocytosis. These receptors may be general, responding to a variety of stimuli, or specific.

The phagocyte begins to surround and engulf the particle bound to its surface by extending regions of its cytoplasm, called pseudopods, around the particle. The pseudopods continue to surround the particle until it is completely enveloped and pinched off into the cytoplasm. Together, the particle and enveloping vesicle form a phagosome.

The phagosome then fuses with a lysosome, forming a phagolysosome. The lysosome is a spherical cytoplasmic organelle that processes cellular waste in a highly acidic milieu. The fusion of the phagosome and lysosome brings the engulfed particles in contact with the degradative enzymes that neutralize or eliminate the particles. Eventually, the phagolysosome forms a waste-containing residual body that is released from the cell.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter