Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.16: Exozytose
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Exozytose
 
PROTOKOLLE

5.16: Exozytose

Die Exozytose dient der Freisetzung von Materialen aus Zellen. Wie andere Transportmechanismen benötigt auch die Exozytose Energie.

Während die Endozytose Teilchen in die Zelle transportiert, werden sie durch Exozytose entfernt. Manchmal handelt es sich bei dem freigesetzten Material um Signalstoffe. So nutzen Neuronen die Exozytose beispielsweise zur Freisetzung von Neurotransmittern. Zellen nutzen die Exozytose auch, um Proteine, wie z.B. Ionenkanäle, in ihre Zellmembranen einzufügen, für die Sekretion von Proteine zur Verwendung in die extrazellulären Matrix oder um Abfallstoffe zu entfernen.

In Eukaryoten gibt es zwei Haupttypen der Exozytose. Die regulierte und die nicht-regulierte (oder konstitutive) Exozytose. Die regulierte Exozytose wird zur Freisetzung von Neurotransmittern und zur Sekretion von Hormonen genutzt. Zur Aktivierung benötigt sie ein externes Signal. Im Gegensatz zur regulierten Exozytose wird die konstitutive Exozytose von allen Zellen durchgeführt. Zellen nutzen die konstitutive Exozytose, um Bestandteile der extrazellulären Matrix freizusetzen oder um Proteine in die Plasmamembran einzubauen.

Es gibt fünf wesentliche Schritte in der regulierten Exozytose und vier in der konstitutiven Exozytose.

Der erste Schritt ist der Vesikeltransport, dabei transportieren die Vesikel Stoffe zur Plasmamembran. Motorproteine bewegen die Vesikel aktiv entlang des Zytoskeletts bestehend aus Mikrotubuli und Filamenten. In dem zweiten Schritt, der Vesikel-Bindung, wird das Vesikel mit der Plasmamembran verbunden. Im dritten Schritt, der Vesikel-Anlagerung, bindet sich die Vesikelmembran an die Plasmamembran, und die beiden Membranen verschmelzen.

Der vierte Schritt, das Vesikel-Priming, findet nur in der regulierten Exozytose statt. Das Vesikel-Priming umfasst Veränderungen, die nach der Anlagerung des Vesikels, aber vor der Freisetzung seines Inhalts auftreten. Das Priming bereitet die Vesikel auf die Fusion mit der Plasmamembran vor.

Der fünfte Schritt ist die Vesikelfusion. Die Vesikelfusion kann vollständig oder im sogenannten Kiss-and-Run-Verfahren erfolgen. Bei der vollständigen Fusion zerfallen die Vesikel vollständig und werden Teil der Plasmamembran, wodurch ihr Inhalt von der Zelle freigegeben wird. Bei der Kiss-and-Run-Fusion wird das Vesikel recycelt: Es verschmilzt nur vorübergehend mit der Plasmamembran, gibt seinen Inhalt ab und kehrt anschließend in das Zellinnere zurück.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.16: Exocytosis
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

5.16: Exocytosis

Exocytosis is used to release material from cells. Like other bulk transport mechanisms, exocytosis requires energy.

While endocytosis takes particles into the cell, exocytosis removes them. Sometimes, the released material are signaling molecules. For example, neurons typically use exocytosis to release neurotransmitters. Cells also use exocytosis to insert proteins, such as ion channels, into their cell membranes, secrete proteins for use in the extracellular matrix, or release waste.

There are two main types of exocytosis in eukaryotes: regulated and non-regulated (or constitutive). Regulated exocytosis, which requires an external signal, is used to release neurotransmitters and secrete hormones. Unlike regulated exocytosis, constitutive exocytosis is carried out by all cells. Cells use constitutive exocytosis to release components of the extracellular matrix or incorporate proteins into the plasma membrane.

There are five major steps in regulated exocytosis and four in constitutive exocytosis.

The first step is vesicle trafficking, in which vesicles transport material to the plasma membrane. Motor proteins actively move vesicles along cytoskeletal tracks of microtubules and filaments. The second step is vesicle tethering, in which vesicles are linked to the plasma membrane. In the third step, vesicle docking, the vesicle membrane attaches to the plasma membrane, and the two membranes begin to merge.

The fourth step, vesicle priming, occurs only in regulated exocytosis. Vesicle priming includes modifications occurring after the vesicle docks but before it releases its contents. Priming prepares vesicles for fusion with the plasma membrane.

The fifth step is vesicle fusion. Vesicle fusion can be complete or kiss-and-run. In complete fusion, vesicles entirely collapse and become part of the plasma membrane, expelling their contents from the cell in the process. In kiss-and-run fusion, the vesicle is recycled: It only temporarily fuses with the plasma membrane, releases its contents, and returns to the cell’s interior.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter