Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

6.12: Cascades de signalisation intracellulaire
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Cascades de signalisation intracellulaire
 
TRANSCRIPTION

6.12: Cascades de signalisation intracellulaire

Les cascades de signalisation intracellulaire amplifient un signal d’origine extracellulaire et le dirigent vers sa cible intracellulaire prévue, ce qui entraîne la transcription, la traduction, les modifications protéiques, l’activation enzymatique, le métabolisme cellulaire, la mitose et/ou l’apoptose.

La plus élémentaire des cascades de signalisation implique l’activation de seconds messagers et la libération de kinases. Les kinases activent ou désactivent les protéines et les enzymes en y ajoutant un groupe phosphate. Les phosphatases éliminent les groupes phosphate, ce qui entraîne la désactivation ou la réactivation des protéines.

La voie de l’AMP cyclique (AMPc) est nommée d’après son second messager, l’AMPc. Cette voie est le plus souvent initiée lorsqu’un ligand se lie à un récepteur couplé aux protéines G. La protéine G se découple du récepteur et déclenche l’adénylate cyclase pour qu’elle synthétise l’AMPc à partir de l’ATP. Pour chaque interaction récepteur-ligand, plusieurs molécules d’AMPc sont générées, ce qui amplifie le signal.

L’AMPc active la protéine kinase A (PKA). La PKA est une molécule tétramérique avec deux sous-unités de régulation et deux sous-unités actives. Lorsque quatre molécules d’AMPc interagissent avec une molécule de PKA, cela libère les deux sous-unités actives. Ces sous-unités de PKA phosphorylent les protéines et les enzymes ciblées. Dans le cas de l’expression des gènes, la PKA active le CREB, un facteur de transcription dans le noyau.

Les étapes qui précèdent la cascade de signalisation intracellulaire, c’est à dire le ligand et le récepteur, s’appellent les événements en amont. Ceux qui surviennent après la voie de l’AMPc — la phosphorylation de CREB dans l’exemple ci-dessus — s’appellent les événements en aval. Il existe de nombreux événements en amont et en aval dans lesquels ces voies peuvent être impliquées.

Une cascade de signalisation plus complexe est celle de la voie des Ras-Raf-MAP kinases, qui implique une série de kinases séquentielles activant d’autres kinases. Dans cette voie, Ras, une petite enzyme GTPase, est activée lorsqu’un facteur de croissance se lie à son récepteur (l’événement en amont). Ras active alors la Raf- ou la MAP kinase kinase kinase (MAP3K). La MAP3K phosphoryle et active ainsi une autre kinase, la MAP kinase kinase (MAP2K, également appelée MEK). Cette kinase active la MAP kinase (MAPK, également appelée ERK) par phosphorylation. La MAPK migre vers le noyau où elle peut phosphoryler plusieurs facteurs de transcription (événements en aval). Un tel facteur de transcription est le c-myc qui initie la transcription de la famille myc des gènes impliqués dans la prolifération cellulaire et le cancer. La voie des Ras-Raf-MAP kinases utilise plusieurs kinases pour amplifier le signal externe apporté par les facteurs de croissance et elle est plus complexe que la voie de l’AMPc plus simple.

D’autres cascades de signaux intracellulaires, du nom de leurs seconds messagers, sont les systèmes du phosphoinositol, de l’acide arachidonique et de la GMP cyclique.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

6.9: Intracellular Signaling Cascades
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

6.9: Intracellular Signaling Cascades

Intracellular signaling cascades amplify a signal originating extracellularly and directs it to its intended intracellular target resulting in transcription, translation, protein modifications, enzyme activation, cellular metabolism, mitosis, and/or apoptosis.

The most basic of signaling cascades involves the activation of second messengers and the release of kinases. Kinases activate or deactivate proteins and enzymes by adding a phosphate group to them. Phosphatases remove phosphate groups resulting in the deactivation or reactivation of proteins.

The cyclic AMP (cAMP) pathway is named for its second messenger, cAMP. This pathway is most often initiated when a ligand binds to a G-coupled protein receptor. The G-protein decouples from the receptor and triggers adenylate cyclase to synthesize cAMP from ATP. For each ligand-receptor interaction, multiple cAMP molecules are generated—amplifying the signal.

cAMP activates protein kinase A (PKA). PKA is a tetramer molecule with two regulatory subunits and two active subunits. When four cAMP molecules interact with a PKA molecule, it releases the two active subunits. These PKA subunits phosphorylate target proteins and enzymes. In the case of gene expression, PKA activates CREB, a transcription factor in the nucleus.

The steps that precede the intracellular signaling cascade that is the ligand and receptor—are referred to as upstream events. Those that come after the cAMP pathway—the phosphorylation of CREB in the above example—is referred to as a downstream event. There are numerous upstream and downstream events in which these pathways can be involved.

A more complex signaling cascade is that of the Ras-Raf-MAP Kinase pathway, which involves a series of sequential kinases activating other kinases. In this pathway Ras, a small GTPase enzyme, is activated when a growth factor binds to its receptor (the upstream event). Ras then activates Raf- or MAP kinase kinase kinase (MAP3K). MAP3K phosphorylates and thus activates another kinase- MAP kinase kinase (MAP2K, also called MEK). This kinase activates MAP kinase (MAPK, also called ERK) by phosphorylation. MAPK migrates to the nucleus where it can phosphorylate several transcription factors (downstream events). One such transcription factor is c-myc which initiates the transcription of the myc family of genes involved in cell proliferation and cancer. The Ras-Raf-MAP kinase pathway uses multiple kinases to amplify the external signal brought by growth factors and is more complex than the simpler cAMP pathway.

Other intracellular signal cascades, named for their second messengers, are the Phosphoinositol, Arachidonic acid, and Cyclic GMP systems.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter