Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

7.9: Phosphorylation
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Phosphorylation
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

7.9: Phosphorylation

L’ajout ou l’élimination des groupes de phosphate des protéines est la modification chimique la plus courante qui régule les processus cellulaires. Ces modifications peuvent affecter la structure, l’activité, la stabilité et la localisation des protéines dans les cellules ainsi que leurs interactions avec d’autres protéines.

Pendant la phosphorylation, les kinases protéiques transfèrent le groupe terminal de phosphate de l’ATP à des chaînes latérales spécifiques d’acides aminés de protéines de substrat. La sérine, la thréonine et la tyrosine sont les acides aminés les plus couramment phosphorylés. En conséquence, les kinases protéiques sont classées comme kinases de sérine/thréonine, kinases de tyrosine, ou kinases à double action si elles peuvent phosphorylate les trois acides aminés. Inversement, les phosphatases protéiques catalysent l’élimination du groupe de phosphate (déphosphorylation), rétablissant les propriétés originales de la protéine.

Dans des conditions physiologiques, la phosphorylation et la déphosphorylation sont étroitement réglementées pour prévenir les changements prolongés dans la structure et la fonction des protéines. La perturbation de cet équilibre peut causer des maladies, y compris le cancer et divers troubles neurodégénératifs. Par exemple, une protéine appelée tau est hyperphosphorylated dans la maladie d’Alzheimer (AD). Physiologiquement, tau régule la forme, la structure et le développement des neurones. La protéine tau contient plus de 80 résidus de sérine, de thréonine et de tyrosine, dont seulement une fraction est habituellement phosphorylé. Dans le cerveau des patients atteints de la MA, le tau est anormalement et excessivement phosphorylé. Cela altère la solubilité de la protéine, formant des agrégats insolubles toxiques qui mènent à la mort neuronale.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

7.9: Phosphorylation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

7.9: Phosphorylation

The addition or removal of phosphate groups from proteins is the most common chemical modification that regulates cellular processes. These modifications can affect the structure, activity, stability, and localization of proteins within cells as well as their interactions with other proteins.

During phosphorylation, protein kinases transfer the terminal phosphate group of ATP to specific amino acid side chains of substrate proteins. Serine, threonine, and tyrosine are the most commonly phosphorylated amino acids. Accordingly, protein kinases are classified as serine/threonine kinases, tyrosine kinases, or dual action kinases if they can phosphorylate all three amino acids. Conversely, protein phosphatases catalyze the removal of the phosphate group (dephosphorylation), restoring the original properties of the protein.

Under physiological conditions, phosphorylation and dephosphorylation are tightly regulated to prevent prolonged changes in protein structure and function. Disruption of this balance can cause diseases, including cancer and various neurodegenerative disorders. For instance, a protein called tau is hyperphosphorylated in Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Physiologically, tau regulates the shape, structure, and development of neurons. The tau protein contains over 80 serine, threonine, and tyrosine residues, of which only a fraction is usually phosphorylated. In the brains of patients with AD, tau is abnormally and excessively phosphorylated. This alters the solubility of the protein, forming toxic insoluble aggregates that lead to neuronal death.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter