Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

8.9: Elektronentransportketten
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Elektronentransportketten
 
PROTOKOLLE

8.9: Elektronentransportketten

Die letzte Phase der Zellatmung ist die oxidative Phosphorylierung dar, welche aus (1) der Elektronentransportkette und (2) der Chemiosmose besteht.

Die Elektronentransportkette besteht aus einer Reihe von Proteinen und anderen organischen Molekülen, die sich in der inneren Membran der Mitochondrien von eukaryotischen Zellen und in der Plasmamembran von prokaryotischen Zellen befinden. Die Elektronentransportkette hat zwei primäre Funktionen. Sie erzeugt einen Protonengradienten, in dem Energie gespeichert wird, die zur Erzeugung von ATP in der Chemiosmose genutzt wird. Zusätzlich werden Elektronenträger, wie NAD+ und FAD gebildet, die in der Glykolyse und dem Citratzyklus verwendet werden.

Im Allgemeinen sind die Moleküle der Elektronentransportkette in vier Komplexe (I-IV) organisiert. Diese Moleküle reichen Elektronen durch mehrfache Redoxreaktionen weiter, wobei die Elektronen durch die Transportkette von höheren auf niedrigere Energieniveaus fallen. Diese Reaktionen setzen Energie frei, welche die Komplexe nutzen, um H+ über die innere Membran (von der Matrix in den Intermembranraum) zu pumpen. Dadurch entsteht ein Protonengradient entlang der inneren Membran.

NADH und FADH2 sind reduzierte Elektronenträger, die während der vorherigen Zellatmungsphasen produziert wurden. NADH kann direkt Elektronen an den Komplex I abgeben, der die freigesetzte Energie nutzt, um Protonen in den Intermembranraum zu pumpen. FADH2 gibt Elektronen an den Komplex II ab, der als einziger Komplex keine Protonen in den Intermembranraum pumpt. Somit trägt FADH2 weniger zum Protonengradienten bei als NADH. NADH und FADH2 werden wieder in die Elektronenträger NAD+ bzw. FAD umgewandelt.

Sowohl NADH als auch FADH2 übertragen Elektronen auf Ubichinon, einen mobilen Elektronenträger, der die Elektronen an den Komplex III weiterleitet. Von dort werden die Elektronen auf den mobilen Elektronenträger Cytochrom c (Cyt c) übertragen. Cyt c liefert die Elektronen an den Komplex IV, der sie an O2 weitergibt. Der Sauerstoff bricht auseinander und bildet zwei Sauerstoffatome, die jeweils zwei Protonen aufnehmen und Wasser ergeben.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

8.9: Electron Transport Chains
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

8.9: Electron Transport Chains

The final stage of cellular respiration is oxidative phosphorylation, which consists of (1) an electron transport chain and (2) chemiosmosis.

The electron transport chain is a set of proteins and other organic molecules found in the inner membrane of mitochondria in eukaryotic cells and the plasma membrane of prokaryotic cells. The electron transport chain has two primary functions: it produces a proton gradient—storing energy that can be used to create ATP during chemiosmosis—and generates electron carriers, such as NAD+ and FAD, that are used in glycolysis and the citric acid cycle.

Generally, molecules of the electron transport chain are organized into four complexes (I-IV). The molecules pass electrons to one another through multiple redox reactions, moving electrons from higher to lower energy levels through the transport chain. These reactions release energy that the complexes use to pump H+ across the inner membrane (from the matrix into the intermembrane space). This forms a proton gradient across the inner membrane.

NADH and FADH2 are reduced electron carriers produced during earlier cellular respiration phases. NADH can directly input electrons into complex I, which uses the released energy to pump protons into the intermembrane space. FADH2 inputs electrons into complex II, the only complex that does not pump protons into the intermembrane space. Thus, FADH2 contributes less to the proton gradient than NADH. NADH and FADH2 are converted back into electron carriers NAD+ and FAD, respectively.

Both NADH and FADH2 transfer electrons to ubiquinone, a mobile electron carrier that passes the electrons to complex III. From there, the electrons are transferred to the mobile electron carrier cytochrome c (cyt c). Cyt c delivers the electrons to complex IV, which passes them to O2. Oxygen breaks apart, forming two oxygen atoms that each accept two protons to form water.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter