Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

8.13: Fermentation
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Fermentation
 
TRANSCRIPTION

8.13: Fermentation

La plupart des organismes eucaryotes ont besoin d’oxygène pour survivre et fonctionner adéquatement. Ces organismes produisent de grandes quantités d’énergie pendant la respiration aérobie en métabolisant le glucose et l’oxygène en dioxyde de carbone et en eau. Cependant, la plupart des eucaryotes peuvent générer un peu d’énergie en l’absence d’oxygène par le métabolisme anaérobie.

La respiration aérobie se déroule par le biais d’une série de réactions d’oxydation-réduction qui se terminent lorsque l’oxygène — l’accepteur d’électrons final — est réduit en eau. En l’absence d’oxygène, cette réaction ne peut pas se poursuivre. Au lieu de cela, les cellules régénèrent le NADH produit pendant la glycolyse en utilisant une molécule organique, telle que le pyruvate, comme accepteur d’électrons final. Le processus qui utilise une molécule organique pour régénérer NAD+ à partir de NADH s’appelle la fermentation.

Il existe deux types de fermentation basés sur les produits finaux de la réaction : 1) la fermentation en acide lactique et 2) la fermentation en alcool. Chez les mammifères, la fermentation en acide lactique a lieu dans les globules rouges qui ne peuvent pas respirer de façon aérobie en raison du manque de mitochondries, ainsi que dans les muscles squelettiques pendant l’exercice intense. Elle se produit également dans certaines bactéries, comme celles qu’on trouve dans le yogourt. Dans cette réaction, le pyruvate et le NADH sont transformés en acide lactique et en NAD+.

La fermentation en alcool est un processus en deux étapes. Dans la première étape, le pyruvate est transformé en dioxyde de carbone et en acétaldéhyde. Dans la seconde étape, l’acétaldéhyde agit comme un accepteur d’électrons et il est réduit en éthanol avec la transformation concomitante de NADH en NAD+. Dans l’ensemble, la fermentation alcoolique transforme le pyruvate et le NADH en éthanol, en dioxyde de carbone et en NAD+. Les levures utilisent la fermentation alcoolique pour transformer les sucres en dioxyde de carbone et en éthanol. Ce procédé est exploité pour produire des boissons alcoolisées telles que la bière et le vin.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

8.13: Fermentation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

8.13: Fermentation

Most eukaryotic organisms require oxygen to survive and function adequately. Such organisms produce large amounts of energy during aerobic respiration by metabolizing glucose and oxygen into carbon dioxide and water. However, most eukaryotes can generate some energy in the absence of oxygen by anaerobic metabolism.

Aerobic respiration proceeds through a series of oxidation-reduction reactions that end when oxygen–the final electron acceptor–is reduced to water. In the absence of oxygen, this reaction cannot proceed. Instead, cells regenerate NADH produced during glycolysis by using an organic molecule, such as pyruvate, as the final electron acceptor. The process of using an organic molecule to regenerate NAD+ from NADH is called fermentation.

There are two types of fermentation based on the end products of the reaction: 1) lactic acid fermentation and 2) alcohol fermentation. In mammals, lactic acid fermentation takes place in red blood cells that cannot respire aerobically due to lack of mitochondria, as well as in skeletal muscles during strenuous exercise. It also occurs in certain bacteria, like those found in yogurt. In this reaction, pyruvate and NADH are converted to lactic acid and NAD+.

Alcohol fermentation is a two-step process. In the first step, pyruvate is converted to carbon dioxide and acetaldehyde. In the second step, acetaldehyde acts as an electron acceptor and is reduced to ethanol with concomitant conversion of NADH into NAD+. Overall, alcohol fermentation converts pyruvate and NADH into ethanol, carbon dioxide, and NAD+. Yeasts use alcohol fermentation to convert sugars into carbon dioxide and ethanol. This process is harnessed to produce alcoholic beverages such as beer and wine.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter