Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

12.10: Mehrere Alleleigenschaften
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Multiple Allele Traits
 
PROTOKOLLE

12.10: Mehrere Alleleigenschaften

Das Konzept der multiplen Allelie

Die multiple Allelie beschreibt Gene, die in drei oder mehr Allele haben. Obwohl diploide Organismen wie der Mensch normalerweise nur zwei Allele eines jeden Gens besitzen, gibt es in einer Population mehrere Allele vieler (wenn nicht sogar der meisten) menschlichen Gene. Die Blutgruppe ist ein Beispiel für die multiple Allelie. Beim Menschen gibt es insgesamt drei Allele für die Blutgruppe (HBB Gen): IA, IB, und i.

Unvollständige Dominanz

Die Sichelzellanämie, wird durch eine Mutation im Gen für das Beta-Globin (HBB) verursacht. Sie ist ein Beispiel für eine unvollständige Dominanz (Intermediären Erbgang). Zwei Kopien des Sichelzellen Allels werden für die Erkrankung benötigt, wobei Sichelzellen-Homozygoten steife, sichelförmige rote Blutkörperchen produzieren, welche die Blutgefäße verstopfen. Andererseits bilden Individuen, die homozygot für das normale Beta-Globin-Allel sind, flexible, scheibenförmige Erythrozyten, die sich leicht durch das Gefäßsystem fortbewegen.

Heterozygote, die ein normales Allel und ein Sichelzell-Allel haben, bilden jedoch sowohl normale (scheibenförmige) als auch sichelförmige rote Blutkörperchen und haben Merkmale der Sichelzellen Erkrankung. Diese Individuen haben nur selten Komplikationen der Krankheit, es sei denn, sie befinden sich beispielsweise in sauerstoffarmen Umgebungen. Dies ist ein Beispiel für eine unvollständige Dominanz, da ein Heterozygote einen Zwischenphänotyp zwischen den gesunden und sichelförmigen Zellen aufweist.

Kodominanter Erbgang

Auf molekularer Ebene sind Sichelzell-Heterozygote kodominant, da beide das normale und das Sichelzell-Allel in den roten Blutkörperchen etwa die gleichen Mengen ihrer Proteinprodukte erzeugen.

Die Blutgruppe ist ein weiteres Beispiel für einen kodominanten Erbgang. IA, IB, und i sind die Blutgruppen-Allele des Menschen. IA und IB Allele kodieren A bzw. B Antigenproteine, während das i-Allel überhaupt kein Antigenprotein kodiert. IA und IB sind dominant gegenüber i, und zwei Kopien von i sind für den Phänotyp der Blutgruppe O notwendig. Allerdings sind IA und IB kodominant. So werden in einem IAIB heterozygoten Individuum sowohl A-als auch B-Antigene exprimiert und befinden sich auf der Oberfläche jedes roten Blutkörperchens.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

12.7: Multiple Allele Traits
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

12.7: Multiple Allele Traits

The Concept of Multiple Allelism

Multiple allelism describes genes that exist in three or more allelic forms. Although diploid organisms, like humans, normally possess only two alleles of each gene, there are multiple alleles of many (if not most) human genes present in a population. Blood type is one example of multiple allelism. There are three alleles for blood type (HBB gene) in humans: IA, IB, and i.

Incomplete Dominance

Sickle cell anemia, which is caused by a mutation in the gene encoding beta-globin (HBB), is one example of incomplete dominance. Two copies of the sickle cell allele are required for the disease, with sickle cell homozygotes producing stiff, crescent-shaped red blood cells that clog blood vessels. On the other hand, individuals homozygous for the normal beta-globin allele make flexible, disc-like erythrocytes that travel easily through the vasculature.

However, heterozygotes that have one normal allele and one sickle cell allele make both normal (disc-shaped) and sickle-shaped red blood cells, and are said to possess the sickle cell trait. These individuals rarely suffer from complications of the disease, unless, for example, they encounter low oxygen levels. This is an example of incomplete dominance, since a heterozygote exhibits an intermediate phenotype between that of healthy and sickle-shaped cells.

Codominance

At the molecular level, sickle cell heterozygotes also exhibit codominance, since the normal and sickle cell alleles produce roughly the same levels of their protein products in red blood cells.

Blood type is another example of codominance. IA, IB, and i are all blood type alleles in humans. IA and IB alleles encode A and B antigen proteins, respectively, and the i allele encodes no antigen protein at all. IA and IB are dominant over i, and two copies of i are necessary for the blood type O phenotype. However, IA and IB are codominant. Thus, in an IAIB heterozygous individual, both A and B antigens are expressed and found on the surface of each red blood cell.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter