Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

13.7: Proofreading
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Proofreading
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

13.7: Proofreading

Aperçu

La synthèse de nouvelles molécules d’ADN commence lorsque la polymérase de l’ADN relie les nucléotides dans une séquence complémentaire au brin d’ADN du modèle. La polymérase d’ADN a une affinité plus élevée pour la base correcte pour assurer la fidélité dans la réplication d’ADN. La polymérase d’ADN est en outre relue pendant la réplication, à l’aide d’un domaine d’exonuclease qui coupe les nucléotides incorrects du brin d’ADN naissant.

Les erreurs pendant la réplication sont corrigées par l’enzyme de polymérase d’ADN

L’ADN génomique est synthétisé dans la direction de 5' à 3'. Chaque cellule contient un certain nombre de polymérases d’ADN qui jouent des rôles différents dans la synthèse et la correction des erreurs dans l’ADN; Le delta de la polymérase d’ADN et l’epsilon possèdent la capacité de relecture en reproduisant l’ADN nucléaire. Ces polymérases « lisent » chaque base après qu’elle soit ajoutée au nouveau brin. Si la base nouvellement ajoutée est incorrecte, la polymérase inverse la direction (passant de 3' à 5') et utilise un domaine exonucléolytique pour couper la base incorrecte. Par la suite, il est remplacé par la base correcte.

Les mutations dans le domaine de l’exonuclease de l’ADN polymérase sont liées aux cancers

La relecture est importante pour empêcher les mutations de se produire dans l’ADN nouvellement synthétisé, mais que se passe-t-il lorsque le mécanisme de relecture échoue? Lorsqu’une mutation modifie le domaine de l’exonucléase de l’ADN polymérase, elle perd la capacité d’éliminer les nucléotides incorrects. En conséquence, les mutations peuvent s’accumuler rapidement dans tout le génome. Ce type de mutation a été lié à divers types de cancer.

La polymérase d’ADN de faible fidélité peut générer des séquences d’ADN mutées

Les polymérases d’ADN modifiées sont utilisées en science de laboratoire pour la réaction en chaîne de polymérase (PCR), une technique in vitro pour faire de nombreuses copies de fragments spécifiques d’ADN. Alors que les polymérases de haute fidélité sont utilisées lorsqu’il est important que le produit final soit parfait, certaines techniques, telles que pcr sujette aux erreurs, cherchent à générer des mutations dans un tronçon d’ADN exprès. Ces techniques utilisent des polymérases qui ont compromis la capacité de relecture.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

13.7: Proofreading
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

13.7: Proofreading

Overview

Synthesis of new DNA molecules starts when DNA polymerase links nucleotides together in a sequence that is complementary to the template DNA strand. DNA polymerase has a higher affinity for the correct base to ensure fidelity in DNA replication. The DNA polymerase furthermore proofreads during replication, using an exonuclease domain that cuts off incorrect nucleotides from the nascent DNA strand.

Errors during Replication Are Corrected by the DNA Polymerase Enzyme

Genomic DNA is synthesized in the 5’ to 3’ direction. Each cell contains a number of DNA polymerases that play different roles in synthesizing and correcting mistakes in DNA; DNA polymerase delta and epsilon possess proofreading ability when replicating nuclear DNA. These polymerases “read” each base after it is added to the new strand. If the newly-added base is incorrect, the polymerase reverses direction (moving from 3’ to 5’) and uses an exonucleolytic domain to cut off the incorrect base. Subsequently, it is replaced with the correct base.

Mutations in the Exonuclease Domain of DNA Polymerase Are Linked to Cancers

Proofreading is important for preventing mutations from occurring in newly-synthesized DNA, but what happens when the proofreading mechanism fails? When a mutation alters the exonuclease domain of DNA polymerase, it loses the ability to remove incorrect nucleotides. In consequence, mutations can accumulate rapidly throughout the genome. This type of mutation has been linked to various types of cancer.

Low-Fidelity DNA Polymerase Can Generate Mutated DNA Sequences

Modified DNA polymerases are used in laboratory science for polymerase chain reaction (PCR), an in vitro technique for making many copies of specific fragments of DNA. While high-fidelity polymerases are used when it is important that the end product is perfect, some techniques, such as error-prone PCR, seek to generate mutations in a stretch of DNA on purpose. These techniques use polymerases that have compromised proofreading ability.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter