Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

15.10: Thérapie génique
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Gene Therapy
 
TRANSCRIPTION

15.10: Thérapie génique

La thérapie génique est une technique dans laquelle un gène est inséré dans les cellules d’une personne pour prévenir ou traiter une maladie grave. Le gène ajouté peut être une version saine du gène qui est muté dans le patient, ou il peut être un gène différent qui inactive ou compense le gène du patient provoquant la maladie. Par exemple, chez les patients atteints de déficit immunitaire combiné sévère (SCID) dû à une mutation sur le gène de l’enzyme adénosine désaminase, une version fonctionnelle du gène peut être insérée. Les cellules du patient peuvent alors fabriquer l’enzyme, guérissant cette maladie potentiellement mortelle dans certains cas.

L’insertion de gènes

Les gènes peuvent être introduits dans les cellules d’un patient de deux façons principales : in vivo — directement dans une personne par injection dans des tissus spécifiques ou dans la circulation sanguine ; et ex vivo — dans les cellules qui ont été prélevées au patient, qui sont transplantées de nouveau après que le gène soit inséré.

Le gène est habituellement inséré dans un vecteur — souvent un virus qui a été modifié pour ne pas provoquer de maladie — afin d’introduire le gène dans les cellules du patient et qu’il soit livré au noyau. Dans certains cas, par exemple lorsque des vecteurs rétroviraux sont utilisés, le gène est inséré au hasard dans le génome de la personne, ce qui conduit à l’expression stable du gène inséré. Dans d’autres, comme lorsque des vecteurs adénoviraux sont utilisés, le gène ne s’intègre pas dans le génome de l’hôte et n’est exprimé que de façon transitoire. Le vecteur est également conçu pour contenir une région de promoteur afin que le nouveau gène puisse être transcrit en ARN messager (ARNm). Ensuite, à l’aide de la machinerie de la cellule, l’ARNm est traduit en protéines. Le produit protéique, comme l’adénosine désaminase, fournit le traitement de la maladie.

Les essais cliniques

La thérapie génique en est encore aux premiers stades et comporte des risques importants, en partie parce que l’intégration et l’activité des gènes insérés ne peuvent pas être entièrement contrôlées. Par exemple, dans certains essais préliminaires de thérapie génique pour une autre forme de SCID, certains patients ont développé un cancer et les essais ont été interrompus. Cependant, la technologie s’améliore continuellement et pour les maladies graves sans autre traitement efficace, les avantages peuvent l’emporter sur les risques. Outre le SCID, d’autres maladies où la thérapie génique a été couronnée de succès comprennent un type de cécité héréditaire et la leucémie à cellules B résistante au traitement.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

15.10: Gene Therapy
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

15.10: Gene Therapy

Gene therapy is a technique where a gene is inserted into a person’s cells to prevent or treat a serious disease. The added gene may be a healthy version of the gene that is mutated in the patient, or it could be a different gene that inactivates or compensates for the patient’s disease-causing gene. For example, in patients with severe combined immunodeficiency (SCID) due to a mutation in the gene for the enzyme adenosine deaminase, a functioning version of the gene can be inserted. The patient’s cells can then make the enzyme, curing this potentially deadly disease in some cases.

Gene Insertion

Genes can be introduced into a patient’s cells in two main ways: in vivo—directly into a person through injection into specific tissues or into the bloodstream; and ex vivo—into cells that have been removed from the patient, which are transplanted back after the gene is inserted.

The gene is usually inserted into a vector—often a virus that has been modified to not cause disease—to get the gene into the patient’s cells and delivered to the nucleus. In some cases—for instance, when retroviral vectors are used—the gene is randomly inserted into the person’s genome, leading to stable expression of the inserted gene. In others—such as when adenoviral vectors are used—the gene does not integrate into the host’s genome and is only transiently expressed. The vector is also engineered to contain a promoter region so that the new gene can be transcribed into messenger RNA (mRNA). Then, using the cell’s own machinery, the mRNA is translated into protein. The protein product—such as adenosine deaminase—provides the treatment for the disease.

Clinical Trials

Gene therapy is still in the early stages and carries significant risks, in part because the integration and activity of the inserted genes cannot be fully controlled. For example, in some early trials of gene therapy for another form of SCID, some patients developed cancer, and the trials were halted. However, the technology is continually improving, and for serious diseases with no other effective treatment, the benefits can outweigh the risks. Besides SCID, other diseases where gene therapy has been successful include a type of inherited blindness and treatment-resistant B-cell leukemia.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter