Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

16.4: Lysogener Zyklus von Bakteriophagen
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Lysogenic Cycle of Bacteriophages
 
PROTOKOLLE

16.4: Lysogener Zyklus von Bakteriophagen

Im Gegensatz zum lytischen Zyklus töten Phagen, die Bakterien durch den lysogenen Zyklus infizieren, die Wirtszellen nicht sofort ab. Stattdessen vereinen sie ihr Genom mit dem Wirtsgenom, so dass die Bakterien die Phagen-DNA zusammen mit dem bakteriellen Genom replizieren. Die eingebaute Kopie des Phagengenoms wird als Prophage bezeichnet. Einige Prophagen können sich reaktivieren und in den lytischen Zyklus eintreten. Dies geschieht oft als Reaktion auf eine Störung, wie z.B. eine DNA-Schädigung. Dieser Prozess kann aber auch in Abwesenheit von externen Signalen auftreten.

Die lysogene Konversion

In einigen Fällen verändern die von den Prophagen kodierten Gene den Phänotyp des infizierten Bakteriums. Dieser Prozess wird als lysogene Konversion bezeichnet. Einige Phagen kodieren Proteine oder Toxine, die Virulenzfaktoren, welche die bakterielle Infektion erleichtern. Durch die lysogene Konversion können normalerweise nicht-pathogene Bakterien durch die Infektion mit Phagen, welche Virulenzfaktoren tragen, hoch virulent werden.

Beispielsweise sind solche Phagen weitgehend für die Pathogenität der Bakterienarten verantwortlich, die Botulismus (Clostridium botulinum), Diphtherie (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) und Cholera (Vibrio cholerae) verursachen. Ohne lysogene Umsetzung verursachen diese Bakterien in der Regel keine Krankheiten.

Ein besonders gut untersuchtes Beispiel für die lysogene Konversion ist das des Escherichia coli Stammes O157:H7. Mehrere große Lebensmittelrückrufe sind auf die Kontamination mit E. coli O157:H7 zurückzuführen. Dieser E. coli Stamm wurde mit Phagen infiziert, die das Shiga-ähnliche Toxin (Stx) kodieren, welches Darmblutungen und Nierenversagen verursachen kann. Im lysogenen Zyklus wird Stx nicht produziert, und die Bakterien verursachen keine Krankheiten. Damit Stx produziert werden kann, muss der Phage wieder in den Lysezyklus eintreten. Leider können bestimmte Antibiotika die Induktion der Prophage und damit die Produktion von Stx auslösen, was die Behandlung dieser Infektionen erschwert. In der aktuellen Forschung werden neuartige Therapien untersucht, die die Aktivierung der Prophagen verhindern.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

16.4: Lysogenic Cycle of Bacteriophages
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

16.4: Lysogenic Cycle of Bacteriophages

In contrast to the lytic cycle, phages infecting bacteria via the lysogenic cycle do not immediately kill their host cell. Instead, they combine their genome with the host genome, allowing the bacteria to replicate the phage DNA along with the bacterial genome. The incorporated copy of the phage genome is called the prophage. Some prophages can re-activate and enter the lytic cycle. This often occurs in response to a perturbation, such as DNA damage, but can also transpire in the absence of external cues.

Lysogenic Conversion

In some cases, the genes encoded by prophages can alter the phenotype of the infected bacterium, a process known as lysogenic conversion. Some phages encode proteins or toxins called virulence factors that can facilitate bacterial infections. Through lysogenic conversion, normally non-pathogenic bacteria can become highly virulent via infection by a phage carrying virulence factors.

For example, such phages are largely responsible for the pathogenicity of the bacterial species that cause botulism (Clostridium botulinum), diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae), and cholera (Vibrio cholerae). Without lysogenic conversion, these bacteria do not usually cause disease.

A particularly well-studied example of lysogenic conversion is that of the Escherichia coli strain O157:H7. Several massive food recalls have stemmed from contamination by E. coli O157:H7. This strain of E. coli has been infected by a phage that encodes Shiga-like toxin (Stx), which can cause intestinal bleeding and kidney failure. In the lysogenic cycle, Stx is not produced, and the bacteria do not cause disease. The phage must re-enter the lytic cycle for Stx to be produced. Unfortunately, certain antibiotics can trigger the induction of the prophage and consequent Stx production, making treatment of these infections difficult. Current research is investigating novel therapies that prevent initiation of the prophage.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter