Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

16.6: Virale Rekombination
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Viral Recombination
 
PROTOKOLLE

16.6: Virale Rekombination

Zellen werden manchmal von mehr als einem Virus infiziert. Wenn sich zwei Viren disassemblieren, um ihr Genom für die Replikation in derselben Zelle bereitzustellen, können sich ähnliche Regionen ihrer Genome miteinander paaren. In einem Prozess, der Rekombination genannt wird, tauschen sie dann Sequenzen miteinander aus. Alternativ können Viren mit segmentierten Genomen auch ganze Segmente durch das Reassortment austauschen.

Die virale Rekombinationen kann neue Krankheiten erzeugen

Einige Krankheiten können mehrere Spezies infizieren. Zum Beispiel können Schweine mit menschlichen und Vogelviren infiziert werden, zusätzlich zu jenen die normalerweise Schweine infizieren. Da Viren rekombinieren können, wenn sie dieselbe Zelle infizieren, können Schweine so "Mischgefäße” darstellen. In ihren Zellen können sich Viren von anderen Spezies rekombinieren, um neue Viren zu bilden, welche manchmal auch Menschen infizieren können. Dieses besorgniserregende Phänomen stellt einen Weg dar, über den infektiöses Material von anderen Spezies in die menschliche Population gelangen kann. Krankheiten, die vom Tier auf den Menschen übergehen, werden als Zoonosen bezeichnet. Der Mensch kann für solche Viren sehr anfällig sein, da er diesen Viren noch nicht ausgesetzt wurde und somit noch keine Immunität entwickelt hat.

Die Influenza A ist ein Paradebeispiel für die “Mischgefäß”-Theorie der Viruserkrankungen. Die Forschung hat gezeigt, dass sich die Influenza-A-Viren von Schweinen, Vögeln und Menschen innerhalb der Schweinewirte reassortiert haben. Diese Ereignisse ergaben “doppelt-kombinierte” Viren, die Gene von menschlichen und Vogelviren enthielten und “dreifach-kombinierte” Viren, die Gene von menschlichen, Vogel-und Schweineviren enthielten. In den Niederlanden wurde ein reassortierter Virus, der aus menschlichen und Vogelgrippe-Genen zusammengesetzt war, von Schweinen auf den Menschen übertragen.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

16.6: Viral Recombination
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

16.6: Viral Recombination

Cells are sometimes infected by more than one virus at once. When two viruses disassemble to expose their genomes for replication in the same cell, similar regions of their genomes can pair together and exchange sequences in a process called recombination. Alternatively, viruses with segmented genomes can swap segments in a process called reassortment.

Viral Recombination Can Create New Diseases

Some diseases can infect multiple species. For example, pigs can be infected by some human and bird viruses, in addition to the viruses that usually infect pigs. Because viruses can recombine when they co-infect the same cell, pigs can act like “mixing vessels” that recombine viruses from other species to create new viruses that can sometimes infect humans. This worrisome phenomenon represents a route through which infectious material from other species can enter the human population. Diseases that move from animals to humans are known as zoonoses. Humans can be highly susceptible to such viruses because we have no history of exposure that would have generated immunity.

Influenza A is a prime example of the “mixing vessel” theory of viral disease. Research has demonstrated that pig, bird, and human influenza A viruses have reassorted inside pig hosts. These events yielded “double reassortant” viruses that contained genes from human and bird viruses and “triple-reassortant” viruses that contained genes from human, bird, and pig viruses. In the Netherlands, a reassortant virus composed of human and bird flu genes was transmitted from pigs to humans.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter