Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

17.1: Qu'est-ce que la digestion monogastrique ?
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Qu'est-ce que la digestion monogastrique ?
 
TRANSCRIPTION

17.1: Qu'est-ce que la digestion monogastrique ?

Le corps humain contient un système digestif monogastrique. Dans un système digestif monogastrique, l’estomac ne contient qu’une seule cavité dans laquelle il digère les aliments. Plusieurs autres espèces animales ont également des systèmes digestifs monogastriques, y compris les porcs, les chevaux, les chiens et les oiseaux. Ce chapitre, cependant, se concentre sur le système digestif humain.

La salive et les diagnostics

La salive est une substance aqueuse sécrétée par les glandes salivaires dans la bouche. La salive humaine contient 99,5 % d’eau avec des électrolytes, du mucus, des globules blancs, des cellules épithéliales, des enzymes et des agents antimicrobiens. Les enzymes présentes dans la salive sont essentielles au début du processus de digestion. Elles jouent également un rôle dans la décomposition des particules alimentaires piégées autour des dents, les protégeant de la carie.

La salive est obtenue facilement, à peu de frais, et de façon non invasive auprès des patients, ce qui suscite l’intérêt des chercheurs. La recherche en cours a identifié de nouvelles façons d’utiliser la salive dans le diagnostic moléculaire. L’ADN, l’ARN et les protéines se trouvant dans la salive servent de sources utiles d’information diagnostique dans la détection précoce de divers cancers, y compris le cancer de la bouche, pancréatique et gastrique.

Le suc gastrique

Le principal constituant du suc gastrique est l’acide chlorhydrique. Les ions hydrogène et chlorure libérés par les cellules pariétales qui tapissent l’estomac réagissent dans la cavité de l’estomac pour former de l’acide chlorhydrique. Les cellules pariétales sont couplées à des systèmes de rétroaction qui augmentent et diminuent la production d’acide au besoin. Pour empêcher que l’environnement acide endommage les cellules qui tapissent l’estomac, d’autres cellules de l’estomac produisent du mucus, qui lubrifie la muqueuse de l’estomac et contient du bicarbonate qui neutralise l’acide.

La greffe de microbiome intestinal et de microbiote fécal

Les patients immunodéprimés ont un risque élevé de développer l’infection de Clostridium difficile (ICD). L’ICD, de façon alarmante, a augmenté à des proportions épidémiques en Amérique du Nord au cours de la dernière décennie. Il y a eu un intérêt croissant pour la compréhension du rôle du microbiome intestinal humain afin de contrer cette épidémie. Une thérapie potentielle est la transplantation de microbiote fécal (TMF), ou greffe de selles. La TMF est le processus dans lequel les bactéries fécales d’un individu avec un microbiome intestinal sain sont transférées à un destinataire pour augmenter leur diversité microbienne. Certaines études ont montré que la TMF est un traitement efficace pour les patients atteints d’ICD. La TMF a également été utilisée expérimentalement dans le traitement d’autres maladies gastro-intestinales telles que la maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

17.1: What is Monogastric Digestion?
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

17.1: What is Monogastric Digestion?

The human body contains a monogastric digestive system. In a monogastric digestive system, the stomach only contains one chamber in which it digests food. Several other animal species also have monogastric digestive systems, including pigs, horses, dogs, and birds. This chapter, however, focuses on the human digestive system.

Saliva and Diagnostics

Saliva is a watery substance secreted by the salivary glands into the mouth. Human saliva contains 99.5% water with electrolytes, mucus, white blood cells, epithelial cells, enzymes, and antimicrobial agents. The enzymes found in saliva are essential in beginning the process of digestion. They also play a role in breaking down food particles trapped around the teeth, protecting them from decay.

Saliva is obtained easily, inexpensively, and non-invasively from patients which spurs research interest. Ongoing research identified novel ways of using saliva in molecular diagnostics. DNA, RNA, and proteins found in saliva serve as useful sources of diagnostic information in the early detection of various cancers including oral, pancreatic, and gastric cancer.

Gastric Acid

The primary component of gastric acid is hydrochloric acid. Hydrogen and chloride ions released by parietal cells lining the stomach react in the stomach cavity to form hydrochloric acid. Parietal cells are coupled to feedback systems that increase and decrease acid production as needed. To prevent the acidic environment from damaging the cells lining the stomach, other cells in the stomach produce mucus, which lubricates the stomach lining and contains bicarbonate that neutralizes the acid.

The Gut Microbiome and Fecal Microbiota Transplant

Immunocompromised patients are at an elevated risk for developing Clostridium difficile infection (CDI). CDI, alarmingly, has increased to epidemic proportions in North America over the past decade. There has been increasing interest in understanding the role of the human gut microbiome in order to counter this epidemic. One potential therapy is fecal microbiota transplant (FMT), or stool transplant. FMT is the process in which fecal bacteria from an individual with a healthy gut microbiome are transferred to a recipient to increase their microbial diversity. Some studies have shown that FMT is an effective treatment for patients with CDI. FMT has also been used experimentally in the treatment of other gastrointestinal diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter