Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

17.2: Anatomie des intestins
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Anatomie des intestins
 
TRANSCRIPTION

17.2: Anatomie des intestins

Bien que la digestion des protéines, des glucides et des lipides puisse commencer dans l’estomac, elle est terminée dans l’intestin. L’absorption des nutriments, de l’eau et des électrolytes à partir des aliments et des boissons se produit également dans l’intestin. Les intestins peuvent être divisés en deux organes structurellement distincts : l’intestin grêle et le gros intestin.

L’intestin grêle

L’intestin grêle est un tube d’environ 22 mètres de long avec un diamètre intérieur de seulement 2,5 cm. Puisque la plupart des nutriments sont absorbés ici, la paroi interne de l’intestin grêle est très contournée et recouverte d’extensions en forme de doigt appelées villosités, chacune contenant des centaines de microvillosités. Les plis, les villosités et les microvillosités de l’intestin grêle amplifient la surface de l’absorption de 60 à 120 fois. L’augmentation de la surface offre de nombreuses possibilités d’absorption des nutriments.

L’intestin grêle se connecte à l’estomac par le sphincter pylorique, qui se ferme lorsque le chyme se déplace dans le duodénum, le début de l’intestin grêle. La partie moyenne et la plus grande de l’intestin grêle est le jéjunum. L’iléon termine l’intestin grêle, où il se fixe au gros intestin par la valve iléo-cæcale.

Le gros intestin

Le gros intestin commence au cæcum. L’appendice, une petite structure lymphatique, pendille du fond du cæcum. Au-dessus du cæcum, commence le côlon ascendant suivi par le côlon transversal. Ils absorbent la plupart de l’eau restante et les électrolytes du chyme, en le transformant en excréments. Le côlon descendant, le côlon sigmoïde et le rectum stockent les excréments jusqu’à l’élimination par l’anus.

Dans l’ensemble, le gros intestin mesure environ 1,5 m de long avec un diamètre intérieur de 4,8 cm. Il ne contient pas de plis ni de villosités, mais les cellules épithéliales absorbantes ont des microvillosités. Le gros intestin abrite un écosystème bactérien qui effectue les dernières étapes de la digestion : décomposer la cellulose et les fibres, des composés que l’estomac et l’intestin grêle sont mal équipés pour traiter.

La diversité bactérienne

Le gros intestin contient plus de 700 espèces différentes de bactéries. On pense que la diversité bactérienne est liée à l’obésité et au développement du diabète de type 2. Les personnes obèses ont moins de souches bactériennes que leurs homologues non obèses. Une faible diversité bactérienne a également été associée à la résistance à l’insuline. L’écosystème bactérien intestinal — le biome intestinal — est établi peu de temps après la naissance, les bébés étant allaités développant leur biome intestinal à partir de bactéries présentes dans le lait maternel. Après la naissance, le biome est façonné par la génétique, l’alimentation, l’âge, le sexe et son système immunitaire. Des facteurs externes comme l’alimentation, l’état de santé, les médicaments et l’emplacement géographique influencent également de manière significative la complexité du biome intestinal.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

17.2: Anatomy of the Intestines
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

17.2: Anatomy of the Intestines

Although digestion of proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids may begin in the stomach, it is completed in the intestine. The absorption of nutrients, water, and electrolytes from food and drink also occur in the intestine. The intestines can be divided into two structurally distinct organs—the small and large intestines.

Small Intestines

The small intestine is an ~22 meter-long tube with an inner diameter of just 2.5 cm. Since most nutrients are absorbed here, the inner lining of the small intestine is highly convoluted and covered in finger-like extensions called villi, each containing hundreds of microvilli. The folds, villi, and microvilli of the small intestine amplify the surface area of absorption 60 to 120 times. The increased surface area provides ample opportunity for nutrients to be absorbed.

The small intestine connects to the stomach by the pyloric sphincter, which closes off when chyme moves into the duodenum—the beginning of the small intestine. The middle and largest part of the small intestine is the jejunum. The ileum ends the small intestine, where it attaches to the large intestine by the ileocecal valve.

The Large Intestines

The large intestine starts at the cecum. The appendix, a small lymphatic structure, dangles from the bottom of the cecum. Above the cecum, starts the ascending colon followed by the transverse colon. They absorb most of the remaining water and electrolytes from the chyme, turning it to feces. The descending colon, sigmoid colon, and rectum store feces until elimination through the anus.

Overall the large intestine is about 1.5 m long with an inner diameter of 4.8 cm. It does not contain folds and villi, but the absorptive epithelial cells have microvilli. The large intestine is home to a bacterial ecosystem, which performs the final stages of digestion—breaking down cellulose and fiber, compounds which the stomach and small intestine are ill-equipped to process.

Bacterial Diversity

The large intestine contains over 700 different species of bacteria. Bacterial diversity is thought to be related to obesity and the development of Type 2 diabetes. Obese individuals have fewer bacterial strains than their non-obese counterparts. Low bacterial diversity has also been associated with insulin resistance. The intestinal bacterial ecosystem—the gut biome—is established shortly after birth, with those babies being breastfed developing their gut biome from bacteria present in breast milk. After birth, the biome is shaped by an individual’s genetics, diet, age, sex, and their immune system. External factors like diet, health status, medications, and geographical location also significantly influence the complexity of the gut biome.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter