Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

17.8: Régulation hormonale
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Hormonal Regulation
 
TRANSCRIPTION

17.8: Régulation hormonale

Les hormones régulent une partie importante de la digestion par l’activation du système neuro-endocrinien. Le système neuro-endocrinien de digestion contient de nombreuses hormones différentes toutes avec de multiples fonctions qui sont à la fois directement et indirectement impliquées dans la digestion.

Le mécanisme

En commençant par l’estomac, lorsque les protéines sont détectées par les neurones sensoriels du système nerveux entérique, la glande pylorique est stimulée pour qu’elle sécrète de la gastrine. À son tour, cette hormone induit la libération de l’histamine. Combinées, elles amorcent la production d’acide chlorhydrique qui facilite la digestion, transformant les aliments en chyme. Lorsque le pH de l’estomac devient plus acide, une boucle de rétroaction négative arrête la production des deux hormones.

Le chyme se déplace ensuite vers le duodénum, où plusieurs hormones sont sécrétées, chacune ayant plusieurs fonctions. Certaines inhibent la digestion dans l’estomac. Le peptide inhibiteur gastrique (GIP) ralentit le barattage de l’estomac. La sécrétine inhibe la production de suc gastrique et, avec la cholécystokinine (CCK), conduit le sphincter pylorique entre l’estomac et le duodénum à se fermer. Cela limite le volume de chyme dans le duodénum, en dosant le taux de digestion.

Une fois que le chyme est dans le duodénum, la sécrétine provoque la libération de bicarbonate à partir du pancréas. Cela réduit l’acidité du chyme, protégeant la paroi sensible du duodénum et mettant en place un environnement optimal dans lequel les enzymes digestives peuvent fonctionner. Les enzymes digestives et la bile sont libérées du pancréas et de la vésicule biliaire lorsqu’elles sont stimulées par la CCK, ce qui permet que la digestion se poursuive à travers l’intestin grêle.

À la fin de l’intestin grêle, dans l’iléon, une autre hormone est libérée : le peptide YY (PYY) juste au moment où le chyme passe dans le gros intestin. Cette hormone est libérée au fil du temps, avec un pic environ 1 à 2 heures après avoir mangé. Sa fonction est de ralentir le passage du chyme dans le gros intestin afin que l’eau et les électrolytes puissent être absorbés au maximum. Il sert également de signal de satiété au cerveau, indiquant à l’organisme d’arrêter de manger. Le PYY peut jouer un rôle dans l’obésité. De faibles niveaux de PYY ont été observés chez les personnes obèses par rapport aux personnes non obèses. Un analogue synthétique de PYY est à l’étude comme traitement possible pour l’obésité.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

17.8: Hormonal Regulation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

17.8: Hormonal Regulation

Hormones regulate a significant portion of digestion through activation of the neuroendocrine system. The neuroendocrine system of digestion contains many different hormones all with multiple functions that are both, directly and indirectly, involved in digestion.

The Process

Starting in the stomach, when proteins are detected by sensory neurons of the enteric nervous system, the pyloric gland is stimulated to release gastrin. In turn, this hormone induces the release of histamine. Combined, they initiate the production of hydrochloric acid which facilitates digestion—turning food into chyme. When the pH of the stomach becomes more acidic, a negative feedback loop halts the production of both hormones.

The chyme then moves to the duodenum, where several hormones are released—each with multiple functions. Some inhibit digestion in the stomach. Gastric inhibitory peptide (GIP) slows stomach churning. Secretin inhibits gastric juice production and, along with cholecystokinin (CCK), induces the pyloric sphincter between the stomach and duodenum to close. This limits the volume of chyme in the duodenum, pacing the rate of digestion.

Once the chyme is in the duodenum, secretin prompts the release of bicarbonate from the pancreas. This reduces the acidity of the chyme, protecting the sensitive lining of the duodenum and setting up an optimal environment in which digestive enzymes can function. Digestive enzymes and bile are released from the pancreas and gallbladder when stimulated by CCK, allowing digestion to continue through the small intestine.

At the end of the small intestine, in the ileum, another hormone is released: peptide YY (PYY) just as chyme is passing into the large intestine. This hormone is released over time, peaking about 1-2 hours after eating. Its function is to slow the passage of chyme into the large intestine so water and electrolytes can be maximally absorbed. It also serves as a satiety signal to the brain, indicating to the organism to stop eating. PYY may play a role in obesity. Low levels of PYY have been observed in obese compared to non-obese individuals. A synthetic analog of PYY is being investigated as a possible treatment for obesity.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter