Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.4: L'odorat
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
L'odorat
 
TRANSCRIPTION

19.4: L'odorat

Le sens de l’odorat s’accomplit grâce au travail du système olfactif. Il commence quand une molécule odorante en suspension dans l’air pénètre dans la cavité nasale et atteint l’épithélium olfactif (EO). L’EO est protégé par une fine couche de mucus, qui sert également à dissoudre des composés plus complexes en molécules odorantes chimiques plus simples. La taille de l’EO et la densité des neurones sensoriels varient d’une espèce à l’autre ; chez l’homme, l’EO n’est que d’environ 9-10 cm2.

Les récepteurs olfactifs sont intégrés dans les cils des neurones sensoriels olfactifs. Chaque neurone n’exprime qu’un seul type de récepteur olfactif. Cependant, chaque type de récepteur olfactif est réglé largement et peut se lier à plusieurs molécules odorantes différentes. Par exemple, si le récepteur A se lie aux molécules odorantes 1 et 2, le récepteur B peut se lier aux molécules odorantes 2 et 3, tandis que le récepteur C se lie aux molécules odorantes 1 et 3. Ainsi, la détection et l’identification d’une odeur dépendent de la combinaison de récepteurs olfactifs qui reconnaissent l’odeur ; c’est ce qu’on appelle la diversité combinatoire.

Les neurones sensoriels olfactifs sont des cellules bipolaires avec un seul axone long qui envoie des informations olfactives jusqu’au bulbe olfactif (BO). Le BO est une partie du cerveau qui est séparée de la cavité nasale par la plaque cribriforme. En raison de cette proximité pratique entre le nez et le cerveau, le développement d’applications de médicaments nasaux est largement étudié, en particulier dans les cas où l’accès direct au système nerveux central est préférable.

Dans le BO, les axones des neurones sensoriels se terminent dans une région spécialisée appelée glomérule. Les neurones sensoriels avec le même type de récepteur olfactif envoient leurs axones vers un ou deux glomérules identiques. En conséquence, il peut y avoir des milliers d’axones de neurones sensoriels similaires convergeant dans un seul glomérule. Toutes ces informations sensorielles sont transmises à seulement 20-50 cellules mitrales et cellules tuft par glomérule ; il y a donc une grande convergence d’informations. Les cellules périglomérulaires et granulaires sont des interneurones inhibiteurs qui interviennent entre les cellules mitrales/tuft avant que l’information olfactive ne soit envoyée au cortex.

Du BO, les cellules mitrales/tuft projettent l’information au cortex olfactif. Le cortex olfactif est un complexe de plusieurs zones corticales qui traitent l’information olfactive. Une zone olfactive, l’amygdale corticale, influence les réponses émotionnelles à l’odorat. Le cortex orbitofrontal est impliqué dans l’identification des odeurs et la valeur de récompense des odeurs et des goûts. Le cortex entorhinal, une autre zone corticale olfactive, projette à l’hippocampe, qui est impliqué dans la mémoire olfactive.

La capacité de détecter et d’identifier les odeurs implique des zones corticales de plus haut niveau. Une telle intégration de haut niveau peut être liée au fonctionnement olfactif altéré observé dans de nombreux désordres neurodégénératifs, tels que la maladie de Parkinson et les maladies d’Alzheimer. La capacité réduite à sentir — l’hyposmie — est un symptôme précoce des deux troubles.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.4: Olfaction
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

19.4: Olfaction

The sense of smell is achieved through the activities of the olfactory system. It starts when an airborne odorant enters the nasal cavity and reaches olfactory epithelium (OE). The OE is protected by a thin layer of mucus, which also serves the purpose of dissolving more complex compounds into simpler chemical odorants. The size of the OE and the density of sensory neurons varies among species; in humans, the OE is only about 9-10 cm2.

The olfactory receptors are embedded in the cilia of the olfactory sensory neurons. Each neuron expresses only one type of olfactory receptor. However, each type of olfactory receptor is broadly tuned and can bind to multiple different odorants. For example, if receptor A binds to odorants 1 and 2, receptor B may bind to odorants 2 and 3, while receptor C binds to odorants 1 and 3. Thus, the detection and identification of an odor depend on the combination of olfactory receptors that recognize the odor; this is called combinatorial diversity.

Olfactory sensory neurons are bipolar cells with a single long axon that sends olfactory information up to the olfactory bulb (OB). The OB is a part of the brain that is separated from the nasal cavity by the cribriform plate. Because of this convenient proximity between the nose and brain, the development of nasal drug applications is widely studied, especially in cases where direct access to the central nervous system is preferred.

Within the OB, axons from sensory neurons terminate in a specialized area called a glomerulus. Sensory neurons with the same olfactory receptor type send their axons to the same one or two glomeruli. As a result, there can be thousands of axons from similar sensory neurons converging within a single glomerulus. All of that sensory information is passed on to only 20-50 mitral and tufted cells per glomeruli, so there is a large convergence of information. Periglomerular and granular cells are inhibitory interneurons that mediate cross-talk between mitral/tufted cells before the olfactory information is sent to the cortex.

From the OB, the mitral/tufted cells project information to the olfactory cortex. The olfactory cortex is a complex of several cortical areas that process olfactory information. One olfactory area, the cortical amygdala, influences emotional responses to smell. The orbitofrontal cortex is involved in the identification of odors and the reward value of odors and tastes. The entorhinal cortex, another olfactory cortical area, projects to the hippocampus, which is implicated in olfactory memory.

The ability to detect and identify odors involves higher-order cortical areas. Such high-level integration may be linked to the impaired olfactory functioning observed in many neurodegenerative disorders, such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases. The reduced ability to smell—hyposmia—is an early symptom of both disorders.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter