Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.5: Hören
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Hearing
 
PROTOKOLLE

19.5: Hören

Wenn wir einen Ton hören, erkennt unser Nervensystem die Schallwellen. Dabei handelt es sich um Druckwellen mit mechanischer Energie, die durch ein Medium wandern. Die Frequenz der Welle wird als Tonhöhe wahrgenommen, während die Amplitude als Lautstärke wahrgenommen wird.

Schallwellen werden von der Ohrmuschel aufgenommen und auf ihrem Weg durch den Gehörgang verstärkt. Wenn der Ton die Verbindung zwischen Außen-und Mittelohr erreicht, wird das Trommelfell in Schwingungen versetzt. Die dabei entstehende mechanische Energie bewirkt, dass sich die verbundenen Gehörknöchelchen in Bewegung setzen. Das sind eine Reihe von kleinen Knochen im Mittelohr.

Die Gehörknöchelchen vibrieren das ovale Fenster, dem äußersten Teil des Innenohres. Im Labyrinth des Innenohrs wird die Schallwellenenergie auf die Cochlea (Hörschnecke) übertragen, wodurch sich die Flüssigkeit in ihr bewegt. Die Cochlea ist eine gewundene Struktur im Innenohr, welche Rezeptoren enthält, die mechanische Schallwellen in elektrische Signale umwandeln. Diese können dann vom Gehirn interpretiert werden. Geräusche im Hörbereich versetzen die Basilarmembran in der Cochlea in Schwingung und werden von Haarzellen des Corti-Organs, dem Ort der Übertragung, wahrgenommen.

Auf der primären Hörbahn werden die Signale durch den Hörnerv zu den Schneckenkernen (Nuclei cochleares) im Hirnstamm gesendet. Von hier aus gelangen sie zum unteren Hügel (Colliculus inferior) des Mittelhirns und hoch zum Thalamus und dann zum primären auditorischen Cortex. Auf diesem Weg werden die Informationen der Töne aufrechterhalten. Sobald das Signal den primären auditorischen Cortex erreicht, werden grundlegende Eigenschaften (wie die Tonhöhe) identifiziert und wahrgenommen. Vom primären auditorischen Cortex werden die Schallinformationen an nahegelegene Bereiche der Großhirnrinde zur Verarbeitung auf höherer Ebene gesendet. Sie werden beispielsweise an das Wernicke-Zentrum gesendet, das für das Sprachverstehen entscheidend ist.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.5: Hearing
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

19.5: Hearing

When we hear a sound, our nervous system is detecting sound waves—pressure waves of mechanical energy traveling through a medium. The frequency of the wave is perceived as pitch, while the amplitude is perceived as loudness.

Sound waves are collected by the external ear and amplified as they travel through the ear canal. When sounds reach the junction between the outer and middle ear, they vibrate the tympanic membrane—the eardrum. The resulting mechanical energy causes the attached ossicles—a set of small bones in the middle ear—to move.

The ossicles vibrate the oval window, the outermost part of the inner ear. In the labyrinth of the inner ear, the sound wave energy is transferred to the cochlea—a coiled structure in the inner ear—causing the fluid within it to move. The cochlea contains receptors that transduce mechanical sound waves into electrical signals that can be interpreted by the brain. Sounds within the hearing range vibrate the basilar membrane in the cochlea and are detected by hair cells on the organ of Corti, the site of transduction.

Along the primary auditory pathway, the signals are sent through the auditory nerve to the cochlear nuclei in the brainstem. From here, they travel to the inferior colliculus of the midbrain and up to the thalamus, and then to the primary auditory cortex. Along this pathway, information about the sound is maintained such that once the signal reaches the primary auditory cortex, basic characteristics (like pitch) can be identified and perceived. From the primary auditory cortex, sound information is sent to nearby areas of the cerebral cortex for higher-level processing—such as Wernicke’s area, which is critical for understanding speech.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter