Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.6: Cils vibratiles
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Cils vibratiles
 
TRANSCRIPTION

19.6: Cils vibratiles

Les cellules ciliées sont les récepteurs sensoriels du système auditif : elles font la transduction des ondes sonores mécaniques en énergie électrique que le système nerveux peut comprendre. Les cellules ciliées sont situées dans l’organe de Corti dans la cochlée de l’oreille interne, entre les membranes basilaires et téctoriales. Les vrais récepteurs sensoriels s’appellent des cellules ciliées internes. Les cellules ciliées externes servent à d’autres fonctions, telles que l’amplification sonore dans la cochlée, et elles ne sont pas vues en détail ici.

Les cellules ciliées sont nommées d’après les stéréocils ressemblant à des cheveux qui dépassent de leur sommet et touchent la membrane téctoriale. Les stéréocils sont disposés selon la hauteur et sont attachés par de minces filaments appelés tip links (“ liens apicaux ”). Les liens apicaux sont reliés à des canaux de cations activés par l’étirement sur les extrémités des stéréocils.

Lorsqu’une onde sonore fait vibrer la membrane basilaire, elle crée une force de cisaillement entre les membranes basilaires et téctoriales qui déplace les stéréocils des cellules ciliées d’un côté à l’autre. Lorsque les cils sont déplacés vers le cil le plus haut, les liens apicaux s’étirent, ouvrant les canaux cationiques. Le potassium (K+) s’écoule alors dans la cellule, parce qu’il y a une concentration très élevée de K+ dans le fluide à l’extérieur des stéréocils. Cette grande différence de tension crée un gradient électrochimique qui provoque un influx de K+ une fois que les canaux sont ouverts.

Cet influx de charge positive dépolarise la cellule, augmentant la tension à travers la membrane. Cela fait que des canaux calciques (Ca2+) tensiodépendants s’ouvrent dans le corps cellulaire, et que Ca2+ s’écoule dans la cellule. Le Ca2+ déclenche une cascade de signalisation qui fait que des vésicules synaptiques contenant des molécules de neurotransmetteurs excitateurs fusionnent avec la membrane cellulaire et sont libérées, excitant la cellule nerveuse auditive postsynaptique et augmentant la transmission des potentiels d’action au cerveau. Lorsque les stéréocils sont poussés en sens inverse, vers les stéréocils les plus courts, les liens apicaux se détendent, les canaux cationiques se ferment, et la cellule devient hyperpolarisée (c.-à-d. le potentiel de la membrane est plus négatif) par rapport à son état de repos.

Les caractéristiques de l’onde sonore, telles que la fréquence, sont codées dans le modèle d’activation des cellules ciliées et donc l’activation des cellules nerveuses auditives. Cette information est ensuite envoyée au cerveau pour être interprétée.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

19.6: Hair Cells
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

19.6: Hair Cells

Hair cells are the sensory receptors of the auditory system—they transduce mechanical sound waves into electrical energy that the nervous system can understand. Hair cells are located in the organ of Corti within the cochlea of the inner ear, between the basilar and tectorial membranes. The actual sensory receptors are called inner hair cells. The outer hair cells serve other functions, such as sound amplification in the cochlea, and are not discussed in detail here.

Hair cells are named after the hair-like stereocilia that protrude from their tops and touch the tectorial membrane. The stereocilia are arranged by height and are attached by thin filaments called tip links. The tip links are connected to stretch-activated cation channels on the tips of the stereocilia.

When a sound wave vibrates the basilar membrane, it creates a shearing force between the basilar and tectorial membranes that moves the hair cell stereocilia from side to side. When the cilia are displaced towards the tallest cilium, the tip links stretch, opening the cation channels. Potassium (K+) then flows into the cell, because there is a very high concentration of K+ in the fluid outside of the stereocilia. This large voltage difference creates an electrochemical gradient that causes an influx of K+ once the channels are opened.

This influx of positive charge depolarizes the cell, increasing the voltage across the membrane. This causes voltage-gated calcium (Ca2+) channels in the cell body to open, and Ca2+ flows into the cell. Ca2+ triggers a signaling cascade that causes synaptic vesicles containing excitatory neurotransmitter molecules to fuse to the cell membrane and be released, exciting the postsynaptic auditory nerve cell and increasing the transmission of action potentials to the brain. When the stereocilia are pushed in the opposite direction, towards the shortest stereocilia, the tip links relax, the cation channels close, and the cell becomes hyperpolarized (i.e., the membrane potential is more negative) compared to its resting state.

Characteristics of the sound wave, such as frequency, are encoded in the pattern of hair cell activation and, consequently, auditory nerve cell activation. This information is then sent to the brain for interpretation.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter