Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.3: Intrazelluläre Hormon-Rezeptoren
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Intracellular Hormone Receptors
 
PROTOKOLLE

21.3: Intrazelluläre Hormon-Rezeptoren

Fettlösliche Hormone diffundieren durch das Plasma und der Membran des Zellkerns der Zielzellen, um an ihre spezifischen intrazellulären Rezeptoren zubinden. Diese Rezeptoren wirken als Transkriptionsfaktoren und regulieren die Genexpression und Proteinsynthese der Zielzelle.

Auf Grund ihrer Wirkungsweise werden intrazelluläre Hormonrezeptoren in Rezeptoren des Typ I-oder Typ II klassifiziert. Die Typ I-Rezeptoren, wozu die Steroidhormonrezeptoren wie der Androgenrezeptor gehören, sind im Zytoplasma vorhanden. Durch die Hormonbindung wird der Hormon-Rezeptor-Komplex in den Zellkern transportiert, wo er an regulatorische DNA-Sequenzen, sogenannte Hormon-Response-Elemente, bindet und die Gentranskription auslöst.

Typ-II-Rezeptoren, wie z.B. der Schilddrüsenhormonrezeptor, sind auch in Abwesenheit des Hormons an ihre DNA-Response-Elemente im Zellkern gebunden. In diesem Zustand fungiert der Rezeptor als aktiver Repressor der Transkription. Bei der Hormonbindung aktiviert der Rezeptor-Hormon-Komplex dann die Transkription des Schilddrüsenhormon induzierbaren Gens.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.3: Intracellular Hormone Receptors
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

21.3: Intracellular Hormone Receptors

Lipid-soluble hormones diffuse across the plasma and nuclear membrane of target cells to bind to their specific intracellular receptors. These receptors act as transcription factors that regulate gene expression and protein synthesis in the target cell

Based on their mode of action, intracellular hormone receptors are classified as Type I or Type II receptors. Type I receptors, including steroid hormone receptors such as the androgen receptor, are present in the cytoplasm. Hormone binding transports the hormone-receptor complex to the nucleus, where it binds to regulatory DNA sequences called hormone response elements and activates gene transcription.

Type II receptors, such as the thyroid hormone receptor, are bound to their DNA response elements within the nucleus even in the absence of hormone. In this state, the receptor acts as an active repressor of transcription. However, upon hormone binding, the receptor-hormone complex activates transcription of thyroid hormone-inducible genes.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter