Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.3: Filtration
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Filtration
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

23.3: Filtration

La fonction des reins est de filtrer, réabsorber, sécréter et excréter. Chaque jour, les reins filtrent près de 180 litres de sang, d’abord enlever l’eau et les solutés, mais finalement retourner presque tous les filtrates en circulation à l’aide d’hormones osmorégulatrices. Ce processus élimine les déchets et les toxines, mais est également crucial pour maintenir les niveaux d’eau et d’électrolyte. La plupart de ces fonctions sont effectuées par les néphrons minuscules mais nombreux contenus dans les reins.

Le sang pénètre dans le corpuscule rénal du néphron à travers un glomerulus de capillaires. Les capillaires sont entourés d’une structure appelée la capsule du Bowman qui absorbe l’eau et la plupart des solutés du sang. La tension artérielle des capillaires les pousse dans les capsules. Si la pression artérielle est trop élevée, comme on le voit dans l’hypertension, les capillaires peuvent s’affaiblir et durcir, réduisant la capacité du rein à filtrer le sang.

Le filtrate des corpuscules se vide dans les tubules alambiqués proximaux et les parties descendantes de la boucle de Henle. Ici, près de 70 % des solutés — sel, glucose, acides aminés et bicarbonates — sont réabsorbés dans les capillaires environnants. Les hormones sanguines circulantes impliquées dans l’osmorégulation induisent la réabsorption du sodium, du calcium, ou plus d’eau si nécessaire pour augmenter ou diminuer la pression artérielle et réguler les électrolytes.

Les sécrétions des vaisseaux enlèvent les déchets restants du sang dans les tubules alambiqués distal des néphrons. Les déchets azotés comme la créatinine et l’urée sont sécrétés ainsi que le potassium et les ions d’ammonium. Pour ajuster le pH sanguin, les ions d’hydrogène et de bicarbonate peuvent également être enlevés dans les tubules distal. De là, le filtrate restant, ou urine, est recueilli par le bassin rénal et excrété des reins par l’uretère.

Chez les animaux en hibernation, comme les ours et les écureuils terrestres, la production d’urine est réduite ou arrêtée pour conserver complètement l’eau pendant une période où aucune nourriture ou eau n’est ingérée. Dans leur état hypothermique, les vaisseaux rénaux se contractent et empêchent le flux de sang dans le glomerulus. Cela arrête la fonction rénale jusqu’à ce que l’animal émerge de l’hibernation.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

23.2: Filtration
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

23.2: Filtration

The function of the kidneys is to filter, reabsorb, secrete, and excrete. Every day the kidneys filter nearly 180 liters of blood, initially removing water and solutes but ultimately returning nearly all filtrates into circulation with the help of osmoregulatory hormones. This process removes wastes and toxins but is also crucial to maintain water and electrolyte levels. Most of these functions are performed by the tiny but numerous nephrons contained within the kidneys.

Blood enters the renal corpuscle of the nephron through a glomerulus of capillaries. The capillaries are surrounded by a structure called the Bowman’s capsule which absorbs water and most solutes from the blood. The blood pressure from capillaries pushes these into the capsules. If the blood pressure is too high, as seen in hypertension, the capillaries can weaken and harden, reducing the ability of the kidney to filter the blood.

The filtrate from the corpuscles empty into the proximal convoluted tubules and the descending portions of the Loop of Henle. Here nearly 70% of solutes—salt, glucose, amino acids, and bicarbonates—are reabsorbed into the surrounding capillaries. Circulating blood hormones involved in osmoregulation induce reabsorption of sodium, calcium, or more water if needed to increase or decrease blood pressure and regulate electrolytes.

Secretions from the vessels remove any remaining waste products from the blood into the distal convoluted tubules of nephrons. Nitrogenous waste like creatinine and urea is secreted as well as potassium and ammonium ions. To adjust blood pH, hydrogen and bicarbonate ions can also be removed into the distal tubules. From here the remaining filtrate, or urine, is collected by the renal pelvis and excreted from the kidneys through the ureter.

In hibernating animals, such as bears and ground squirrels, urine production is reduced or stopped altogether to conserve water during a period when no food or water is ingested. In their hypothermic state, renal vessels constrict and prevent the flow of blood into the glomerulus. This halts kidney function until the animal emerges from hibernation.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter