Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

27.12: Bioremediation
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Bioremediation
 
PROTOKOLLE

27.12: Bioremediation

Als Bioremediation (biologische Sanierung) bezeichnet man den Einsatz von Prokaryoten, Pilzen oder Pflanzen, um Schadstoffe aus der Umwelt zu beseitigen. Dieses Verfahren wurde zur Entfernung schädlicher Giftstoffe im Grundwasser, die als Nebenprodukt im landwirtschaftlichem Abwasser vorkommen und auch zur Sanierung von Ölverschmutzungen eingesetzt.

Agrikulturelle Bioremediation

Die Bioremediation ist ein nützliches Verfahren, bei dem Mikroben und Bakterien eingesetzt werden, um Gift- und Schadstoffe aus der Umwelt zu entfernen. In der Landwirtschaft kann der Einsatz von Düngemitteln und Pestiziden zu einer Übertragung dieser Chemikalien in das Grundwasser, in Flüsse und Seen führen. Zum Beispiel kann Atrazin, welches ein Umweltgift ist, das in vielen Düngemitteln gefunden wird, mit zwei üblichen Umweltbakterienarten, Rhizobium und Tricoderma sp abgebaut und aus dem Boden entfernt werden.

Industrielle Bioremediation

Ölverschmutzungen tragen oft zum Verlust der marinen Biodiversität bei. Die Zugabe von Nährstoffen in die von einer Ölkatastrophe betroffenen Gewässer fördert jedoch das Wachstum von Kohlenwasserstoff abbauenden Bakterien, die das Erdöl abbauen. In einer Studie testeten Wissenschaftler beispielsweise die Fähigkeit eines natürlich vorkommenden Konsortiums von bakteriellen Symbionten der Koralle Mussismilia hartii, Öl abzubauen. Sie können nicht nur Erdöl-Kohlenwasserstoffe zersetzen und damit die Auswirkungen des Öls auf die Gesundheit der Korallenarten minimieren, sondern auch die fotosynthetische Effizienz der Korallen fördern.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

27.12: Bioremediation
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

27.12: Bioremediation

Bioremediation is the use of prokaryotes, fungi, or plants to remove pollutants from the environment. This process has been used to remove harmful toxins in groundwater as a byproduct of agricultural run-off and also to clean up oil spills.

Agricultural Bioremediation

Bioremediation is a useful process in which microbes and bacteria are used to remove toxins and pollutants from the environment. In agricultural practices, the use of fertilizers and pesticides can result in leaching of chemicals into the groundwater, streams and lakes. For example, atrazine—an environmental toxin found in many fertilizers—can be broken down and removed from soils using two common environmental bacterial species, Rhizobium and Tricoderma sp.

Industrial Bioremediation

Oil spills often contribute to the loss of marine biodiversity. However, nutrient addition to aquatic areas affected by an oil spill promote the growth of hydrocarbon-degrading bacteria that will break down petroleum. For example, in one study, scientists tested the ability of a naturally occurring consortium of bacterial symbionts of the coral Mussismilia hartii, to break down oil. Not only can they degrade petroleum hydrocarbons minimizing effects of oil on the health of the coral species, but they can dually promote photosynthetic efficiency of the coral.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter