Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.8: Phylogénie
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Phylogeny
 
TRANSCRIPTION

1.8: Phylogénie

La phylogénie concerne la diversification évolutive des organismes ou des groupes d’organismes. Un groupe d’organismes avec un nom est appelé un taxon. Les taxons peuvent s’étendre sur différents niveaux de la hiérarchie évolutive. Par exemple, le groupe contenant tous les oiseaux est un taxon (comprenant la classe Aves), et le groupe de toutes les espèces de marguerites (le genre Bellis) est un taxon. Les phylogénies peuvent également inclure un seul genre (c.-à-d. représenter des relations avec les espèces) ou s’étendre à un règne entier.

Typiquement, la phylogénie est représentée par un arbre. Chaque taxon d’intérêt est représenté à la pointe de la branche, et les branches représentent la relation entre ces taxons. Les taxons étroitement apparentés partagent une plus grande partie de leur génome, ce qui entraîne des similitudes morphologiques. Les taxons frères partagent un ancêtre commun immédiat, représenté par un nœud partagé.

Les nœuds de l’arbre représentent une caractéristique morphologique ou un changement moléculaire qui différencie les taxons. Tous les taxons qui se connectent directement à un nœud spécifique partagent un ancêtre commun récent. Par conséquent, la racine de l’arbre est l’ancêtre que partagent tous les taxons dans l’arbre. Un arbre sans racine représente la relation des taxons mais ne fournit pas d’informations sur l’ancêtre commun partagé.

La longueur des branches d’un arbre peut avoir un sens ou non. Dans un arbre à échelle, la longueur de la branche peut représenter le temps ou le nombre de changements qui se sont produits depuis que les taxons ont évolué à partir d’un ancêtre commun.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.8: Phylogeny
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

1.8: Phylogeny

Phylogeny is concerned with the evolutionary diversification of organisms or groups of organisms. A group of organisms with a name is called a taxon. Taxa can span different levels of the evolutionary hierarchy. For instance, the group containing all birds is a taxon (comprising the class Aves), and the group of all species of daisies (the genus Bellis) is a taxon. Phylogenies can likewise include just one genus (i.e., depict species relationships) or span an entire kingdom.

Typically, phylogeny is represented by a tree. Each taxon of interest is depicted at the tip of the branch, and the branches represent the relationship between these taxa. Closely related taxa share a larger portion of their genome, resulting in morphological similarities. Sister taxa share an immediate common ancestor, represented by a shared node.

Nodes in the tree depict a morphological characteristic or molecular change that differentiates taxa. All taxa that directly connect to a specific node share a recent common ancestor. Hence, the root of the tree is the ancestor shared by all taxa in the tree. A tree without a root represents the relationship of taxa but does not provide information on the shared common ancestor.

The length of the branches of a tree may or may not have a meaning. In a scaled tree, the length of the branch may either represent time or the number of changes that occurred since the taxa evolved from a common ancestor.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter