Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

14.12: Operons
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Operons
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

14.12: Operons

Les procaryotes peuvent contrôler l’expression des gènes à l’moyen d’operons — séquences d’ADN composées d’éléments régulateurs et de gènes de codage protéique regroupés et fonctionnellement liés. Les operons utilisent une séquence de promoteur unique pour initier la transcription d’un groupe génétique (c.-à-d. un groupe de gènes structurels) en une seule molécule d’ARNm. La séquence terminator met fin à la transcription. Une séquence d’opérateur, située entre le promoteur et les gènes structurels, interdit l’activité transcriptionnelle de l’opéron si elle est liée par une protéine répresseur. Au total, le promoteur, l’opérateur, les gènes structurels et les terminateurs forment le noyau d’un opéron.

Les operons sont généralement inducibles ou répressibles. Les operons inductibles, comme l’operon bac bactérien, sont normalement « éteints » mais s’allument en présence d’une petite molécule appelée inducteur (p. ex., allolactose). Lorsque le glucose est absent, mais que le lactose est présent, l’allolactique lie et inactive le répresseur d’operon lac, ce qui permet à l’opéron de générer des enzymes responsables du métabolisme du lactose.

Les operons répressibles, tels que l’opéron bactérien trp, sont habituellement « allumés » mais s’éteignent en présence d’une petite molécule appelée corepressor (p. ex., tryptophane). Lorsque le tryptophane, un acide aminé essentiel, est abondant, le tryptophane se lie et active le répresseur trp, empêchant l’opéron de fabriquer les enzymes nécessaires à sa synthèse.

Les operons peuvent également être constitutifs (c.-à-d. en continu). Par exemple, les operons d’ARN ribosomal bactérien (ARNr) sont toujours « allumés » parce que les ARRN sont constamment nécessaires à la traduction.

D’autres éléments réglementaires contribuent également à l’expression génique coordonnée d’un opéron. Les gènes régulateurs codent les protéines de l’activateur transcriptionnel ou du répresseur. Les gènes lacI et trpR, par exemple, codent pour leurs répresseurs d’opéron respectifs. D’autres séquences réglementaires, telles que le site de liaison de la protéine activateur de catabolite (CAP) du lac operon, fournissent des sites de liaison pour d’autres activateurs ou répresseurs. Par exemple, lorsque le glucose est faible, une molécule de signalisation (c.-à-d. l’AMP cyclique) active le CAP, ce qui lui permet de lier le site cap, de recruter de la polymérase d’ARN et d’initier la transcription de l’operon lac.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

14.12: Operons
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
Operons
 

TRANSCRIPT

14.12: Operons

Prokaryotes can control gene expression through operons—DNA sequences consisting of regulatory elements and clustered, functionally related protein-coding genes. Operons use a single promoter sequence to initiate transcription of a gene cluster (i.e., a group of structural genes) into a single mRNA molecule. The terminator sequence ends transcription. An operator sequence, located between the promoter and structural genes, prohibits the operon’s transcriptional activity if bound by a repressor protein. Altogether, the promoter, operator, structural genes, and terminator form the core of an operon.

Operons are usually either inducible or repressible. Inducible operons, such as the bacterial lac operon, are normally “off” but will turn “on” in the presence of a small molecule called an inducer (e.g., allolactose). When glucose is absent, but lactose is present, allolactose binds and inactivates the lac operon repressor—allowing the operon to generate enzymes responsible for lactose metabolism.

Repressible operons, such as the bacterial trp operon, are usually “on” but will turn “off” in the presence of a small molecule called a corepressor (e.g., tryptophan). When tryptophan—an essential amino acid—is abundant, tryptophan binds and activates the trp repressor—preventing the operon from making enzymes required for its synthesis.

Operons may also be constitutively (i.e., continuously) active. For example, bacterial ribosomal RNA (rRNA) operons are always “on” because rRNAs are constantly required for translation.

Other regulatory elements contribute to an operon’s coordinated gene expression as well. Regulatory genes encode transcriptional activator or repressor proteins. The lacI and trpR genes, for example, encode for their respective operon’s repressors. Additional regulatory sequences, such as the lac operon’s catabolite activator protein (CAP) binding site, provide binding sites for other activators or repressors. For instance, when glucose is low, a signaling molecule (i.e., cyclic AMP) activates CAP—permitting it to bind the CAP site, recruit RNA polymerase, and initiate lac operon transcription.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter