Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

14.12: Operons
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 

PROTOKOLLE

14.12: Operons

Die Genexpression von Prokaryonten kann durch Operons gesteuert werden. Die DNA-Sequenzen bestehen aus regulatorischen Elementen und geclusterten, funktionell verwandten proteincodierenden Genen. Operons verwenden eine einzige Promotorsequenz, um die Transkription eines Gen-Clusters (d.h. einer Gruppe von Strukturgenen) in ein einziges mRNA-Molekül zu initiieren. Die Terminatorsequenz beendet die Transkription. Eine Operatorsequenz welche sich zwischen dem Promotor und den Strukturgenen befindet, verhindert die Transkriptionsaktivität des Operons, wenn es durch ein Repressorprotein gebunden ist. Insgesamt bilden der Promotor, der Operator, die Strukturgene und der Terminator den Kern eines Operons.

Operons sind in der Regel entweder induzierbar oder repressiv. Induzierbare Operons, wie z.B. das bakterielle LacOperon, sind normalerweise ausgeschaltet. Sie werden aber in Gegenwart eines kleinen Moleküls, das als Induktor bezeichnet wird (z.B. Allolaktose), eingeschaltet. Wenn Glucose fehlt, aber Lactose vorhanden ist, bindet Allolactose und inaktiviert den Lac-Operon-Repressor. So kann das Operon Enzyme erzeugen, die für den Lactose-Stoffwechsel verantwortlich sind.

Repressive Operons, wie z.B. das bakterielle Trpoperon, sind in der Regel eingeschaltet, werden aber in Gegenwart eines kleinen Moleküls, eines so genannten Corepressors (z.B. Tryptophan), ausgeschaltet. Wenn Tryptophan, eine essenzielle Aminosäure, im Überfluss vorhanden ist, bindet und aktiviert Tryptophan den TrpRepressor und verhindert, dass das Operon die für seine Synthese erforderlichen Enzyme produziert.

Operons können auch konstitutiv (d.h. kontinuierlich) wirksam sein. Beispielsweise sind bakterielle ribosomale RNA-Operone (rRNA) immer eingeschaltet, da rRNAs ständig für die Translation benötigt werden.

Weitere regulierende Elemente tragen ebenfalls zu einer koordinierten Genexpression der Operons bei. So kodieren regulatorische Gene für Transkriptionsaktivator -oder Repressorproteine. Die lacI-und trpR-Gene kodieren beispielsweise für ihre jeweiligen Operon-Repressoren. Zusätzliche regulatorische Sequenzen, wie die Bindungsstelle des lac-Operon-Katabolit-Aktivator-Proteins (CAP) und bieten Bindungsstellen für andere Aktivatoren oder Repressoren. Wenn der Glucosegehalt niedrig ist, aktiviert beispielsweise ein Signalmolekül (d.h. ein zyklisches AMP) das CAP und erlaubt ihm, die CAP-Bindungsstelle zu binden, RNA-Polymerase zu rekrutieren und die Lac-Operon-Transkription zu initiieren.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

14.12: Operons
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
Operons
 

TRANSCRIPT

14.12: Operons

Prokaryotes can control gene expression through operons—DNA sequences consisting of regulatory elements and clustered, functionally related protein-coding genes. Operons use a single promoter sequence to initiate transcription of a gene cluster (i.e., a group of structural genes) into a single mRNA molecule. The terminator sequence ends transcription. An operator sequence, located between the promoter and structural genes, prohibits the operon’s transcriptional activity if bound by a repressor protein. Altogether, the promoter, operator, structural genes, and terminator form the core of an operon.

Operons are usually either inducible or repressible. Inducible operons, such as the bacterial lac operon, are normally “off” but will turn “on” in the presence of a small molecule called an inducer (e.g., allolactose). When glucose is absent, but lactose is present, allolactose binds and inactivates the lac operon repressor—allowing the operon to generate enzymes responsible for lactose metabolism.

Repressible operons, such as the bacterial trp operon, are usually “on” but will turn “off” in the presence of a small molecule called a corepressor (e.g., tryptophan). When tryptophan—an essential amino acid—is abundant, tryptophan binds and activates the trp repressor—preventing the operon from making enzymes required for its synthesis.

Operons may also be constitutively (i.e., continuously) active. For example, bacterial ribosomal RNA (rRNA) operons are always “on” because rRNAs are constantly required for translation.

Other regulatory elements contribute to an operon’s coordinated gene expression as well. Regulatory genes encode transcriptional activator or repressor proteins. The lacI and trpR genes, for example, encode for their respective operon’s repressors. Additional regulatory sequences, such as the lac operon’s catabolite activator protein (CAP) binding site, provide binding sites for other activators or repressors. For instance, when glucose is low, a signaling molecule (i.e., cyclic AMP) activates CAP—permitting it to bind the CAP site, recruit RNA polymerase, and initiate lac operon transcription.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter