Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

10.9: Cancer
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Cancer
 
Cette voix off est générée par ordinateur
TRANSCRIPTION
* La traduction du texte est générée par ordinateur

10.9: Cancer

Les cancers surviennent en raison de mutations dans les gènes impliqués dans la régulation de la division cellulaire, ce qui conduit à une prolifération cellulaire sans restriction. La science et la médecine modernes ont fait de grands progrès dans la compréhension et le traitement du cancer, y compris l’éradication du cancer chez certains patients. Cependant, il n’existe toujours pas de remède contre le cancer. Cela est en grande partie dû au fait que le cancer est un grand groupe de nombreuses maladies.

Les tumeurs peuvent avoir comme conséquence un cas où deux personnes ont les mêmes mutations dans un gène oncogène ou suppresseur de tumeur. Au début, les tumeurs peuvent être très semblables. Cependant, la division cellulaire incontrôlée entraîne de nouvelles mutations aléatoires. Comme les cellules tumorales continuent à se diviser, ils deviennent plus variés. En conséquence, les deux tumeurs se développeront à des taux différents et subiront l’angiogenèse et la métastase à des moments différents. Les deux cancers deviennent si distincts l’un de l’autre qu’ils ne réagiront pas de la même façon à la même thérapie. Cela démontre pourquoi même un type particulier de cancer, le cancer du sein, par exemple, peut être une myriade de cancers différents, chaque cas de maladie avec ses propriétés uniques, nécessitant potentiellement des approches de traitement uniques.

À ce titre, les nouvelles recherches sur le cancer et les essais cliniques se concentrent sur l’adaptation d’approches thérapeutiques spécifiquement pour le paysage génomique et moléculaire de chaque patient. C’est ce qu’on appelle la médecine personnalisée. D’autre part, la chimiothérapie et d’autres traitements généraux sont également encore nécessaires et utilisés avec succès pour traiter de nombreux cancers. Ces approches reposent sur la caractéristique de tous les cancers : la prolifération cellulaire anormale. La chimiothérapie cible les processus de division cellulaire, ralentissant la prolifération ou tuant les cellules à croissance rapide dans tout le corps. Une combinaison différente de médicaments cytotoxiques, des produits chimiques qui sont toxiques pour les cellules, sont utilisés selon le type et le stade du cancer.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

10.9: Cancer
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
TRANSCRIPT

10.9: Cancer

Cancers arise due to mutations in genes involved in the regulation of cell division, which leads to unrestricted cell proliferation. Modern science and medicine have made great strides in the understanding and treatment of cancer, including eradicating cancer in some patients. However, there is still no cure for cancer. This is largely due to the fact that cancer is a large group of many diseases.

Tumors may result in a case where two people have the same mutations in an oncogene or tumor suppressor gene. Initially, the tumors may be very similar. However, the uncontrolled cell division results in new random mutations. As the tumor cells continue to divide, they become more varied. As a result, the two tumors will grow at different rates and undergo angiogenesis and metastasis at different times. The two cancers become so distinct from one another that they will not respond in the same way to the same therapy. This demonstrates why even a particular type of cancer, breast cancer, for example, can be a myriad of different cancers, each disease case with its unique properties, potentially requiring unique treatment approaches.

As such, new cancer research and clinical trials focus on tailoring therapeutic approaches specifically for each patient’s genomic and molecular landscape. This is called personalized medicine. On the other hand, chemotherapy and other general treatments are also still needed and used successfully to treat many cancers. These approaches rely on the characteristic feature of all cancers: abnormal cell proliferation. Chemotherapy targets cell division processes, slowing down proliferation or killing fast-growing cells throughout the body. A different combination of cytotoxic drugs, chemicals that are toxic to cells, are used depending on the type and stage of the cancer.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter