Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.6: La synapse
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
The Synapse
 
TRANSCRIPTION

18.6: La synapse

Les neurones communiquent entre eux en transmettant leurs signaux électriques à d’autres neurones. Une synapse est l’endroit où deux neurones se rencontrent pour échanger des signaux. À la synapse, le neurone qui envoie le signal est appelé la cellule présynaptique, tandis que le neurone qui reçoit le message est appelé la cellule postsynaptique. Notez que la plupart des neurones peuvent être à la fois présynaptiques et postsynaptiques car ils transmettent et reçoivent des informations.

Une synapse électrique est un type de synapse dans lequel les cellules pré- et postsynaptiques sont physiquement couplées par des protéines qui s’appellent des jonctions communicantes. Cela permet de transmettre directement les signaux électriques à la cellule postsynaptique. L’une des caractéristiques de ces synapses est qu’elles peuvent transmettre des signaux électriques extrêmement rapidement, parfois en une fraction de milliseconde, et ne nécessitent aucun apport d’énergie. Ceci est souvent utile dans les circuits qui font partie des comportements de fuite, comme celui qu’on trouve chez les écrevisses qui couple la sensation d’un prédateur avec l’activation de la réponse motrice.

En revanche, la transmission aux synapses chimiques est un processus par étapes. Lorsqu’un potentiel d’action atteint l’extrémité du terminal axonal, les canaux calciques tensiodépendants s’ouvrent et permettent aux ions calcium d’entrer. Ces ions déclenchent la fusion des vésicules contenant des neurotransmetteurs avec la membrane cellulaire, libérant des neurotransmetteurs dans le petit espace entre les deux neurones, appelé la fente synaptique. Ces neurotransmetteurs, y compris le glutamate, le GABA, la dopamine et la sérotonine, sont alors disponibles pour se lier à des récepteurs spécifiques sur la membrane cellulaire postsynaptique. Après la liaison aux récepteurs, les neurotransmetteurs peuvent être recyclés, dégradés ou diffusés loin de la fente synaptique.

Les synapses chimiques prédominent dans le cerveau humain et, en raison du retard associé à la libération des neurotransmetteurs, ont des avantages par rapport aux synapses électriques. Tout d’abord, quelques ou plusieurs vésicules peuvent être libérées, entraînant une variété de réponses postsynaptiques. Deuxièmement, la liaison à différents récepteurs peut provoquer une augmentation ou une diminution du potentiel membranaire dans la cellule postsynaptique. En outre, la disponibilité des neurotransmetteurs dans la fente synaptique est régulée par le recyclage et la diffusion. De cette façon, les synapses chimiques réalisent une signalisation neuronale qui peut être fortement régulée et affinée.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.6: The Synapse
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
The Synapse
 

TRANSCRIPT

18.6: The Synapse

Neurons communicate with one another by passing on their electrical signals to other neurons. A synapse is the location where two neurons meet to exchange signals. At the synapse, the neuron that sends the signal is called the presynaptic cell, while the neuron that receives the message is called the postsynaptic cell. Note that most neurons can be both presynaptic and postsynaptic, as they both transmit and receive information.

An electrical synapse is one type of synapse in which the pre- and postsynaptic cells are physically coupled by proteins called gap junctions. This allows electrical signals to be directly transmitted to the postsynaptic cell. One feature of these synapses is that they can transmit electrical signals extremely quickly—sometimes at a fraction of a millisecond—and do not require any energy input. This is often useful in circuits that are part of escape behaviors, such as that found in the crayfish that couples the sensation of a predator with the activation of the motor response.

In contrast, transmission at chemical synapses is a stepwise process. When an action potential reaches the end of the axonal terminal, voltage-gated calcium channels open and allows calcium ions to enter. These ions trigger fusion of neurotransmitter-containing vesicles with the cellular membrane, releasing neurotransmitters into the small space between the two neurons, called the synaptic cleft. These neurotransmitters—including glutamate, GABA, dopamine, and serotonin—are then available to bind to specific receptors on the postsynaptic cell membrane. After binding to the receptors, neurotransmitters can be recycled, degraded, or diffuse away from the synaptic cleft.

Chemical synapses predominate the human brain and, due to the delay associated with neurotransmitter release, have advantages over electrical synapses. First, a few or many vesicles may be released, resulting in a variety of postsynaptic responses. Second, binding to different receptors may cause an increase or decrease membrane potential in the postsynaptic cell. Additionally, the availability of neurotransmitters in the synaptic cleft is regulated by recycling and diffusion. In this way, chemical synapses achieve neuronal signaling that can be highly regulated and fine-tuned.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter