Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.6: Die Synapse
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
The Synapse
 
PROTOKOLLE

18.6: Die Synapse

Neuronen kommunizieren miteinander, indem sie ihre elektrischen Signale an andere Neuronen weitergeben. Eine Synapse ist der Ort, an dem sich zwei Neuronen treffen, um Signale auszutauschen. An der Synapse wird das Neuron, welches das Signal sendet, als präsynaptische Zelle bezeichnet und das Neuron, welches die Nachricht empfängt, die postsynaptische Zelle bezeichnet. Man beachte, dass die meisten Neuronen sowohl präsynaptisch als auch postsynaptisch sein können, da sie sowohl Informationen senden und empfangen.

Eine elektrische Synapse ist ein Typ der Synapsen, bei dem die prä- und postsynaptischen Zellen durch Proteine, sogenannte Gap Junctions, physikalisch miteinander verbunden sind. Dadurch können elektrische Signale direkt an die postsynaptische Zelle übertragen werden. Eine Eigenschaft dieser Synapsen ist, dass sie elektrische Signale extrem schnell übertragen können, manchmal in einem Bruchteil einer Millisekunde und dazu keine Energiezufuhr benötigen. Dies ist oft nützlich in Netzwerken, die Teil des Fluchtverhaltens sind, wie zum Beispiel in Krebsen, wo die Wahrnehmung eines Raubtieres an die Aktivierung einer motorischen Reaktion gekoppelt ist.

Im Gegensatz dazu ist die Übertragung bei chemischen Synapsen ein schrittweiser Prozess. Wenn ein Aktionspotential das Ende des Axon-Terminus erreicht, öffnen sich spannungsgesteuerte Kalziumkanäle und lassen Kalzium-Ionen einströmen. Diese Ionen führen zu der Verschmelzung von Vesikeln, die Neurotransmitter enthalten, mit der Zellmembran. Dadurch werden die Neurotransmitter in dem kleinen Spalt zwischen den beiden Neuronen, dem so genannten synaptischen Spalt, freigesetzt. Diese Neurotransmitter wie Glutamat, GABA, Dopamin und Serotonin stehen dann zur Verfügung, um spezifische Rezeptoren an der postsynaptischen Zellmembran zu binden. Nach der Bindung der Rezeptoren werden die Neurotransmitter recycelt oder abgebaut oder diffundieren vom synaptischen Spalt weg.

Chemische Synapsen überwiegen im menschlichen Gehirn und haben aufgrund der mit der Neurotransmitterfreisetzung verbundenen Verzögerung Vorteile gegenüber elektrischen Synapsen. Erstens können einige oder viele Vesikel freigesetzt werden, was eine Vielzahl an postsynaptischen Reaktionen ermöglicht. Zweitens kann die Bindung an verschiedene Rezeptoren zu einer Erhöhung oder Verringerung des Membranpotentials in der postsynaptischen Zelle führen. Zusätzlich wird die Verfügbarkeit der Neurotransmitter im synaptischen Spalt durch Recycling und Diffusion reguliert. Auf diese Weise erreichen chemische Synapsen neuronale Signale, die hochgradig reguliert und fein abgestimmt werden können.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

18.6: The Synapse
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
The Synapse
 

TRANSCRIPT

18.6: The Synapse

Neurons communicate with one another by passing on their electrical signals to other neurons. A synapse is the location where two neurons meet to exchange signals. At the synapse, the neuron that sends the signal is called the presynaptic cell, while the neuron that receives the message is called the postsynaptic cell. Note that most neurons can be both presynaptic and postsynaptic, as they both transmit and receive information.

An electrical synapse is one type of synapse in which the pre- and postsynaptic cells are physically coupled by proteins called gap junctions. This allows electrical signals to be directly transmitted to the postsynaptic cell. One feature of these synapses is that they can transmit electrical signals extremely quickly—sometimes at a fraction of a millisecond—and do not require any energy input. This is often useful in circuits that are part of escape behaviors, such as that found in the crayfish that couples the sensation of a predator with the activation of the motor response.

In contrast, transmission at chemical synapses is a stepwise process. When an action potential reaches the end of the axonal terminal, voltage-gated calcium channels open and allows calcium ions to enter. These ions trigger fusion of neurotransmitter-containing vesicles with the cellular membrane, releasing neurotransmitters into the small space between the two neurons, called the synaptic cleft. These neurotransmitters—including glutamate, GABA, dopamine, and serotonin—are then available to bind to specific receptors on the postsynaptic cell membrane. After binding to the receptors, neurotransmitters can be recycled, degraded, or diffuse away from the synaptic cleft.

Chemical synapses predominate the human brain and, due to the delay associated with neurotransmitter release, have advantages over electrical synapses. First, a few or many vesicles may be released, resulting in a variety of postsynaptic responses. Second, binding to different receptors may cause an increase or decrease membrane potential in the postsynaptic cell. Additionally, the availability of neurotransmitters in the synaptic cleft is regulated by recycling and diffusion. In this way, chemical synapses achieve neuronal signaling that can be highly regulated and fine-tuned.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter