Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

7.12: Enzymhemmung
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Enzyme Inhibition
 
PROTOKOLLE

7.12: Enzymhemmung

Inhibitoren sind Moleküle, welche die Enzymaktivität durch die Bindung des Enzyms hemmen. In einer normal funktionierenden Zelle werden die Enzyme durch eine Vielzahl von Inhibitoren reguliert. Auch Medikamente und andere Toxine können Enzyme hemmen. Einige Inhibitoren binden an das aktive Zentrum des Enzyms, während andere die Enzymaktivität durch Bindung an andere Stellen der Proteinstruktur verhindern.

Kompetitive Inhibitoren besetzen das aktive Zentrum von Enzymen, wodurch diese nicht in der Lage sind, das Substrat aufzunehmen. Jedoch können ausreichend hohe Konzentrationen des Substrats den Inhibitor verdrängen. Daher verlangsamen kompetitive Inhibitoren die anfängliche Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit von Enzymen, aber beeinträchtigen nicht die maximale Geschwindigkeit von Enzyme. Ein Beispiel für einen kompetitiven Inhibitor ist das Medikament Disulfiram. Es wird zur Behandlung von chronischer Alkoholabhängigkeit eingesetzt. Bei der Einnahme von Alkohol wird dieser normalerweise in Acetaldehyd umgewandelt, welcher dann von der Acetaldehyd-Dehydrogenase in Acetyl-Coenzym A umgewandelt wird. Disulfiram bindet sich an die Acetaldehyd-Dehydrogenase und blockiert ihr aktives Zentrum, so dass das Enzym nicht mehr in der Lage ist, diese Umwandlung durchzuführen. Infolgedessen treten bei einem Patienten, der Disulfiram einnimmt, sofort katerähnliche Symptome wie Kopfschmerzen auf, was zu einem verringerten Alkoholkonsum führt.

Nicht-kompetitive Inhibitoren binden an verschiedene Regionen des Enzyms, die vom aktiven Zentrum entfernt sind. Man nennt diese Bereiche allosterische Regionen. Wenn diese durch Moleküle gebunden werden, wird die Form der aktiven Stelle so verändert, dass das Enzym eine geringere Affinität zum Substrat hat. Da nicht-kompetitive Inhibitoren das aktive Zentrum nicht besetzen, kann das Vorhandensein von zusätzlichem Substrat, die nicht-kompetitive Inhibition nicht überwinden und das Enzym kann seine maximale Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit nicht erreichen.

Eine kovalente Bindung zwischen einem Inhibitor und einem Enzym ist in der Regel irreversibel, wie bei einigen Toxinen. Die meisten regulatorischen Inhibitoren, die normalerweise in der Zelle aktiv sind, interagieren mit den Enzymen durch schwache Wechselwirkungen. Diese Art der Bindung ist reversibel und nützlich für die Regulierung von Stoffwechselprozessen. Die Erforschung neuer Moleküle zur kompetitiven und nicht-kompetitiven Hemmung von Enzymen, die das Zellwachstum bei Krebs regulieren, ist ein aktives Forschungsgebiet.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

7.12: Enzyme Inhibition
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
Enzyme Inhibition
 

TRANSCRIPT

7.12: Enzyme Inhibition

Inhibitors are molecules that reduce enzyme activity by binding to the enzyme. In a normally functioning cell, enzymes are regulated by a variety of inhibitors. Drugs and other toxins can also inhibit enzymes. Some inhibitors bind to the enzyme’s active site, while others inhibit enzymatic activity by binding to other sites on the protein structure.

Competitive inhibitors occupy the active site of enzymes, making them unable to accommodate the substrate. However, sufficiently high concentrations of the substrate can outcompete the inhibitor; as a result, competitive inhibitors slow an enzymes initial reaction rate but do not impact the enzyme’s maximum rate. One example of a competitive inhibitor is the drug disulfiram, used to treat chronic alcoholism. When alcohol is ingested, it is normally converted to acetaldehyde, which is then converted to acetyl coenzyme A by acetaldehyde dehydrogenase. Disulfiram binds to and occupies the active site of acetaldehyde dehydrogenase, making the enzyme unable to perform this conversion. As a result, a patient taking disulfiram immediately begins to experience hangover-like symptoms, such as headache, thereby decreasing alcohol consumption.

Noncompetitive inhibitors bind to distinct sites on the enzyme, away from the active site. These are called allosteric sites and when molecules bind to them, the shape of the active site is changed such that the enzyme has a lower affinity for the substrate. Because noncompetitive inhibitors do not occupy the active site, the presence of additional substrate is unable to overcome noncompetitive inhibition and the enzyme is unable to achieve its maximum reaction rate.

Covalent binding between an inhibitor and an enzyme is usually irreversible, as in the case of some toxins. Most regulatory inhibitors normally active in the cell interact with enzymes by weak interactions. This type of binding is reversible and useful for the regulation of metabolic processes. The exploration of new molecules to competitively and non-competitively inhibit enzymes regulating cell growth in cancer is an active area of research.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter