Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

33.2: Verhältnisse auf der frühen Erde
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Verhältnisse auf der frühen Erde
 
PROTOKOLLE

33.2: Verhältnisse auf der frühen Erde

Vor rund 4 Milliarden Jahren begannen die Ozeane der Erde zu kondensieren, während Vulkanausbrüche Stickstoff, Kohlendioxid, Methan, Ammoniak und Wasserstoff in die Uratmosphäre freisetzten. Allerdings waren zu diesem Zeitpunkt Organismen mit den Eigenschaften des Lebens noch nicht auf der Erde zu finden. Wissenschaftler führten Experimente durch um zu bestimmen wie sich Organismen entwickelten, die wachsen, sich vermehren und eine innere Umgebung erhalten konnten.

In den 1920er Jahren stellten die Wissenschaftler Oparin und Haldane die Hypothese auf, dass sich einfache biologische Verbindungen auf der frühen Erde gebildet haben könnten. Mehr als 30 Jahre später testeten Stanley Miller und Harold Urey an der Universität von Chicago diese Hypothese, indem sie die Bedingungen der frühen Erdatmosphäre und der Ozeane in einem Laborgerät simulierten. Mit Hilfe von Elektrizität als Energiequelle erzeugte das Miller-Urey-Experiment Aminosäuren und andere organische Moleküle und zeigte, dass die Umgebung der frühen Erde die Bildung biologischer Moleküle förderte. Neuere Experimente haben vergleichbare Ergebnisse erbracht und legen nahe, dass sich Aminosäuren in der Nähe von Gebieten mit vulkanischer Aktivität oder hydrothermalen Quellen im Ozean gebildet haben könnten.

Aminosäuren und kleine organische Moleküle können sich dann zu komplexeren Makromolekülen zusammengesetzt haben. Zum Beispiel führt das Tropfen von Aminosäuren oder Nukleotide in heißen Sand zu der Bildung von entsprechenden Polymere, Proteinen und Nukleinsäuren. Eine Klasse der Makromolekülen, die Lipide, könnte dann Vesikel gebildet haben und somit eine separate, innere Umgebung zur Verfügung gestellt haben. Diese Fähigkeit, das Innere vom Äußeren zu trennen, ist eine der wichtigsten Eigenschaften des Lebens. Ein weiteres Merkmal des Lebens ist der Besitz von genetischem Material. Die RNA stellte wahrscheinlich die erste vererbbare genetische Information dar. Spezialisierte Vesikel (Protozellen) enthielten wahrscheinlich RNA, die sich selbst replizieren konnte. Diese einfachen Protozellen konnten auch wachsen und sich entwickeln und damit die Voraussetzungen für die Entstehung des zellulärem Lebens der Erde schaffen.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

33.2: Conditions on Early Earth
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
TRANSCRIPT

33.2: Conditions on Early Earth

Around 4 billion years ago, oceans began to condense on earth while volcanic eruptions released nitrogen, carbon dioxide, methane, ammonia, and hydrogen into the primordial atmosphere. However, organisms with the characteristics of life were not initially present on earth. Scientists have used experimentation to determine how organisms evolved that could grow, reproduce, and maintain an internal environment.

In the 1920s, the scientists Oparin and Haldane proposed the idea that simple biological compounds could have formed on the early earth. More than 30 years later, Stanley Miller and Harold Urey at the University of Chicago tested this hypothesis by simulating the conditions of the early earth's atmosphere and oceans in a laboratory apparatus. Using electricity as an energy source, the Miller-Urey experiment generated amino acids and other organic molecules, showing that the environment of early earth was conducive to the formation of biological molecules. More recent experiments have yielded comparable results and suggest that amino acids may have formed near areas of volcanic activity or hydrothermal vents in the ocean.

Amino acids and small organic molecules may then have self-assembled to form more complex macromolecules. For instance, dripping amino acids or nucleotides into hot sand can result in the formation of the corresponding polymers, proteins, and nucleic acids, respectively. A class of macromolecules called lipids may have then formed vesicles providing a separate, internal environment. This ability to separate the inside from the outside is one of the key characteristics of life. Another characteristic of life is the possession of genetic material; RNA was likely the first heritable genetic information. Specialized vesicles, called protocells, probably contained RNA that could replicate itself. These simple protocells could also grow and evolve, setting the stage for the formation of cellular life on earth.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter