Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

34.4: Introdução às Plantas Com Sementes

JoVE Core

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content. You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Introduction to Seed Plants

34.4: Introduction to Seed Plants

34.4: Introdução às Plantas Com Sementes

Most plants are seed plants—characterized by seeds, pollen, and reduced gametophytes. Seed plants include gymnosperms and angiosperms.

Gymnosperms—cycads, ginkgo biloba, gnetophytes, and conifers—typically form cones. The pollen cones contain male gametophytes. The ovulate cones contain female gametophytes and form exposed seeds when fertilized.

Angiosperms, the most diverse and ubiquitous group of land plants, form flowers, and fruit. Like the cones of gymnosperms, the flowers and fruit of angiosperms enable sexual reproduction.

Flowers facilitate pollen dispersal. The fertile flower structures—stamens and carpels—contain male and female gametophytes, respectively. Fruits facilitate seed dispersal, often forming after flowers have released pollen. As seeds develop from a flower’s fertilized ovules, the ovary wall thickens, forming a fruit containing seeds.

Angiosperms were historically categorized as monocots or dicots based on their number of cotyledons—or seed leaves. However, based on genetic evidence, most species classically considered dicots are now called eudicots. Legumes (e.g., beans) and most well-known flowering trees (e.g., oaks) are eudicots.

The other former dicots belong to one of four small lineages. Three of these—Amborella, water lilies, and star anise and its relatives—are considered basal angiosperms due to their early divergence from ancestral angiosperms. The fourth group—the magnoliids—contains thousands of species, including magnolias.

Examples of monocots include orchids, grasses, palms, corn, rice, and wheat. Aside from cotyledon number, other characteristics distinguish monocots from eudicots. Leaf veins are typically parallel in monocots and netlike in eudicots. In stems, the vascular tissue is often scattered in monocots and ring-like in eudicots. Unlike eudicots, monocots generally lack a primary root. Pollen grains typically have one opening in monocots and three openings in eudicots. Finally, flower organs are often found in multiples of three in monocots and multiples of four or five in eudicots.

A maioria das plantas são plantas com sementes—caracterizadas por sementes, pólen, e gametófitos reduzidos. As plantas com sementes incluem gimnospérmicas e angiospérmicas.

As gimnospérmicas—cicadófitas, ginkgo biloba, gnetófitas e coníferas—normalmente formam cones. Os cones de pólen contêm gametófitos masculinos. Os cones dos óvulos contêm gametófitos fêmeas e formam sementes expostas quando fertilizados.

As angiospérmicas, o mais diverso e omnipresente grupo de plantas terrestres, formam flores e frutos. Como os cones das gimnospérmicas, as flores e os frutos das angiospérmicas permitem a reprodução sexual.

As flores facilitam a dispersão do pólen. As estruturas férteis das flores—estames e carpelos—contêm gametófitos masculinos e femininos, respectivamente. Os frutos facilitam a dispersão de sementes, muitas vezes formando-se depois de as flores libertarem pólen. À medida que as sementes se desenvolvem a partir dos óvulos fertilizados de uma flor, a parede do ovário engrossa, formando um fruto contendo sementes.

As angiospérmicas foram historicamente categorizadas como monocotiledóneas ou dicotiledóneas com base no seu número de cotilédones—ou folhas de sementes. No entanto, com base em evidências genéticas, a maioria das espécies classicamente consideradas dicotiledóneas são agora chamadas de eucotiledóneas. As leguminosas (por exemplo, feijões) e as árvores com flor mais conhecidas (por exemplo, carvalhos) são eucotiledóneas.

As outras dicotiledóneas antigas pertencem a uma de quatro pequenas linhagens. Três delas, Amborella, nenúfares e anis estrelado e os seus parentes, são considerados angiospérmicas basais devido à sua divergência precoce das angiospérmicas ancestrais. O quarto grupo—as magnoliídeas—contém milhares de espécies, incluindo magnólias.

Exemplos de monocotiledóneas incluem orquídeas, gramíneas, palmeiras, milho, arroz e trigo. Além do número de cotilédones, outras características distinguem monocotiledóneas de eucotiledóneas. As veias de folhas são tipicamente paralelas em monocotiledóneas e em forma de rede em eucotiledóneas. Nos caules, o tecido vascular é frequentemente disperso em monocotiledóneas e anelado em eucotiledóneas. Ao contrário das eucotiledóneas, as monocotiledóneas geralmente não têm uma raiz primária. Os grãos de pólen normalmente têm uma abertura em monocotiledóneas e três aberturas em eucotiledóneas. Por fim, os órgãos florais são frequentemente encontrados em múltiplos de três em monocotiledóneas e múltiplos de quatro ou cinco em eucotiledóneas.

Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter