Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

35.5: Reproduction asexuée
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Reproduction asexuée
 
TRANSCRIPTION

35.5: Reproduction asexuée

La reproduction asexuée permet aux plantes de se reproduire sans faire pousser de fleurs, sans attirer de pollinisateurs et sans disperser de graines. Les descendants sont génétiquement identiques au parent et produits sans fusion de gamètes mâles et femelles.

La reproduction végétative est un type courant de reproduction asexuée, dans lequel des fragments détachés, tels que des tiges, des racines ou des feuilles, provenant de plantes individuelles se développent en organismes complets. Les pissenlits du genre Taraxacum utilisent une méthode de reproduction asexuée appelée apomixie, qui produit des graines sans pollinisation ni fécondation.

Les phytogénéticiens utilisent également des méthodes artificielles de reproduction asexuée, y compris la coupe, la greffe, la superposition et la micropropagation.

Certaines plantes peuvent être multipliées en plaçant simplement des boutures de tige contenant des nœuds dans un sol humide et en les laissant s'enraciner.

La greffe peut être utilisée pour combiner les traits souhaitables de différentes plantes. Un segment de tige (le scion) provenant d'une plante est greffé, ou attaché, à une section de racine (la souche) provenant d'une autre plante. Au fil du temps, les systèmes vasculaires des deux plantes fusionnent, formant une greffe. Le scion grandit, produisant de nouvelles pousses et éventuellement des fleurs et des fruits. La greffe est généralement utilisée pour produire différentes variétés de raisins, de roses et d’agrumes, parmi d’autres espèces.

La superposition consiste à plier une jeune tige d’une plante et à recouvrir la tige de terre. Des hormones d’enracinement peuvent également être appliquées. Lorsque les racines apparaissent, la nouvelle plante peut être transplantée dans une autre zone.

La micropropagation produit rapidement plusieurs plantes à partir d’une seule plante en utilisant des méthodes de culture des tissus végétaux. Ces techniques sont utiles pour multiplier des espèces rares ou en voie de disparition qui sont difficiles à cultiver dans des conditions naturelles.

Bien que la reproduction asexuée confère plusieurs avantages, les espèces à reproduction strictement asexuée courent un risque accru d'extinction. La reproduction asexuée peut réduire la variabilité génétique, limitant la capacité d’un organisme à s’adapter aux conditions environnementales changeantes.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

35.5: Asexual Reproduction
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial

TRANSCRIPT

35.5: Asexual Reproduction

Asexual reproduction allows plants to reproduce without growing flowers, attracting pollinators, or dispersing seeds. Offspring are genetically identical to the parent and produced without the fusion of male and female gametes.

Vegetative reproduction is a common type of asexual reproduction, in which detached fragments—such as stems, roots, or leaves—from individual plants develop into complete organisms. Dandelions of the Taraxacum genus use a method of asexual reproduction called apomixis, which produces seeds without pollination or fertilization.

Plant breeders also use artificial methods of asexual reproduction—including cutting, grafting, layering, and micropropagation.

Some plants can be propagated by merely placing stem cuttings that contain nodes into moist soil and allowing them to root.

Grafting can be used to combine the desirable traits of different plants. A stem segment (the scion) from one plant is grafted, or attached, to a root section (the stock) from another plant. Over time, the vascular systems of the two plants fuse, forming a graft. The scion grows, producing new shoots and eventually flowers and fruit. Grafting is typically used to produce different varieties of grapes, roses, and citrus trees, among other species.

Layering involves bending a young stem of a plant and covering the stem with soil. Rooting hormones may also be applied. When roots appear, the new plant can be transplanted to a different area.

Micropropagation quickly produces several plants from a single plant using plant tissue culture methods. These techniques are useful for propagating rare or endangered species that are difficult to grow in natural conditions.

While asexual reproduction confers several advantages, strictly asexually-reproducing species are at an increased risk of extinction. Asexual reproduction can reduce genetic variability, limiting an organism’s ability to adapt to changing environmental conditions.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter