Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.6: Reaktionen auf Hitze- und Kältestress
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Reaktionen auf Hitze- und Kältestress
 
PROTOKOLLE

36.6: Reaktionen auf Hitze- und Kältestress

Jeder Organismus hat einen optimalen Temperaturbereich, in dem gesundes Wachstum und physiologische Funktion auftreten können. An den äußersten Enden dieses Bereichs wird es eine minimale und maximale Temperatur geben, die biologische Prozesse unterbricht.

Wenn die Dynamik der Umwelt für eine bestimmte Art außerhalb der optimalen Grenze fällt, kommt es zu Veränderungen im Stoffwechsel und Funktionen – und das wird als Stress definiert. Pflanzen reagieren auf Stress, indem sie Veränderungen in der Genexpression einleiten - was zu Anpassungen des Pflanzenstoffwechsels und der Entwicklung führt, um einen Zustand der Homöostase zu erreichen.

Pflanzen halten Membranfluidität bei Temperaturschwankungen aufrecht

Zellmembranen in Pflanzen sind in der Regel eine der ersten Strukturen, die von einer Änderung der Umgebungstemperatur betroffen sind. Diese Membranen bestehen in erster Linie aus Phospholipiden, Cholesterin und Proteinen, wobei der Lipidanteil lange Ketten von ungesättigten oder gesättigten Fettsäuren umfasst. Eine der Hauptstrategien, die Pflanzen bei einer Temperaturänderung durchführen können, ist die Veränderung der Lipidkomponenten ihrer Membranen. In der Regel verringern Pflanzen die Menge der ungesättigten Membranlipide bei hohen Temperaturen und erhöhen sie bei niedrigen Temperaturen, wodurch die Fließfähigkeit der Membran erhalten bleibt.

Hitzeschock-Proteine

Die Exposition von Pflanzengewebe oder Zellen gegenüber plötzlichem Stress durch hohe Temperaturen führt zu einer vorübergehenden Expression von Hitzeschockproteinen (HSPs). Sie erfüllen wesentliche physiologische Funktionen als molekulare Chaperone, wobei sie die Aggregation denaturierter Proteine verhindern oder die Renaturierung aggregierter Proteinmoleküle fördern.

Stomatäre Leitfähigkeit

Temperaturerhöhungen über dem typischen durchschnittlichen Bereich wirken sich auf die fotosynthetische Aktivität und die stomatäre Physiologie der Pflanzen aus. Wenn die Temperatur steigt, schließen die Pflanzen ihre Stomata, um die Stomataleitfähigkeit und den Wasserverlust durch Transpiration zu reduzieren.

Gelöste Stoffe akkumulieren in Pflanzenzellen

Extrem niedrige Temperaturen können die Wasseraufnahme der Pflanzen aufgrund des geringen Wasserpotenzials reduzieren, was zu Austrocknung führt. Viele Pflanzen regulieren ihr osmotisches Potential und halten ihren Wassergehalt durch die Ansammlung von gelösten Stoffen wie Zucker – Saccharose, Glukose und Fruktose in ihren Zellen stabil. Diese Ansammlung der gelösten Stoffe kann auch das Einfrieren des Wassers im Gewebe verzögern, da der Gefrierpunkt verringert wird.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.6: Responses to Heat and Cold Stress
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

36.6: Responses to Heat and Cold Stress

Every organism has an optimum temperature range within which healthy growth and physiological functioning can occur. At the ends of this range, there will be a minimum and maximum temperature that interrupt biological processes.

When the environmental dynamics fall out of the optimal limit for a given species, changes in metabolism and functioning occur – and this is defined as stress. Plants respond to stress by initiating changes in gene expression - leading to adjustments in plant metabolism and development aimed at attaining a state of homeostasis.

Plants maintain membrane fluidity during temperature fluctuations

Cell membranes in plants are generally one of the first structures that are affected by a change in ambient temperature. These membranes primarily constitute phospholipids, cholesterol, and proteins, with the lipid portion comprising long chains of unsaturated or saturated fatty acids. One of the primary strategies plants can adopt under temperature change is to alter the lipid component of their membranes. Typically, plants will decrease the degree of unsaturation of membrane lipids under high temperature, and increase it under low temperature, maintaining the fluidity of the membrane.

Heat Shock Proteins

The exposure of plant tissue or cells to sudden high-temperature stress results in transient expression of heat-shock proteins (HSPs). They perform essential physiological functions as molecular chaperones, prevent the aggregation of denatured proteins, or promote the renaturation of aggregated protein molecules.

Stomatal conductance

Increases in temperature above the typical average range impacts upon the photosynthetic activity and stomatal physiology of plants. As temperature rises, plants will close their stomata to reduce stomatal conductance and water-loss due to transpiration.

Solute accumulation within plant cells

Extremely low temperatures can reduce water absorption by plants due to low water potential, leading to dehydration. Many plants regulate their osmotic potential and maintain water content through the accumulation of solutes like sugars – sucrose, glucose, and fructose, within their cells. This accumulation of solutes can also delay water freezing in the tissue by decreasing the freezing point.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter