Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.6: Réponse au stress dû à la chaleur ou au froid
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Responses to Heat and Cold Stress
 
TRANSCRIPTION

36.6: Réponse au stress dû à la chaleur ou au froid

Chaque organisme a une plage de température optimale dans laquelle une croissance saine et un fonctionnement physiologique peuvent se produire. Aux extrémités de cette plage, il y a une température minimale et maximale qui interrompt les processus biologiques.

Lorsque la dynamique environnementale sort de la limite optimale pour une espèce donnée, il se produit des changements dans le métabolisme et le fonctionnement ; et cela est défini comme un stress. Les plantes réagissent au stress en initiant des changements dans l’expression des gènes, conduisant à des ajustements dans le métabolisme et le développement des plantes visant à atteindre un état d’homéostasie.

Les plantes maintiennent la fluidité de la membrane pendant les fluctuations de température

Les membranes cellulaires des plantes sont généralement l’une des premières structures qui sont affectées par une variation de la température ambiante. Ces membranes se composent principalement de phospholipides, de cholestérol et de protéines, avec la portion lipidique comprenant de longues chaînes d’acides gras insaturés ou saturés. L’une des principales stratégies que les plantes peuvent adopter en fonction du changement de température est de modifier la composante lipidique de leurs membranes. Typiquement, les plantes diminuent le degré d’insaturation des lipides membranaires à une température élevée et l’augmentent à basse température, maintenant la fluidité de la membrane.

Protéines de choc thermique

L’exposition des tissus végétaux ou des cellules au stress soudain d’une température élevée entraîne une expression transitoire des protéines de choc thermique (HSP). Elles remplissent des fonctions physiologiques essentielles en tant que chaperons moléculaires, empêchent l’agrégation des protéines dénaturées, ou favorisent la renaturation des molécules de protéines agrégées.

Conductance stomatique

L’augmentation de la température au-dessus de la plage moyenne caractéristique a des répercussions sur l’activité photosynthétique et la physiologie stomatique des plantes. À mesure que la température augmente, les plantes ferment leurs stomates pour réduire la conductance stomatique et la perte d’eau due à la transpiration.

Accumulation de solutés dans les cellules végétales

Des températures extrêmement basses peuvent réduire l’absorption de l’eau par les plantes en raison d’un faible potentiel hydrique, ce qui entraîne une déshydratation. De nombreuses plantes régulent leur potentiel osmotique et maintiennent leur teneur en eau grâce à l’accumulation de solutés comme les sucres saccharose, glucose et fructose, dans leurs cellules. Cette accumulation de solutés peut également retarder le gel de l’eau dans le tissu en diminuant le point de congélation.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

36.6: Responses to Heat and Cold Stress
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's JoVE Core collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 
Start Free Trial
TRANSCRIPT

36.6: Responses to Heat and Cold Stress

Every organism has an optimum temperature range within which healthy growth and physiological functioning can occur. At the ends of this range, there will be a minimum and maximum temperature that interrupt biological processes.

When the environmental dynamics fall out of the optimal limit for a given species, changes in metabolism and functioning occur – and this is defined as stress. Plants respond to stress by initiating changes in gene expression - leading to adjustments in plant metabolism and development aimed at attaining a state of homeostasis.

Plants maintain membrane fluidity during temperature fluctuations

Cell membranes in plants are generally one of the first structures that are affected by a change in ambient temperature. These membranes primarily constitute phospholipids, cholesterol, and proteins, with the lipid portion comprising long chains of unsaturated or saturated fatty acids. One of the primary strategies plants can adopt under temperature change is to alter the lipid component of their membranes. Typically, plants will decrease the degree of unsaturation of membrane lipids under high temperature, and increase it under low temperature, maintaining the fluidity of the membrane.

Heat Shock Proteins

The exposure of plant tissue or cells to sudden high-temperature stress results in transient expression of heat-shock proteins (HSPs). They perform essential physiological functions as molecular chaperones, prevent the aggregation of denatured proteins, or promote the renaturation of aggregated protein molecules.

Stomatal conductance

Increases in temperature above the typical average range impacts upon the photosynthetic activity and stomatal physiology of plants. As temperature rises, plants will close their stomata to reduce stomatal conductance and water-loss due to transpiration.

Solute accumulation within plant cells

Extremely low temperatures can reduce water absorption by plants due to low water potential, leading to dehydration. Many plants regulate their osmotic potential and maintain water content through the accumulation of solutes like sugars – sucrose, glucose, and fructose, within their cells. This accumulation of solutes can also delay water freezing in the tissue by decreasing the freezing point.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter