Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

33.5: Les preuves de l'évolution
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Les preuves de l'évolution
 
TRANSCRIPTION

33.5: Les preuves de l'évolution

Les variations génétiques qui s’accumulent au sein des populations au fil des générations donnent lieu à une évolution biologique. Les changements évolutifs peuvent entraîner la formation de nouvelles variétés et de nouvelles espèces entières. Ces changements sont responsables des formes de vie diverses qui habitent la planète. Les preuves de l’évolution suggèrent que tous les organismes vivants descendent d’ancêtres communs.

La collection de fossiles dans les roches sédimentaires fournit un enregistrement de l’ascendance commune et illustre souvent l’histoire de l’évolution. Les archives fossiles montrent des preuves convaincantes de l’évolution des niveaux de complexité dans les formes de vie, au fil des générations. Les restes fossiles de formes de vie plus complexes se trouvent plus haut dans les couches rocheuses, tandis que les restes plus simples se trouvent dans les couches inférieures, reflétant la succession de couches rocheuses déposées au fil du temps.

Une uniformité remarquable existe dans la nature, l’assemblage et l’utilisation des composantes moléculaires de base de tous les organismes vivants. Le degré de similitude dans l’information génétique stockée dans l’ADN, les molécules biologiques, les voies métaboliques, et d’autres processus cellulaires et biochimiques pointent vers la continuité génétique et l’ascendance commune des organismes vivants.

Plusieurs ressemblances frappantes existent également dans l’organisation anatomique des diverses formes de vie. Par exemple, les homologies dans le membre antérieur des vertébrés fournissent des preuves de l’évolution. Les preuves de similitude structurale soutiennent l’héritage des schémas de structure squelettique à partir d’un ancêtre commun qui a été modifié au fur et à mesure que les organismes évoluaient et se diversifiaient tout en s’adaptant aux exigences spécifiques de leur environnement.

La biogéographie ou la répartition géographique des espèces fournit également des liens avec les modèles de l’évolution passée. Les caractéristiques géographiques comme les océans, les montagnes, les rivières et les îles servent de barrières aux populations, ce qui leur permet d’évoluer séparément les unes des autres. Par conséquent, plusieurs zones terrestres et groupes d’îles isolés ont des plantes et des communautés animales distinctes, ce qui résulte de l’évolution isolée au cours de millions d’années. Pourtant, des similitudes surprenantes entre les espèces subsistent même lorsqu’elles sont séparées par certaines de ces barrières infranchissables.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

33.5: The Evidence for Evolution
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

JoVE Core
Biology
Education
The Evidence for Evolution
 

TRANSCRIPT

33.5: The Evidence for Evolution

Genetic variations accumulating within populations over generations give rise to biological evolution. Evolutionary changes can result in the formation of novel varieties and entire new species. These changes are responsible for the diverse forms of life inhabiting the planet. The evidence for evolution suggests that all living organisms descended from common ancestors.

The collection of fossils within sedimentary rocks give a record of common ancestry and often depicts the history of evolution. The fossil record displays compelling evidence of the evolving levels of complexity in life forms, over generations. Fossil remains of more complex life forms are found higher up in the rock layers, while simpler ones found in lower ones, reflecting the succession of rock layers laid down over time.

A remarkable uniformity exists in the nature, assembly, and utilization of the basic molecular components of all living organisms. The degree of similarity in the genetic information stored within the DNA, biomolecules, metabolic pathways, and other cellular and biochemical processes point toward the genetic continuity and common ancestry of living organisms.

Several striking resemblances also exist in the anatomical organization of the diverse life forms. For example, homologies in the forelimb of vertebrates provide evidence for evolution. Evidence of structural similarity supports the inheritance of skeletal structure plans from a common ancestor that has been modified as organisms evolved and diversified while adapting to specific demands of their environments.

The biogeography or the geographic distribution of species also provides links to the patterns of past evolution. The geographical features like oceans, mountains, rivers, and islands act as barriers to populations allowing them to evolve separately from one another. As a result, several isolated land areas and island groups have distinct plants and animal communities—a result of the evolution in isolation through millions of years. Yet surprising similarities between species remain even when separated by some of these uncrossable barriers.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter