Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR)

Biochemistry

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's Chemistry collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

Welcome!

Enter your email below to get your free 1 hour trial to JoVE!





By clicking "Submit", you agree to our policies.

 

Summary

Oberflächenplasmonenresonanz (SPR) ist das zugrunde liegende optische Phänomen hinter markierungsfreie Biosensoren, die molekulare Affinität, Kinetik, Spezifität und Konzentration von Biomolekülen zu bewerten. In SPR auftreten biomolekulare Wechselwirkungen auf eines Biosensors gemacht der eine dünne Metallschicht auf ein Prisma. Echtzeit-Interaktionen von Biomolekülen lässt sich durch Messung der Veränderungen des Lichts reflektiert die Unterseite der Metal

Dieses Video beschreibt die grundlegenden Konzepte der SPR und wie ist es zur Analyse und Visualisierung von biomolekularen Wechselwirkungen. Es folgt eine Probenvorbereitung und experimentelles Protokoll für die Untersuchung von verbindlichen Tarife mit Spr Im Anwendungsabschnitt, SPR Bildgebung, lokalisierte SPR und Quantenpunkt werden erforscht, verbesserte SPR.

Surface Plasmon Resonanz oder SPR, ist das zugrunde liegende Phänomen hinter bestimmten markierungsfreie Biosensoren für die Bewertung der Bindung und Adsorption Interaktionen von Biomolekülen. Bindung-Assays, die erfordern, Kennzeichnung, wie ELISA, können ein zeitaufwändiger Prozess sein und können die Funktionalität des Analyten verändern. In SPR auftreten biomolekulare Wechselwirkungen auf einen speziellen Sensor gemacht aus einer dünnen Schicht aus Metall auf der einen Seite eines Prismas. Durch die Überwachung der Veränderungen des Lichts reflektiert Weg von der Unterseite des Metalls, SPR Instrumente visualisieren diese Interaktionen in Echtzeit, ohne den Einsatz von Etiketten. Dieses Video führt die Grundsätze der SPR, ein allgemeines Verfahren für die SPR Bildgebung und einige Anwendungen in der Biochemie.

an SPR Sensor ist in der Regel aus einer dünnen Schicht von Edelmetall auf das Gesicht eines Prismas. Um die Messwerte des Sensors zu nehmen, wird Licht aus der Prisma-Metall-Schnittstelle in einem Photodetektor reflektiert. Das reflektierte Licht haben einen hohe Intensität außer in einem bestimmten Winkel, im Zusammenhang mit der elektronischen Eigenschaften der Metalloberfläche, bekannt als die " Oberflächen Plasmon Resonanz Winkel ".

Wie Moleküle an der Oberfläche zu binden, ändern die elektronischen Eigenschaften des Metalls, das passt wiederum des Winkels. Als neue Proteine zu befestigen, verschiebt bilden komplexe, die Winkel weiter. Durch Messung der relative Veränderungen in der SPR-Winkel, wie diese Interaktionen können in Echtzeit überwacht werden.

Eine andere Technik namens lokalisierte, oder " L " SPR, Metall-Nanopartikeln als die Sensorfläche verwendet. Die Eigenschaften, die den SPR-Winkel zu beeinflussen sind stark lokalisiert zu jeder Nanopartikel, die Sensibilität und Signal Auflösung verbessert.

Bei der Untersuchung von bindender Wechselwirkungen mit Standard SPR, der Sensor ist in der Regel in einer Plattform montiert, die der Boden eine Messzelle im Instrument wird. Die Biomoleküle von Interesse sind durch die Durchflusszelle von Pufferlösung durchgeführt. Die Sensorfläche ist oft zunächst mit einem Substrat beschichtet, die eine hohe Affinität für das Metall hat. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass eine erhebliche Menge an Liganden, die wiederum mit den Analyten von Interesse verbindet, auf den Sensor immobilisiert werden wird und verringert die Wahrscheinlichkeit, die während des Verfahrens die Liganden distanzieren wird.

Einmal der Ligand immobilisiert auf dem Sensor ist, der Analyten fließt über den Sensor im Puffer. Durch die Überwachung der Änderung in der SPR-Winkel im Laufe der Zeit wie der Analyten an den Liganden bindet, die Bindung und andere kinetische Informationen berechnet werden können.

Die Reflexion Daten können auch verwendet werden für SPR Bildgebung oder SPRi, durch das reflektierte Licht auf einer CCD-Detektor zu lenken. Dadurch entsteht ein kontrastreiches, hochauflösendes Bild der gesamte Sensorfläche. Mit SPR und die damit verbundenen Techniken, Fragen über molekulare Affinität, Kinetik, Spezifität und Konzentration beantwortet werden können.

Nun, dass Sie verstehen, was wird gemessen in einem Experiment SPR, lassen Sie ' s Blick auf ein Verfahren zur Untersuchung von verbindlichen Preise.

vor Beginn der Prozedur, den Betrieb und die Probe Puffer bereit sein muss. Die laufenden Puffer wird verwendet, um die Liganden auf den Sensor zu hinterlegen und dem Probenpuffer wird verwendet, um den Analyten zu hinterlegen. Der Sensor-Chip ist sorgfältig gereinigt und in einer Hülle geladen. Dann befindet sich das Gerät in das Gerät, wo wird es am Ende der Messzelle. Die Gerätesoftware wird für das Experiment und die anschließende Analyse eingerichtet. Bei Bedarf wird die Sensorfläche mit einem Substrat, die Liganden erfassen grundiert. Die Liganden ist floss über die Sensorfläche im laufenden Puffer, wo sie durch das Substrat auf die Sensoroberfläche erfasst.

Ist der Analyt in der Probenpuffer durch die Durchflusszelle führen dann wo es selektiv an der immobilisierten Liganden bindet. Die Reflexion ist geplottet und gegenüber Kontrollen Geschwindigkeitskonstanten und andere Reaktionskinetik-Daten für die untersuchten Reaktion bestimmen.

nun, dass Sie verstehen, wie ein SPR-Experiment durchgeführt wird, lassen Sie ' s Blick auf einigen andere Anwendungen in der Biochemie SPR.

Hier, SPR Bildgebung wurde verwendet, um Proteine mit einer Reihe von elf Rezeptoren auf einen Sensor. 3D Grafiken der Reflektivität im Vergleich zur Zeit bewerten und Rezeptor Konzentration aus den Daten der Reflektivität für jedes Protein vorbereitet wurden. Diese " Profile " sind charakteristisch für jedes Protein, und könnte somit nachträglich für Proteinidentifizierung eingesetzt werden.

In diesem Experiment wurden Zelle Sekret untersucht, mit einem maßgeschneiderten LSPR Sensor. Der Sensor war auch kompatibel mit SPRi und Fluoreszenz-Mikroskopie. Nach Hinterlegung der Zelle auf dem Sensor, die Interaktion der Zelle Sekrete mit der Nanopartikel-Array mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung gemessen werden kann.

Hier, die Nutzung der Quantenpunkte, nanoskaligen Halbleitern als SPR Signal Erweiterung Agent gemischt mit den Analyten untersucht wurde. Dies verbessert " Nano-SPRi " Methode war im Vergleich zu Proben von standard SPRi und der ELISA-Methode. Die Nano-SPRi-Methode verbessert die Empfindlichkeit und die Nachweisgrenze und trotzdem weniger zeitaufwändig als der ELISA-Methode.

Sie ' Ve beobachtete, wie Jupiter ' s-video auf Oberflächenplasmonenresonanz. Dieses Phänomen wird zum Monitor und Bild biomolekularer Wechselwirkungen ohne den Einsatz von Etiketten verwendet. Dieses Video eingeführt, die Grundsätze der SPR, ein typisches Protokoll für die Durchführung ein SPR-Experiment und ein paar Anwendungen von SPR in Biochemie.

Vielen Dank für das Ansehen von!

Cite this Video

JoVE Science Education Database. Grundlagen der Biochemie. Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR). JoVE, Cambridge, MA, (2017).

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this article.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

RECOMMEND JoVE

Applications

Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR)

Biochemistry

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's Chemistry collection to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

Welcome!

Enter your email below to get your free 1 hour trial to JoVE!





By clicking "Submit", you agree to our policies.

 

Summary

Surface plasmon resonance (SPR) is the underlying optical phenomenon behind label-free biosensors to evaluate the molecular affinity, kinetics, specificity, and concentration of biomolecules. In SPR, biomolecular interactions occur on a biosensor made of a thin layer of metal on a prism. Real-time interactions of biomolecules can be monitored by measuring the changes of light reflected off the underside of the metal.

This video describes the basic concepts of SPR and how it is used to analyze and visualize biomolecular interactions. This is followed by a sample preparation and experimental protocol for investigating binding rates using SPR. In the applications section, SPR imaging, localized SPR, and quantum dot enhanced SPR are explored.

Surface plasmon resonance, or SPR, is the underlying phenomenon behind certain label-free biosensors for evaluating binding and adsorption interactions of biomolecules. Binding assays that require labeling, such as ELISA, can be a time-consuming process, and may alter the functionality of the analyte. In SPR, biomolecular interactions occur on a special sensor made of a thin layer of metal on one face of a prism. By monitoring the changes in light reflected off of the underside of the metal, SPR instruments visualize these interactions in real-time without the use of labels. This video will introduce the principles of SPR, a general procedure for SPR imaging, and some applications of in biochemistry.

An SPR sensor is usually made of a thin layer of a noble metal atop the face of a prism. To take readings from the sensor, light is reflected off of the prism-metal interface into a photodetector. The reflected light will have a high intensity except at a certain angle, related to the electronic properties of the metal surface, known as the "surface plasmon resonance angle".

As molecules bind to the surface, the electronic properties of the metal change, which in turn adjusts the angle. As new proteins attach, forming complexes, the angle will shift further. By measuring relative changes in the SPR angle, interactions like these can be monitored in real-time.

Another technique called localized, or "L"SPR, uses metal nanoparticles as the sensor surface. The properties that affect the SPR angle are highly localized to each nanoparticle, which improves sensitivity and signal resolution.

When investigating binding interactions with standard SPR, the sensor is generally mounted in a platform that becomes the floor of a flow cell in the instrument. The biomolecules of interest are carried through the flow cell by buffer solution. The sensor surface is often first coated with a substrate that has a high affinity for the metal. This ensures that a significant amount of ligand, which in turn binds to the analyte of interest, will be immobilized onto the sensor and reduces the likelihood that the ligand will dissociate during the procedure.

Once the ligand is immobilized on the sensor, the analyte is flowed over the sensor in buffer. By monitoring the change in the SPR angle over time as the analyte binds to the ligand, the binding rate and other kinetic information can be calculated.

The reflectance data can also be used for SPR imaging, or SPRi, by directing the reflected light to a CCD detector. This produces a high-contrast, high-resolution image of the entire sensor surface. Using SPR and the related techniques, questions can be answered about molecular affinity, kinetics, specificity, and concentration.

Now that you understand what is being measured in an SPR experiment, let's look at a procedure for investigating binding rates.

Before beginning the procedure, the running and sample buffers must be prepared. The running buffer is used to deposit the ligand onto the sensor, and the sample buffer is used to deposit the analyte. The sensor chip is carefully cleaned and loaded into a sheath. Then, the device is placed into the instrument, where it becomes the bottom of the flow cell. The instrument software is set up for the experiment and subsequent analysis. If necessary, the sensor surface is primed with a substrate to capture the ligand. The ligand is flowed over the sensor surface in the running buffer, where it is captured by the substrate on the sensor surface.

Then, the analyte in the sample buffer is run through the flow cell, where it selectively binds to the immobilized ligand. The change in reflectance is plotted and compared against controls to determine rate constants and other reaction kinetics data for the investigated reaction.

Now that you understand how an SPR experiment is performed, let's look at a few other applications of SPR in biochemistry.

Here, SPR imaging was used to evaluate proteins with an array of eleven receptors on a sensor. 3D graphs of reflectivity versus time and receptor concentration were prepared from the reflectivity data for each protein. These "profiles" are characteristic to each protein, and thus could subsequently be used for protein identification.

In this experiment, cell secretions were studied using a custom-made LSPR sensor. The sensor was also compatible with SPRi and fluorescence microscopy. Upon depositing the cell on the sensor, the interaction of cell secretions with the nanoparticle array could be measured with high spatial resolution.

Here, the use of quantum dots, nanoscale semiconductors, as an SPR signal enhancement agent mixed with the analyte was investigated. This enhanced "nano-SPRi" method was compared to assays by standard SPRi and the ELISA method. The nano-SPRi method significantly improved the sensitivity and limit of detection while still being less time-consuming than the ELISA method.

You've just watched JoVE's video on surface plasmon resonance. This phenomenon is used to monitor and image biomolecular interactions without the use of labels. This video introduced the principles of SPR, a typical protocol for performing an SPR experiment, and a few applications of SPR in biochemistry.

Thanks for watching!

Cite this Video

JoVE Science Education Database. Biochemistry. Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR). JoVE, Cambridge, MA, (2017).

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this article.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

RECOMMEND JoVE

Applications