A Practical Approach to Genetic Inducible Fate Mapping: A Visual Guide to Mark und Track Cells In Vivo

JoVE Journal
Biology

Your institution must subscribe to JoVE's Biology section to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial or learn more about access:

 

Summary

Genetische Inducible Fate Mapping (GIFM) markiert und verfolgt Zellen mit feinen räumlichen und zeitlichen Steuerung

Cite this Article

Copy Citation | Download Citations | Reprints and Permissions

Brown, A., Brown, S., Ellisor, D., Hagan, N., Normand, E., Zervas, M. A Practical Approach to Genetic Inducible Fate Mapping: A Visual Guide to Mark and Track Cells In Vivo. J. Vis. Exp. (34), e1687, doi:10.3791/1687 (2009).

Please note that all translations are automatically generated.

Click here for the english version. For other languages click here.

Abstract

Fate Karten sind durch Markierung und Verfolgung von Zellen in vivo zu bestimmen, wie Vorläuferzellen zu bestimmten Strukturen und Zelltypen in Entwicklungsländern beitragen und adulten Gewebe erzeugt. Ein Fortschritt in diesem Konzept ist G enetic ich nducible FM apping (GIFM), verbindet die Genexpression, Zell-Schicksal, und Zelle Verhaltensweisen in vivo, um das Schicksal Karten auf genetische Abstammung zu erstellen.

GIFM nutzt X-créer Linien, in denen X ist ein Gen oder eine Gruppe von Gen-regulatorischen Elementen, die räumliche Ausdruck eines veränderten Bakteriophagenprotein, Cre-Rekombinase (Creer T) verleiht. Creer T enthält eine geänderte e strogen r eceptor Ligandenbindungsdomäne die Creer T macht sequestriert im Zytoplasma in Abwesenheit des Medikaments Tamoxifen. Die Bindung von Tamoxifen Releases Creer T, die in den Zellkern und vermittelt Rekombination zwischen DNA-Sequenzen von loxP-Stellen flankiert transloziert. In GIFM, Rekombination tritt typischerweise zwischen einem loxP flankiert Stop-Kassette vor einem Reportergen wie GFP.

Mäuse gezüchtet werden, um entweder eine Region-oder Zelltyp-spezifische créer und eine bedingte Reporter Allel enthalten. Unbehandelte Mäuse müssen nicht markiert, da die Stop-Kassette in den Reporter verhindert die weitere Transkription des Reportergens. Wir verwalten Tamoxifen durch orale Gabe zu timed-trächtige Weibchen, die zeitliche Steuerung der Creer T Freisetzung und die anschließende Translokation in den Zellkern Entfernen der Stop-Kassette aus dem Reporter bietet. Nach Rekombination ist die Reporter-Allels konstitutiv und heritably ausgedrückt. Die Veranstaltungsreihe markiert Zellen, so dass ihre genetische Geschichte unauslöschlich wird aufgezeichnet. Die rekombiniert Reporter dient somit als High-Fidelity-genetische Abstammung Tracer, der, einmal auf, von der Gen-Expression zunächst zur Creer T-Laufwerk entkoppelt ist.

Wir wenden GIFM in der Maus eine normale Entwicklung und ermitteln den Beitrag der genetischen Abstammungslinien zu erwachsenen Zelltypen und Geweben zu untersuchen. Wir verwenden auch GIFM auf Zellen mutierten genetischen Hintergründen folgen, um ein besseres Verständnis komplexer Phänotypen, die hervorstechenden Merkmale des menschlichen genetischen Erkrankungen imitieren.

Dieses Video Artikel führt Forscher durch experimentelle Methoden erfolgreich anzuwenden GIFM. Wir demonstrieren die Methode mit unseren gut charakterisiert Wnt1-créer T; mGFP Mäusen durch die Gabe von Tamoxifen bei embryonalen Tag (E) 8,5 über orale Gabe von dissection bei E12.5 und Analyse von Epifluoreszenz Stereomikroskopie gefolgt. Wir zeigen auch, wie die Mikro-sezieren Schicksal abgebildet Domains für Explantation Vorbereitung oder FACS-Analyse und sezieren Erwachsenen Schicksal-mapped Gehirne für ganze Berg Fluoreszenz-Imaging. Gemeinsam ermöglichen diese Verfahren Forscher auf kritische Fragen in der Entwicklungsbiologie und Krankheitsmodelle Adresse.

Protocol

Tamoxifen Vorbereitung und orale Gabe Procedure (E8.5)

  • Bereiten Sie eine 20 mg / ml Stammlösung von Tamoxifen durch Auflösen von Tamoxifen in vorgewärmte Maisöl.
  • Inkubieren Sie die Lösung bei 37 ° C für 2 Stunden auf einem Kolbenpendel und Wirbel intermittierend.
  • Schützen Sie die Tamoxifen Lager vor Licht, Lagerung bei 4 ° C, und die Verwendung von bis zu 1 Monat.
  • Für das Schicksal Mapping-Experimente, stellen Sie eine Zucht Paar bestehend aus einem Swiss Webster weiblich (Wildtyp; gekauft Taconic) und ein Männchen, sowohl ein Gen spezifischen Creer T-Allel und ein Reporter-Allels. Zu Demonstrationszwecken haben wir mit Wnt1-créer T; mGFP Männer (Ellisor 2009).
  • Überprüfen Swiss Webster Frauen jeden Morgen für das Auftreten eines Vaginalpfropfes. Bestimmen Sie den Morgen (0900) des Tages ein Vaginalpfropf als 0,5 Tage post-Koitus zu sehen ist und berechnen Sie das Datum der Tamoxifen-Administration auf diesem Ausgangspunkt basiert. (Für dieses Experiment embryonalen Tag 8.5 verwendet wurde).
  • Verwenden Sie eine 1 ml Spritze mit einer Tierfütterung Nadel (20G x 1-1/2) zu erarbeiten 200 ul der Tamoxifen-Stammlösung (4 mg Tamoxifen).
  • Fest begrenze die Zeit schwanger Swiss Webster Weibchen durch Ergreifen der Nacken und Rücken, den Kopf fixieren und umdrehen, so dass die Bauchseite nach oben zeigt.
  • Halten Sie den Schwanz zwischen die Finger frei, um den Körper in einer geraden Linie zu halten.
  • Legen Sie die Fütterung Nadel in den Mundwinkel und sanft in die Nadel auf dem Dach des Mundes.
  • Drehen Sie die Nadel so, dass es parallel zum Körper ist, während gleichzeitig Kippen der Kopf nach hinten um den Hals gerade zu halten.
  • Führen Sie die Nadel durch die Speiseröhre in Richtung Magen. Achten Sie darauf, nicht in die Luftröhre gelangen. Wenn es Widerstand an der Nadel, das Tier Würgereflex eingreift, oder ob die Maus Kämpfe umgehend entfernen Sie die Nadel und versuchen, die Sonde wieder.
  • Sobald die Fütterung Nadel in den Bauch, die Verwaltung der Tamoxifen in den Magen und gibt die Frau zu Hause Käfig bis zum Zeitpunkt der Dissektion.

Kraniotomie:

  • Intrakardial perfuse der erwachsenen Schicksal abgebildet Maus mit 4% PFA und entfernen Sie den Kopf mit einer Schere durch einen Schnitt durch die Wirbelsäule gerade über die Schultern.
  • Run mit einem Skalpell entlang der dorsalen Mittellinie des Kopfes (rostral nach kaudal), um durch die Kopfhaut geschnitten und setzen den Schädel.
  • Mit dem Skalpell schaben überschüssiges Gewebe oder Muskel an der Seite und hinteren Teil des Schädels.
  • Mit Pinzette, Punktion des Schädels an der Mittellinie nur rostral der Riechkolben und ein kleines Loch in die Spitzen der feinen Schere unterzubringen.
  • Legen Sie die feinen Schere in dieses Loch und einen Einschnitt medial nach lateral etwa die Länge der Riechkolben. Dieser Schnitt wird der Schädel an der Kreuzung der nasalen Knochen und Stirnbeins brechen und bieten einen guten Zugang zur Schere.
  • Schneiden Sie entlang der Pfeilnaht in den Schädel (dorsalen Mittellinie) Achte darauf, die Schere Tipps vom Gehirn, um eine Beschädigung des darunter liegenden Gewebes Winkel zu halten.
  • Fassen Sie den Schädel mit einer Pinzette und abziehen des Knochens entlang der medialen Einschnitt in das Gehirn freizulegen. Der Schädel kann abplatzen in kleine Stücke schneiden oder brechen weg in größere Abschnitte. Fahren Sie mit der Pinzette auf alle frontal, parietal, interparietalen und occipitale zu entfernen.
  • Crack the Knochen einschließen des paraflocculi (befindet sich entlang der Seitenkanten des Gehirns auf der Ebene des Kleinhirns) durch Kneifen der sphärischen Knochen auf jeder Seite. Ziehen Sie sich die Knochen.
  • Drehen Sie den Kopf auf den Kopf (dorsal Seite nach unten) und die Verwendung der Zange auf die Hirnnerven sever und lassen das Gehirn aus dem Schädel.

Ganze Berge Mikroskopie: erwachsenen Gehirn

  • Beurteilen erwachsenen Gehirn für GFP Markierung mit einem fluoreszierenden Binokular.
  • Transfer Gehirn eine Petrischale mit PBS und fotografieren mit PictureFrame oder andere geeignete Software.

Ganze Berge Mikroskopie: E12.5 Embryos

  • Beurteilen whole mount Embryonen für GFP Markierung mit einem fluoreszierenden Binokular.
  • Übertragen Sie diese, dass GFP positive durch whole mount in eine Petrischale mit PBS und fotografieren mit PictureFrame oder andere geeignete Software.
  • Verwenden einer Pinzette zu kneifen Sie ein kleines Stück des Schwanzes von jedem Embryo, statt jedes Stück in einem PCR-Röhrchen und Genotyp des Gewebes mit Hilfe der PCR (Ellisor 2009) für beide Allele, um Ergebnisse über ganze Berg Analyse gesehen zu bestätigen.

Micro-Dissektion und Explantation Vorbereitung des ventralen Mittelhirns von E12.5 Embryonen

  • Nach Dissektion der uterinen Kette und identification des Schicksals-mapped Embryonen durch ganz-mount Fluoreszenz-Embryonen zu eiskalten sterilen PBS in einer Zellkulturschale.
  • Mit einer feinen Schere, entfernen Sie das Kopfteil des Embryos Schneiden quer, kaudal Rhombomer 1.
  • Dann entfernen Sie den rostralen Teil des Kopfes mit einem koronalen Schnitt durch das Zwischenhirn. Dies legt ein Rohr-ähnliche Struktur, in der der 4. Ventrikel durch die mesenzephalen Vesikel bilden ein Bindeglied zwischen dorsalen und ventralen Gewebe.
  • Schieben Sie die Schere Tipps in den 4. Ventrikel und snip entlang der dorsalen Mittellinie, kaudal rostral, die vollständige Öffnung der Röhre, die Schaffung eines "open-book" Vorbereitung. Die ventralen Mittelhirn wird nun medial ausgesetzt werden, während die beiden dorsalen Hälften des Mittelhirns seitlich befinden wird.
  • Entfernen Sie alle verbleibenden nicht-neuronalen Gewebe unterhalb des ventralen Mittelhirns, damit das Gewebe um mehr flach legen. Wenn nötig, machen Kerben in den rostralen und kaudalen Aspekte, so dass die dorsale "Flügel" der Explantation wird flach als auch. Das Explantat sollte nun ein "Schmetterling, in denen die dorsalen Mittelhirn stellt die Flügel, und Rhombomer 1 den Schwanz ähneln.
  • Zur weiteren Isolierung des ventralen Mittelhirns für FACS-Analyse oder Zellkultur-Experimenten, entfernen Sie die seitliche (dorsal) des Gewebes.

Repräsentative Ergebnisse:

In diesem GIFM Experiment werden Wnt1-exprimierenden Zellen dauerhaft und heritably während der Embryogenese durch die Gabe von Tamoxifen bei E8.5 zu Wnt1-CreERT markiert; mGFP Embryonen. Anschließend werden diese markierten Zellen visualisiert via ganze Berg Fluoreszenz und Abschnitt Immunhistochemie zu bestimmen, wie Wnt1-abgeleiteten Zellen zu neuralen Strukturen beitragen über die Entwicklung. Whole mount Fluoreszenz beruht auf der Membran gebundene GFP-Komponente des mGFP Reporter und bietet somit zelluläre Informationen sowie eine übergreifende Sicht auf Wnt1-derived neuronalen Projektionen. Zum Beispiel mit Tamoxifen Verwaltung an E8.5, Wnt1-CreERTmGFP Embryonen bei E12.5 zeigen GFP-Fluoreszenz in erster Linie im Mittelhirn, posterior Hinterhirn und Rückenmark (Abbildung 1A). Bei hoher Vergrößerung sind feine neuronalen Projektionen zu sehen innervieren das Mittelhirn, Körper Wand, des Körpers, und kraniofaziale Region. In diesem Entwicklungsstadium ist der Embryo durchsichtig und internen GFP Kennzeichnung ist leicht zu erkennen. Doch wie das Gehirn entwickelt, verschleiert die Dichte von reifem Gewebe GFP-Fluoreszenz aus internen Hirnstrukturen. Deshalb mit Tamoxifen Verwaltung an E8.5, ist nur geringe GFP-Markierungen in der überlegenen colliculi der Erwachsenen durch whole mount-Fluoreszenz (Abbildung 1C, Einschub) beobachtet. Darüber hinaus sind einige axonale Projektionen zu sehen Coursing entlang der ventralen Oberfläche des Rautenhirn (nicht dargestellt). Im Gegensatz dazu, wenn Tamoxifen bei E9.5 verabreicht wird, tritt erhebliche GFP-Markierungen in der gesamten unteren Vierhügel (Abb. 1B, Einschub). Dieser Anstieg der ganze Berg Fluoreszenz kann darauf hindeuten, dass Wnt1-exprimierenden Zellen an E9.5 mehr wesentlich zur oberflächlichen Regionen der dorsalen Mittelhirn oder zu erweitern mehr Prozesse in dieser Region als Wnt1 exprimierenden Zellen aus E8.5. Egal, spiegelt dieser Unterschied in whole mount Fluoreszenz der dynamischen Natur der Wnt1 Expression während der Entwicklung und zeigt, wie GIFM verwendet werden, um unterschiedliche Zellpopulationen aus dem Embryo folgen in den reifen Erwachsenen werden.

Mit Immunhistochemie, Schicksal abgebildet Gewebeschnitte von Wnt1-CreERT; mGFP Tiere sind auf zellulärer Ebene analysiert. Antikörper gegen GFP und β-Galactosidase (β-gal) in Verbindung mit einer Vielzahl von Gewebe spezifische Biomarker verwendet werden, um die feinen Skala zellulären Beitrag der Wnt1 Linie auf neuronale Strukturen und Zelltypen zu bestimmen. Mit Tamoxifen Verwaltung an E8.5 und Gewebe-Analyse bei E12.5-, Doppel-positive Zellen (GFP + und β-gal +) sind über das Mittelhirn und Hinterhirn mit Projektionen Coursing durch die ventrale Mittelhirn (Abbildung 1B) beobachtet. Im erwachsenen Gehirn, gibt der Wnt1-Linie bei E8.5 deutlichen Anstieg zu vielen Mittelhirn Strukturen einschließlich der oberen und unteren Colliculi sowie in der Nähe von dopaminergen Zellpopulationen des ventralen Tegmentum und der Substantia nigra (1D) (siehe Auch Zervas 2004). Im Gegensatz dazu gibt die Wnt1-Linie bei E9.5 deutlichen Anstieg um minderwertige colliculi sowie Neuronen in der Nähe von dopaminergen Zellpopulationen (Abb. 1F).

Abbildung 1
Abbildung 1 repräsentative Ergebnisse für Wnt1-Schicksal-Mapping.:

Beispiele für Ganzkörper-Halterung und Immunzytochemie Ergebnisse in Wnt1-CreERT; mGFP Embryonen und erwachsenen Gehirn Schicksal abgebildet (markiert) an E8.5 (AD)und E9.5 (EF). A. Wnt 1-Creer; mGFP Embryonen bei E12.5 zeigen GFP-Fluoreszenz in erster Linie im Mittelhirn (Mb), posterior Hinterhirn (Hb) und des Rückenmarks (Sp). B. Markierte Zellen visualisiert und analysiert werden auf zellulärer Ebene durch Immunhistochemie wie auf dieser 1-mu m dicken optischen Schnitt (40fach Objektiv, z-series-Akquisition) gezeigt. Nuclear β-Galactosidase (nβ-gal) Antikörpermarkierung (rot) und GFP Antikörpermarkierung (grün) zeigt das Schicksal-mapped Zellen im ventralen Mittelhirn gezeigt. Hier werden rekombinierten Zellen doppelt positiven (nβ-gal + / GFP +) wegen der Art der bedingten mGFP Reporter. C. Whole-mount florescence Mikroskopie zeigt schwache GFP-Fluoreszenz in den Superior Colliculus (SC) der erwachsenen (kleines Bild). Die Beurteilung der Wnt1 Linie an E8.5 an adulten gekennzeichneten Felder mit geringer Vergrößerung (5x)-Mikroskopie zeigt, dass die Wnt1 Linie Anlass zu Mittelhirn Strukturen einschließlich der superior (SC) und inferior (IC) Colliculi (C). D. A 40x, 1 mm optischer Schnitt aus dem ventralen Mittelhirn in der Nähe von dopaminergen Neuronen mit nβ-gal +-Zellen und eine reiche GFP + axonalen Plexus entnommen. E. Markierung an E9.5 Ergebnisse in wesentlichen GFP-Markierungen, die leicht in den Colliculus inferior des Mittelhirns durch whole mount Fluoreszenz (kleines Bild) zu beobachten ist. Die Wnt1 Linie an E9.5 an adulten Abschnitte (β-gal +, rot) markiert ist im Colliculus inferior (dorsal-posterior Mittelhirn) konzentriert wie bei geringer Vergrößerung (5x)-Mikroskopie (E) zu sehen. F. A 40x, 1 mm optischer Schnitt aus dem ventralen Mittelhirn in der Nähe von dopaminergen Neuronen mit nβ-gal +-Zellen und eine reiche GFP + axonalen Plexus entnommen. Wnt1-derived Neuronen an E8.5 E9.5 Vergleich gekennzeichnet sind, schrittweise von ihrem Beitrag zur dorsalen Mittelhirn beschränkt, während die Wnt1 Linie weiterhin einen Beitrag zur ventralen Mittelhirn.

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Discussion

Die GIFM System, das wir haben gezeigt, kann ein breites Spektrum von Fragen in einer Vielzahl von zellulären Prozessen zu beantworten. Zum Beispiel können Mäuse mit unterschiedlichen Cre-Treiber entwickelt, verwendet werden, um jeden Zelltyp, Gewebe-oder genetische Linie des Interesses Ziel sein. Darüber hinaus, weil Tamoxifen jederzeit embryonalen oder postnatale Zeitpunkt verabreicht werden kann, kann Rekombination, alle relevanten Entwicklungsstadium ausgerichtet sein. Die räumliche und zeitliche Steuerung dieses Systems sind ideal für die Untersuchung, wie Zellen, die bestimmte Gene auf eine Struktur oder eine Region von Interesse sind, sowie die Zellwanderung und Strukturierung Ereignisse während der Entwicklung beitragen.

Neben dem einfachen Kennzeichnung und Visualisierung von Zellen durch Immunhistochemie (Abbildung 1), kann GIFM Methodik für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen eingesetzt werden. Durch die Kombination GIFM mit einem konditionalen Knock-out-Allels kann genetische loss-of-function zeitlich und räumlich relevanten Zellpopulationen, die gleichzeitig mit einem Reporter-Allels sind markiert ausgerichtet. Alternativ kann Gewebe vom Schicksal abgebildet Tieren gesammelt in Kombination mit Fluorescence-Activated Cell Sorting (FACS) verwendet werden, um physisch zu isolieren Zellen, die Reporter-Gene oder bestimmte Marker in verschiedenen Populationen. Markierte Gewebe während der Embryogenese oder bei erwachsenen Tieren isoliert werden kultiviert werden, so dass die Abgabe von Medikamenten oder genetische Konstrukte definiert Linien in vitro.

Unser Labor verwendet die Ergebnisse von Studien GIFM erhalten zur Beantwortung komplexer Fragen, die von neurologischen Erkrankungen, wie Parkinson-Krankheit, Schizophrenie, Autismus und Tuberöse Sklerose gestellt. Durch das Verständnis, welche Populationen von Zellen in jeder dieser Krankheiten und wie diese Populationen im Laufe der Zeit in Mausmodellen Änderung betroffen sind, hoffen wir, zum besseren Verständnis der Pathologie beobachtet und selbst darstellen kann mittels Behandlung in klinischen Umgebungen.

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Disclosures

Alle Autoren trugen gleichermaßen zu dieser Arbeit und sind alphabetisch aufgelistet. Der Beitrag jedes einzelnen ist offensichtlich durch seine Teilnahme an der Video-Artikel.

Acknowledgments

Wir sind dankbar, S. Arber für die mGFP Mäusen und an die Mitglieder des Zervas Labor, die kritisch die Zeitung lesen und leistete technische Hilfe. A. Brown wurde von einem Brain Science Kaplan Sommer Graduate Research Award unterstützt. E. Normand wurde von einem Brain Science Program Graduate Research Award unterstützt. Diese Arbeit wurde auch von Startup-Forschungsmittel (MZ) finanziert.

References

  1. Ellisor, D., Koveal, D., Hagan, N., Brown, A., Zervas, M. Comparative analysis of conditional reporter alleles in the developing embryo and embryonic nervous system. Gene Expr Patterns. 9, 475-489 (2009).
  2. Zervas, M., Millet, S., Ahn, S., Joyner, A. L. Cell behaviors and genetic lineages of the mesencephalon and rhombomere 1. Neuron. 43, 345-357 (2004).

Comments

2 Comments

  1. it is quite awesome how cell lineage could be traced upon using the technique of fate mapping..

    Reply
    Posted by: Anonymous
    February 25, 2012 - 10:34 PM
  2. it is quite awesome how cell lineage could be traced upon using the technique of fate mapping..

    Reply
    Posted by: Anonymous
    February 25, 2012 - 10:34 PM

Post a Question / Comment / Request

You must be signed in to post a comment. Please sign in or create an account.

Usage Statistics

A Practical Approach to Genetic Inducible Fate Mapping: A Visual Guide to Mark and Track Cells In Vivo

Published 12/30/2009
2 Comments
  CITE THIS  SHARE 
Biology

You must be subscribed to JoVE to access this content.

Fill out the form below to receive a free trial:

Welcome!

Enter your email below to get your free 10 minute trial to JoVE!





By clicking "Submit," you agree to our policies.

 

Summary

Genetic Inducible Fate Mapping (GIFM) marks and tracks cells with fine spatial and temporal control in vivo and elucidates how cells from a specific genetic lineage contribute to developing and adult tissues. Demonstrated here are the techniques required to fate map E12.5 mouse embryos for epifluorescent and explant analysis.

Cite this Article

Copy Citation

Brown, A., Brown, S., Ellisor, D., Hagan, N., Normand, E., Zervas, M. A Practical Approach to Genetic Inducible Fate Mapping: A Visual Guide to Mark and Track Cells In Vivo. J. Vis. Exp. (34), e1687, doi:10.3791/1687 (2009).

Abstract

Fate maps are generated by marking and tracking cells in vivo to determine how progenitors contribute to specific structures and cell types in developing and adult tissue. An advance in this concept is Genetic Inducible Fate Mapping (GIFM), linking gene expression, cell fate, and cell behaviors in vivo, to create fate maps based on genetic lineage.

GIFM exploits X-CreER lines where X is a gene or set of gene regulatory elements that confers spatial expression of a modified bacteriophage protein, Cre recombinase (CreERT). CreERT contains a modified estrogen receptor ligand binding domain which renders CreERT sequestered in the cytoplasm in the absence of the drug tamoxifen. The binding of tamoxifen releases CreERT, which translocates to the nucleus and mediates recombination between DNA sequences flanked by loxP sites. In GIFM, recombination typically occurs between a loxP flanked Stop cassette preceding a reporter gene such as GFP.

Mice are bred to contain either a region- or cell type-specific CreER and a conditional reporter allele. Untreated mice will not have marking because the Stop cassette in the reporter prevents further transcription of the reporter gene. We administer tamoxifen by oral gavage to timed-pregnant females, which provides temporal control of CreERT release and subsequent translocation to the nucleus removing the Stop cassette from the reporter. Following recombination, the reporter allele is constitutively and heritably expressed. This series of events marks cells such that their genetic history is indelibly recorded. The recombined reporter thus serves as a high fidelity genetic lineage tracer that, once on, is uncoupled from the gene expression initially used to drive CreERT.

We apply GIFM in mouse to study normal development and ascertain the contribution of genetic lineages to adult cell types and tissues. We also use GIFM to follow cells on mutant genetic backgrounds to better understand complex phenotypes that mimic salient features of human genetic disorders.

This video article guides researchers through experimental methods to successfully apply GIFM. We demonstrate the method using our well characterized Wnt1-CreERT;mGFP mice by administering tamoxifen at embryonic day (E)8.5 via oral gavage followed by dissection at E12.5 and analysis by epifluorescence stereomicroscopy. We also demonstrate how to micro-dissect fate mapped domains for explant preparation or FACS analysis and dissect adult fate-mapped brains for whole mount fluorescent imaging. Collectively, these procedures allow researchers to address critical questions in developmental biology and disease models.

Protocol

Tamoxifen Preparation and Oral Gavage Procedure (E8.5)

  • Prepare a 20 mg/ml stock solution of tamoxifen by dissolving tamoxifen in pre-warmed corn oil.
  • Incubate the solution at 37° C for 2 hours on a nutator and vortex intermittently.
  • Protect the tamoxifen stock from light, store at 4°C, and use for up to one month.
  • For fate mapping experiments, establish a breeding pair consisting of a Swiss Webster female (wildtype; purchased from Taconic) and a male carrying both a gene specific CreERT allele and a reporter allele. For demonstration purposes, we are using Wnt1-CreERT;mGFP males (Ellisor 2009).
  • Check Swiss Webster females each morning for the appearance of a vaginal plug. Designate the morning (0900) of the day a vaginal plug is seen as 0.5 days post-coitus and calculate the date of tamoxifen administration based on this starting point. (For this experiment, embryonic day 8.5 was used).
  • Use a 1 ml syringe with an animal feeding needle (20G x 1-1/2) to draw up 200 μl of the tamoxifen stock solution (4 mg tamoxifen).
  • Firmly restrain the time-pregnant Swiss Webster female by grasping the nape of the neck and back to immobilize the head and turn over so the ventral side is facing up.
  • Hold the tail between free fingers to keep the body in a straight line.
  • Place the feeding needle into the corner of the mouth and gently guide the needle along the roof of the mouth.
  • Rotate the needle so that it is parallel to the body, while simultaneously tilting the head back to keep the neck straight.
  • Guide the needle down the esophagus, toward the stomach. Be careful not to enter the trachea. If there is resistance on the needle, the animal's gag reflex engages, or if the mouse struggles, immediately remove the needle and try the gavage again.
  • Once the feeding needle is in the stomach, administer the tamoxifen into the stomach and return the female to her home cage until the date of dissection.

Craniotomy:

  • Intracardially perfuse the adult fate mapped mouse with 4% PFA and remove the head with scissors by cutting through the spinal column just above the shoulders.
  • Run a scalpel along the dorsal midline of the head (rostral to caudal) to cut through the scalp and expose the scull.
  • Using the scalpel, scrape away any excess tissue or muscle from along the side and posterior of the cranium.
  • With forceps, puncture the skull at the midline just rostral to the olfactory bulbs and create a small hole to accommodate the tips of fine scissors.
  • Insert the fine scissors into this hole and make an incision medial to lateral approximately the length of the olfactory bulbs. This cut will break the skull at the intersection of the nasal bone and frontal bone and provide good access for the scissors.
  • Cut along the sagittal sutures in the skull (dorsal midline) making sure to keep the scissor tips angled away from the brain to avoid damaging the underlying tissue.
  • Gently grasp the skull with forceps and peel away the bone along the medial incision to expose the brain. The skull may chip off in small pieces or break away in larger sections. Continue using the forceps to remove all of the frontal, parietal, interparietal, and occipital bones.
  • Crack the bones encasing the paraflocculi (located along the lateral edges of the brain at the level of the cerebellum) by pinching the spherical bones on each side. Gently pull away the bones.
  • Turn the head upside down (dorsal side down) and use the forceps to sever the cranial nerves and release the brain from the skull.

Whole Mount Microscopy: Adult Brain

  • Assess adult brain for GFP marking using a fluorescent dissecting scope.
  • Transfer brain to a Petri dish containing PBS and photograph using PictureFrame or other appropriate software.

Whole Mount Microscopy: E12.5 Embryos

  • Assess whole mount embryos for GFP marking using a fluorescent dissecting scope.
  • Transfer those that are GFP positive by whole mount to a Petri dish containing PBS and photograph using PictureFrame or other appropriate software.
  • Use forceps to pinch off a small piece of tail from each embryo, place each piece in a PCR tube and genotype the tissue using PCR (Ellisor 2009) for both alleles to confirm results seen via whole mount analysis.

Micro-dissection and explant preparation of the ventral mesencephalon from E12.5 embryos

  • Following dissection from the uterine chain and identification of fate-mapped embryos by whole-mount fluorescence, transfer embryos to ice-cold sterile PBS in a cell culture dish.
  • Using fine scissors, remove the head portion of the embryo cutting transversely, caudal to rhombomere 1.
  • Next, remove the rostral portion of the head with a coronal cut through the diencephalon. This will expose a tube-like structure in which the 4th ventricle through the mesencephalic vesicle form a conduit between dorsal and ventral tissues.
  • Carefully insert the scissor tips into the 4th ventricle, and snip along the dorsal midline, caudal to rostral, fully opening the tube, creating an "open-book" preparation. The ventral mesencephalon will now be exposed medially, while the two dorsal halves of the mesencephalon will reside laterally.
  • Remove any remaining non-neural tissue underneath the ventral mesencephalon in order for the tissue to lay more flatly. If need be, make notches in the rostral and caudal aspects such that the dorsal "wings" of the explant will lay flat as well. The explant should now resemble a "butterfly, in which the dorsal mesencephalon represents the wings, and rhombomere 1 the tail.
  • To further isolate the ventral mesencephalon for FACS analysis or cell culture experiments, remove the lateral (dorsal aspects) of the tissue.

Representative Results:

In this GIFM experiment, Wnt1-expressing cells are permanently and heritably marked during embryogenesis by administering tamoxifen at E8.5 to Wnt1-CreERT;mGFP embryos. Subsequently, these marked cells are visualized via whole mount fluorescence and section immunohistochemistry to determine how Wnt1-derived cells contribute to neural structures across development. Whole mount fluorescence relies on the membrane bound GFP component of the mGFP reporter and therefore provides cellular information as well as an overarching view of Wnt1-derived neural projections. For example, with tamoxifen administration at E8.5, Wnt1-CreERTmGFP embryos at E12.5 exhibit GFP fluorescence primarily in the midbrain, posterior hindbrain and spinal cord (Figure 1A). At high magnification, fine neuronal projections are seen innervating the midbrain, body wall, limb, and craniofacial region. At this developmental stage, the embryo is translucent and internal GFP labeling is easily discerned. However, as the brain develops, the density of mature tissue obscures GFP fluorescence emanating from internal brain structures. Therefore, with tamoxifen administration at E8.5, only minor GFP labeling is observed in the superior colliculi of the adult by whole mount fluorescence (Figure 1C, inset). In addition, some axonal projections are seen coursing along the ventral surface of the hindbrain (not shown). In contrast, when tamoxifen is administered at E9.5, substantial GFP labeling occurs throughout the entire inferior colliculi (Figure 1B, inset). This increase in whole mount fluorescence may indicate that Wnt1-expressing cells at E9.5 contribute more significantly to superficial regions of the dorsal midbrain or extend more processes within this region than Wnt1 expressing cells from E8.5. Regardless, this difference in whole mount fluorescence reflects the dynamic nature of Wnt1 expression during development and demonstrates how GIFM can be used to follow distinct cell populations from the embryo into the mature adult.

With immunohistochemistry, fate mapped tissue sections from Wnt1-CreERT;mGFP animals are analyzed at the cellular level. Antibodies against GFP and β-galactosidase (β-gal) are used in conjunction with a variety of tissue specific biomarkers to determine the fine scale cellular contribution of the Wnt1 lineage to neural structures and cell types. With tamoxifen administration at E8.5 and tissue analysis at E12.5, double positive cells (GFP+ and β-gal+) are observed throughout the midbrain and hindbrain with projections coursing through the ventral midbrain (Figure 1B). In the adult brain, the Wnt1-lineage marked at E8.5 gives rise to many midbrain structures including the superior and inferior colliculi as well as in the vicinity of dopaminergic cell populations of the ventral tegmental area and substantia nigra (Figure 1D) (see also Zervas 2004). In contrast, the Wnt1-lineage marked at E9.5 gives rise to inferior colliculi as well as to neurons in the vicinity of dopaminergic cell populations (Figure 1F).

Figure 1
Figure 1. Representative Results for Wnt1-fate mapping:

Examples of whole-mount and immunocytochemistry results in Wnt1-CreERT;mGFP embryos and adult brains fate mapped (marked) at E8.5 (A-D) and E9.5 (E-F). A. Wnt1-CreER;mGFP embryos at E12.5 exhibit GFP fluorescence primarily in the midbrain (Mb), posterior hindbrain (Hb) and spinal cord (Sp). B. Marked cells visualized and analyzed at the cellular level by immunohistochemistry as shown on this 1-μm thick optical section (40x objective, z-series acquisition). Nuclear β-galactosidase (nβ-gal) antibody labeling (red) and GFP antibody labeling (green) indicates fate-mapped cells shown in the ventral midbrain. Here, recombined cells are double positive (nβ-gal+/GFP+) because of the nature of the conditional mGFP reporter. C. Whole-mount florescence microscopy reveals faint GFP fluorescence in the superior colliculi (SC) of the adult (inset). Assessing the Wnt1 lineage marked at E8.5 on adult sections with low magnification (5X) microscopy reveals that the Wnt1 lineage gives rise to midbrain structures including the superior (SC) and inferior (IC) colliculi (C). D. A 40x, 1 mm optical section taken from the ventral midbrain in the vicinity of dopaminergic neurons with nβ-gal+ cells and a rich GFP+ axonal plexus. E. Marking at E9.5 results in substantial GFP labeling that is readily observed in the inferior colliculus of the midbrain by whole mount fluorescence (inset). The Wnt1 lineage marked at E9.5 on adult sections (β-gal+, red) is concentrated in the inferior colliculus (dorsal-posterior midbrain) as seen with low magnification (5X) microscopy (E). F. A 40x, 1 mm optical section taken from the ventral midbrain in the vicinity of dopaminergic neurons with nβ-gal+ cells and a rich GFP+ axonal plexus. Wnt1-derived neurons marked at E8.5 versus E9.5 are progressively restricted from contributing to dorsal midbrain, while the Wnt1 lineage persists in contributing to ventral midbrain.

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Discussion

The GIFM system that we have demonstrated can be used to answer a wide range of questions in a variety of cellular processes. For example, mice engineered with different Cre drivers can be used to target any cell type, tissue or genetic lineage of interest. In addition, because tamoxifen can be administered at any embryonic or postnatal time point, recombination can be targeted to any relevant developmental stage. The spatial and temporal control of this system are ideal for investigating how cells expressing particular genes contribute to a structure or region of interest as well as cell migration and patterning events during development.

In addition to simply marking and visualizing cells by immunohistochemistry (Figure 1), GIFM methodology can be used for a variety of applications. By combining GIFM with a conditional knock-out allele, genetic loss-of-function can be temporally and spatially targeted to relevant cell populations, which are simultaneously marked with a reporter allele. Alternatively, tissue collected from fate mapped animals can be used in combination with Fluorescence-Activated Cell Sorting (FACS) to physically isolate cells expressing reporter genes or particular markers into distinct populations. Marked tissues isolated during embryogenesis or from adult animals can be cultured, allowing the delivery of drugs or genetic constructs to defined lineages in vitro.

Our lab uses the results obtained from GIFM studies to help answer complex questions posed by neurological diseases, such as Parkinson s disease, schizophrenia, autism and tuberous sclerosis. By understanding which populations of cells are affected in each of these diseases and how these populations change over time in mouse models, we hope to better understand the pathology observed and even pose possible means of treatment in clinical settings.

Subscription Required. Please recommend JoVE to your librarian.

Disclosures

All authors contributed equally to this work and are listed alphabetically. The contribution of each individual is apparent by his or her participation in the video article.

Acknowledgements

We are grateful to S. Arber for the mGFP mice and to members of the Zervas lab who critically read the paper and provided technical assistance. A. Brown was supported by a Brain Science Kaplan Summer Graduate Research Award. E. Normand was supported by a Brain Science Program Graduate Research Award. This research was also funded by startup research funds (MZ).

References

  1. Ellisor, D., Koveal, D., Hagan, N., Brown, A., Zervas, M. Comparative analysis of conditional reporter alleles in the developing embryo and embryonic nervous system. Gene Expr Patterns. 9, 475-489 (2009).
  2. Zervas, M., Millet, S., Ahn, S., Joyner, A. L. Cell behaviors and genetic lineages of the mesencephalon and rhombomere 1. Neuron. 43, 345-357 (2004).

Comments

2 Comments

  1. it is quite awesome how cell lineage could be traced upon using the technique of fate mapping..

    Reply
    Posted by: Anonymous
    February 25, 2012 - 10:34 PM
  2. it is quite awesome how cell lineage could be traced upon using the technique of fate mapping..

    Reply
    Posted by: Anonymous
    February 25, 2012 - 10:34 PM

Post a Question / Comment / Request

You must be signed in to post a comment. Please or create an account.

Video Stats