Study selection and source verification
The search, deduplication, screening, and exclusion steps are summarized in the PRISMA flow diagram (Figure 1). The study-selection record contained 10,842 identified records, 2,540 duplicates removed, 8,302 records screened, 122 reports sought, 18 reports not retrieved, 104 full texts assessed, 83 full texts excluded, and 21 records designated as included. Source verification of the 21 listed records identified aggregate reviews or pooled groups, explicitly nonrandomized designs, out-of-scope populations, and entries lacking complete citations or unique identifiers. Some records concerned conditions such as type 2 diabetes rather than frailty or PFD. No listed record required concurrent diagnoses of frailty and PFD. After application of the eligibility criteria, no source-verifiable study-level dataset supported a dual-condition efficacy synthesis. Table 3 reports the verification status of each listed record.
Condition-specific evidence and coding framework
The taxonomy separates app-guided training, videoconferencing or telerehabilitation, wearable or sensor-assisted training, remote monitoring, and other digitally supported care. These categories function as evidence-mapping labels rather than treatment nodes unless individual studies and intervention components are source-verifiable and clinically comparable. This approach prevents clinically different programs from being grouped solely because they share a digital delivery channel.
Outcome-level risk-of-bias results are not reported because the signaling-question responses and study-level RoB 2 matrix were unavailable. Figure 2 reproduces the available risk-of-bias visualization without alteration, but the judgments could not be independently reconstructed and are not used for certainty assessment. Table 4 records the missing certainty-assessment inputs.
Published evidence for pelvic floor dysfunction
Published systematic reviews and trials establish the clinical rationale for conservative and eHealth interventions in pelvic floor management28,29,30,31 and emphasize digital health access considerations32. A published systematic review of eHealth interventions for female PFD included 24 randomized trials and 3,691 participants, but its populations included women with PFD or at risk of PFD and were not restricted to frail older adults33,34,35,36. Individual trials have reported that videoconferencing can be comparable with conventional continence care in older women and that app- or device-supported pelvic floor muscle training can improve adherence or selected symptom outcomes37,38,39,40,41. These studies support a condition-specific rationale but do not establish effects in patients with both frailty and PFD.
Source verification did not yield a complete set of study-level means, standard deviations, event counts, follow-up times, and outcome directions for PFD. Figure 3 is retained without alteration as the available visualization, but its displayed estimates could not be reproduced and are not used to support a pooled effect. PFD findings are summarized narratively from the cited condition-specific reviews and randomized trials.
Published evidence for frailty
Recent condition-specific reviews provide mixed evidence. One 2026 review of 23 studies involving 3,426 frail older adults reported an improvement in frailty scores (SMD -0.42, 95% CI -0.72 to -0.12), whereas another 2026 review of 17 randomized trials concluded that evidence for overall frailty and several age-related outcomes remained limited or mixed34,35. An earlier review identified only four eligible studies and concluded that the evidence was insufficient for firm conclusions36. Figure 4 is retained without alteration as the available frailty-outcome visualization, but its study-level inputs could not be reproduced, and the displayed pooled estimate is not interpreted in this review. These external results illustrate why outcome definitions and study populations must be kept separate.
Eligible trials did not form a source-verifiable connected network; therefore, global inconsistency, node-splitting, and transitivity analyses were not performed. Figure 5 is retained without alteration as the available network visualization, but its study identifiers, edge counts, and effect-modifier distributions could not be verified, and the graph is not used for network inference. Table 5 presents the quantitative synthesis feasibility assessment.
Quantitative synthesis decision
The prespecified network-analysis gate was not met because a source-verifiable, connected study-level network was not established. Consequently, no league table, pairwise or network effect matrix, or direct or indirect network estimate is reported. Table 6 maps intervention categories to condition-specific evidence streams without estimating comparative effects. No reproducible SUCRA ranking was calculated. Figure 6 is retained without alteration as the available ranking visualization, but its numerical inputs and rank uncertainty could not be reconstructed, and the curves are not interpreted as evidence of superiority. A valid ranking analysis would require numerical SUCRA values, rank uncertainty, comparative effect estimates, and certainty ratings from a connected network.
Evidence mapping and certainty
Evidence was mapped in separate strata for frailty, PFD, and concurrent frailty with PFD, with intervention and outcome categories coded independently. Figure 7 is retained without alteration as the available bubble visualization, because source-verifiable study and participant counts could not be reconstructed for every listed record, its positions and bubble sizes are not used for quantitative inference. The evidence map, therefore, emphasizes distribution and gaps rather than numerical density.
Certainty ratings were not assigned because study-level risk-of-bias judgments, directness, heterogeneity, and precision could not be reconstructed. The term 'frailty status' is used consistently. Sparse or indirect comparisons remain narrative and are not described as robust comparative evidence.
Synthesis outcome
Leave-one-out, subgroup, meta-regression, Egger, and Begg analyses were not conducted because no study-level quantitative synthesis was performed. Small-study-effect tests would also have limited power with few studies and were not used as evidence of the absence of publication bias. Table 7 records the final decision for each planned analysis.
The synthesis-decision process resulted in narrative, condition-specific evidence mapping. No pooled estimate, treatment ranking, or network meta-analysis is reported for older adults with concurrent frailty and PFD. Digital interventions in frailty and PFD are therefore interpreted separately, with no cross-condition treatment hierarchy.
The author thanks the Women's Hospital, Zhejiang University School of Medicine, for institutional academic support. During manuscript preparation, an OpenAI large language model was used for language editing, formatting assistance, and targeted source verification. No AI tool was used to generate or alter study data or statistical results. The author reviewed the AI-assisted output and remains responsible for the accuracy, integrity, and final content of the manuscript. This research received no specific grant from any funding agency in the public, commercial, or not-for-profit sectors.
DATA AVAILABILITY:
The supporting data and materials are publicly available on Zenodo https://zenodo.org/records/22144709. All data analyzed in this study were derived from previously published articles, all of which are cited in the manuscript. Further inquiries can be directed to the corresponding author. The original database exports, deduplication log, full-text exclusion list, study-level extraction dataset, RoB 2 matrix, statistical input data, and executable R or Stata scripts are not available. No statistical input file or analysis code was generated because no quantitative synthesis was conducted. The article reports the source-verification results and cited published evidence.

Figure 1: Recorded PRISMA study-selection flow. The diagram shows identification, screening, retrieval, eligibility, exclusion reasons, and records designated as included. The counts could not be independently reconstructed because the original search and screening files were not retained. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 2: Available risk-of-bias visualization for the listed randomized trials. The signaling-question responses and study-level RoB 2 matrix were unavailable; therefore, the displayed domain judgments could not be independently reconstructed and are not used for certainty assessment. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 3: Available forest plot for pelvic-floor-dysfunction symptom outcomes. Study-level inputs required to reproduce the displayed estimates were unavailable; the plot is not used to support a pooled effect in this review. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 4: Available forest plot for frailty-related outcomes. Study-level inputs required to reproduce the displayed estimates were unavailable; the plot is not used to support a pooled effect in this review. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 5: Available network visualization of digital-intervention categories. The underlying study identifiers, edge counts, and effect-modifier distributions were unavailable; the graph is descriptive and is not used for network inference. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 6: Available SUCRA curves for digital-intervention categories. Ranking inputs and rank uncertainty were unavailable; the curves are retained as a descriptive visualization and are not interpreted as evidence of superiority. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 7: Available bubble visualization of intervention categories and coded outcomes. Study and participant counts could not be reconstructed; bubble positions and sizes are not used for quantitative inference. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.
| Set | Search Terms (Keywords and MeSH) | Recorded result count |
| #1 | (Population: Frailty) | |
| 1.1 | "Frailty"[MeSH Terms] OR "Frail Elderly"[MeSH Terms] | 28,451 |
| 1.2 | "frailty syndrome"[Title/Abstract] OR "frail"[Title/Abstract] OR "pre-frail"[Title/Abstract] | 54,213 |
| 1.3 | "sarcopenia"[Title/Abstract] OR "frailty status"[Title/Abstract] | 19,304 |
| 1.4 | #1.1 OR #1.2 OR #1.3 | 72,159 |
| #2 | (Condition: Pelvic Floor Dysfunction) | |
| 2.1 | "Pelvic Floor Disorders"[MeSH Terms] OR "Urinary Incontinence"[MeSH Terms] | 42,108 |
| 2.2 | "Pelvic Organ Prolapse"[MeSH Terms] OR "Fecal Incontinence"[MeSH Terms] | 18,924 |
| 2.3 | "pelvic floor dysfunction"[Title/Abstract] OR "stress incontinence"[Title/Abstract] | 22,145 |
| 2.4 | "pelvic floor muscle"[Title/Abstract] OR "overactive bladder"[Title/Abstract] | 15,487 |
| 2.5 | #2.1 OR #2.2 OR #2.3 OR #2.4 | 68,413 |
| #3 | (Intervention: Digital Interventions) | |
| 3.1 | "Telemedicine"[MeSH Terms] OR "Mobile Applications"[MeSH Terms] | 65,421 |
| 3.2 | "Digital health"[Title/Abstract] OR "mHealth"[Title/Abstract] OR "eHealth"[Title/Abstract] | 48,231 |
| 3.3 | "Tele-rehabilitation"[Title/Abstract] OR "tele-nursing"[Title/Abstract] | 12,354 |
| 3.4 | "Wearable devices"[Title/Abstract] OR "smartphones"[Title/Abstract] | 34,102 |
| 3.5 | "Virtual reality"[Title/Abstract] OR "Biofeedback"[Title/Abstract] | 18,452 |
| 3.6 | "Mobile apps"[Title/Abstract] OR "interactive technology"[Title/Abstract] | 14,219 |
| 3.7 | #3.1 OR #3.2 OR #3.3 OR #3.4 OR #3.5 OR #3.6 | 156,742 |
| #4 | (Study Filter: Randomized Controlled Trials) | |
| 4.1 | "Randomized Controlled Trial"[Publication Type] OR "Clinical Trial"[Publication Type] | 682,143 |
| 4.2 | "randomized"[Title/Abstract] OR "placebo"[Title/Abstract] OR "randomly"[Title/Abstract] | 841,257 |
| 4.3 | #4.1 OR #4.2 | 954,120 |
| #5 | (Age Filter: Older Adults) | |
| 5.1 | "Aged"[MeSH Terms] OR "Aged, 80 and over"[MeSH Terms] | 984,231 |
| 5.2 | "elderly"[Title/Abstract] OR "older adults"[Title/Abstract] OR "senior"[Title/Abstract] | 742,108 |
| 5.3 | #5.1 OR #5.2 | 1,254,192 |
| #6 | (Intersection) | |
| 6.1 | #1.4 AND #2.5 AND #3.7 AND #4.3 AND #5.3 | 427 |
Table 1: PubMed search framework. The table lists population, condition, digital-intervention, randomized-trial, and age concepts used to structure the search. *Recorded search counts could not be independently reconstructed because the original database exports and complete search log were unavailable. The PubMed total does not reconcile with Figure 1.
| Category | Item | Operational definition / coding rule | Typical delivery format | Human support level |
| Taxonomy | App-guided PFMT | Smartphone application delivers structured PFMT modules with self-directed practice | Application plus home training | Low to moderate |
| Taxonomy | Messaging mini-program PFMT | PFMT delivered through social messaging or a mini-program with scheduled check-ins | Mini-program plus chat | Moderate |
| Taxonomy | Video telerehabilitation | Real-time or scheduled video sessions supervise exercise technique and progression | Video visits plus materials | Moderate to high |
| Taxonomy | Wearable/sensor-augmented training | Wearables or sensors capture activity, balance, or muscle-performance metrics for feedback | Wearable or sensor plus application | Low to moderate |
| Taxonomy | Remote monitoring and case management | Symptoms or physiological measures are reported remotely for clinician review and plan adjustment | Platform plus alerts | Moderate |
| Taxonomy | VR/exergaming rehabilitation | Gamified immersive or screen-based tasks target balance, strength, or adherence | VR or exergame | Low to moderate |
| Taxonomy | AI/chatbot-assisted support | Algorithmic or conversational support provides reminders, education, or triage prompts | Application or chatbot | Low; escalate when clinically indicated |
| Functional component | Structured training library | Standardized PFMT, exercise, or self-management modules are delivered in video or text | Application or video modules | Any |
| Functional component | Reminders and prompts | Automated notifications or scheduled prompts support practice or monitoring | Push, SMS, or in-application | Any |
| Functional component | Adherence tracking | Completed sessions are logged manually or captured automatically | Logs or dashboard | Any |
| Functional component | Symptom monitoring diary | Participants record symptoms, function, fatigue, or wellbeing at prespecified intervals | In-application forms | Any |
| Functional component | Feedback dashboard | Progress summaries display adherence, symptoms, or performance over time | Charts or reports | Any |
| Functional component | Telecoaching/teleconsultation | A clinician or nurse provides coaching by video, telephone, or messaging at a defined frequency | Video, telephone, or chat | Moderate to high |
| Functional component | Goal setting and action planning | Individual goals and graded tasks are linked to an action plan | In-application goals | Any |
| Functional component | Personalization rules | Intensity or progression changes according to baseline status or ongoing data | Adaptive logic | Any |
| Functional component | Educational content | Structured education addresses technique, self-care, lifestyle, or safety | Micro-lessons | Any |
| Functional component | Objective monitoring | Wearables or phone sensors capture steps, gait, balance, or related measures | Wearable or phone | Any |
| Functional component | Safety screening and alerts | Red-flag checks and escalation rules identify potential harm or clinical deterioration | Alerts or triage | Clinician pathway required |
| Functional component | Clinician portal/data review | A provider-facing dashboard supports monitoring and adjustment | Portal or report | Moderate |
| Functional component | Social/peer support | Peer, group, or caregiver support is embedded in the intervention | Group or community | Low to moderate |
| Functional component | Data export/interoperability | Structured summaries can be exported or linked to other systems | CSV, PDF, or structured report | Any |
Table 2: Coding framework for digital interventions. Categories are defined by delivery technology, rehabilitation content, human support, feedback, adherence support, and personalization.
| Listed entry | Reported design | Reported population | Bibliographic status | Scope/design assessment | Decision for synthesis | Verification requirement | Source / note |
| Sjöström et al., 2022 | RCT | Women with urinary incontinence | Exact citation not supplied | Potential PFD stream only; dual diagnosis not shown | Exclude pending verification | Provide title, journal, DOI/PMID, and outcome data | A related Sjöström research program exists, but the listed year/sample must be matched exactly. |
| Perez et al., 2023 | RCT | Stress urinary incontinence | Exact citation not supplied | Potential PFD stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and trial identifier | No author/journal/title was supplied. |
| Lee et al., 2023 | RCT | Mixed urinary incontinence | Exact citation not supplied | Potential PFD stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and trial identifier | No author/journal/title was supplied. |
| Wang et al., 2024 | RCT | Older women with PFD | Exact citation not supplied | Potential PFD stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and trial identifier | WeChat intervention requires source-level verification. |
| Cochrane Trial Group 2022 | Meta-RCT | PFD patients | Aggregate/placeholder label | Not an individual randomized trial | Exclude | Replace with each eligible primary trial | A pooled review or trial group cannot be entered as one RCT. |
| Tchalla et al., 2025 | RCT | Older adults | Exact citation not supplied | Frailty/PFD diagnosis not documented | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and diagnostic criteria | Readmission alone does not establish frailty or PFD eligibility. |
| Lau et al., 2022 | RCT | Older adults with hypertension | Exact citation not supplied | Population not defined by frailty or PFD | Exclude from target synthesis | Provide source only if a prespecified frailty diagnosis is documented | Hypertension is not a proxy for frailty. |
| Sun et al., 2019 | RCT | Older adults with type 2 diabetes | Verified publication, but out of scope | No frailty or PFD target population | Exclude | Do not pool as frailty/PFD evidence | https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30609983/ |
| Bernocchi et al., 2019 | RCT | Older adults at fall risk | Exact citation not supplied | PFD not documented; frailty diagnosis unclear | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and frailty criteria | Fall risk is not equivalent to a frailty diagnosis. |
| Kwan et al., 2020 | RCT | Cognitive frailty | Exact citation not supplied | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and outcome instrument | Cannot contribute to a PFD network. |
| Otago Group 2023 | Pilot RCT | Frail older adults | Group/placeholder label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide named authors, title, journal, and identifier | Study label is not a complete citation. |
| Smartwatch Study 2025 | Cluster RCT | Frailty | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation, cluster unit, and adjusted effect | Cluster design requires cluster-adjusted analysis. |
| Virtual Balance VR 2024 | RCT | Frail older adults | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and frailty criteria | Study label is not a complete citation. |
| AI-guided Home Care 2025 | RCT | Chronic frailty | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and intervention details | Study label is not a complete citation. |
| Tele-counseling 2024 | RCT | Frail older adults | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and trial identifier | Study label is not a complete citation. |
| Remote sensor training 2024 | RCT | Frailty | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and outcome data | Not included in the recorded meta-analysis, but still requires verification for mapping. |
| Tele-nutrition 2025 | RCT | Frail older adults | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and trial identifier | Study label is not a complete citation. |
| Cognitive assist tele-health 2024 | RCT | Frail older adults | Placeholder-style label | Potential frailty stream only | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and trial identifier | Study label is not a complete citation. |
| Social support chatbot 2025 | RCT | Social frailty | Placeholder-style label | Construct differs from physical frailty/PFD | Exclude pending verification | Provide full citation and prespecified outcome domain | Social frailty should not be pooled automatically with physical frailty. |
| Tele-rehab observational 2021 | Cohort | Post-surgery PFD | Nonrandomized by recorded description | Ineligible for RCT efficacy synthesis | Exclude from meta-analysis | May retain only in separately labeled evidence map | Use a design-appropriate risk-of-bias tool if retained. |
| Digital education program 2022 | Quasi-experimental | Older women | Nonrandomized by recorded description | Ineligible for RCT efficacy synthesis; PFD diagnosis unclear | Exclude from meta-analysis | May retain only after source and population verification | Do not classify as an RCT. |
Table 3: Study source-verification matrix. Each listed record is classified by bibliographic verifiability, design, population alignment, and eligibility for quantitative synthesis.
| Certainty domain | Required information | Availability | Assessment | Consequence |
| Risk of bias | Outcome-level RoB 2 signaling responses and judgments | Unavailable | Not rated | No certainty category assigned |
| Directness | Population, intervention, comparator, and outcome alignment | Incomplete for listed records | Not rated | Condition-specific evidence is not generalized to concurrent frailty and PFD |
| Heterogeneity | Compatible study-level effects and variance estimates | Unavailable | Not calculated | I-squared and tau-squared not reported |
| Precision | Reproducible effect estimates and confidence intervals | Unavailable | Not rated | Displayed legacy estimates are not used for inference |
| Network inconsistency | Connected loops with direct and indirect estimates | Not established | Not tested | No node-splitting or global inconsistency result |
| Transitivity | Distribution of plausible effect modifiers by comparison | Unavailable | Not assessed | No network ranking |
| Publication bias | Adequate number of study-level effects | Unavailable | Not tested | No Egger or Begg inference |
Table 4: Certainty-assessment prerequisites. The table records the availability of risk-of-bias, directness, heterogeneity, precision, and publication-bias inputs.
| Requirement | Prespecified criterion | Observed status | Decision | Implication |
| Eligible study set | Source-verifiable randomized trials meeting age and diagnostic criteria | Not established | Quantitative synthesis not initiated | Use condition-specific narrative evidence mapping |
| Bibliographic verification | Complete citation and unique study identifier for every included record | Incomplete | Unverified entries excluded | Prevents aggregate or placeholder labels from being analyzed as trials |
| Study-level outcomes | Extractable group data, time points, instruments, and analysis populations | Unavailable | No effect estimation | Forest-plot values are not interpreted as reproducible pooled effects |
| Outcome compatibility | Common construct and clinically comparable follow-up | Not established | No SMD/MD pooling | Frailty and PFD outcomes remain separate |
| Network connectivity | At least one connected network of eligible treatment comparisons | Not established | No network meta-analysis | No direct/indirect effect matrix |
| Transitivity | Effect modifiers sufficiently comparable across comparisons | Not assessable | No ranking or inconsistency inference | Age, diagnosis, severity, dose, and co-interventions require study-level review |
| Risk of bias | Outcome-level RoB 2 signaling responses and duplicate judgments | Unavailable | No pooled RoB summary | Certainty of evidence not rated |
| Analysis inputs and code | Statistical input data plus executable analysis scripts | Unavailable | R and Stata not used | Software versions are not applicable |
Table 5: Quantitative-synthesis feasibility matrix. The table records whether eligibility, source verification, connectivity, transitivity, outcome compatibility, and analysis-file requirements were met.
| Intervention category | Frailty stream | PFD stream | Concurrent frailty + PFD | Potential outcome domains | Synthesis role |
| App-guided pelvic floor muscle training | Not applicable unless frailty is documented | Condition-specific evidence available | Not verified | Urinary symptoms; pelvic-floor function; adherence; quality of life | Narrative PFD mapping |
| Videoconferencing / telerehabilitation | Potentially relevant after source verification | Condition-specific evidence available | Not verified | Function; technique; symptoms; adherence; service access | Separate condition-specific mapping |
| Wearable or sensor-assisted training | Potentially relevant | Potentially relevant | Not verified | Activity; gait; balance; muscle performance; adherence | Exploratory evidence mapping |
| Remote monitoring and case management | Potentially relevant | Potentially relevant | Not verified | Symptoms; function; safety alerts; health-service use | Exploratory evidence mapping |
| VR / exergaming | Potentially relevant after frailty verification | No verified PFD synthesis set | Not verified | Balance; strength; engagement; falls-related outcomes | Narrative frailty mapping |
| AI / chatbot-assisted support | Potentially relevant | Potentially relevant | Not verified | Education; reminders; self-management; triage | Exploratory evidence mapping |
| Usual care / nondigital active control | Comparator | Comparator | Comparator only if dual diagnosis is verified | Condition-specific comparator outcomes | Comparator label; not a digital node |
Table 6: Condition-specific evidence-mapping matrix. Intervention classes are mapped to eligible population streams and potential outcome domains without estimating comparative effects.
| Planned analysis | Minimum requirement | Reporting |
| Pairwise meta-analysis | At least two clinically compatible, source-verifiable trials | Condition-specific narrative synthesis |
| Network meta-analysis | Connected eligible network with plausible transitivity | No direct or indirect network estimates |
| Forest-plot interpretation | Reproducible study effects, variances, and analysis populations | Captions state the reproducibility limitation |
| SUCRA ranking | Connected network, rank probabilities, and uncertainty | No claim of treatment superiority |
| Inconsistency testing | Connected loops and direct/indirect estimates | No global or node-splitting inference |
| Subgroup / meta-regression | Sufficient studies and prespecified study-level covariates | No effect-modifier claim |
| Sensitivity analysis | Reproducible primary quantitative model | No leave-one-out or model-switching result |
| Small-study-effect testing | Adequate number of independent study effects | No Egger or Begg inference |
Table 7: Synthesis decision log. The table records which planned quantitative analyses were not performed and the reason for each decision.