Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

4.10: Les microtubules
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Microtubules
 
TRANSCRIPTION

4.10: Les microtubules

Il existe trois types de structures cytosquelettiques dans les cellules eucaryotes : les microfilaments, les filaments intermédiaires et les microtubules. Avec un diamètre d’environ 25 nm, les microtubules sont les plus épaisses de ces fibres. Les microtubules réalisent une grande variété de fonctions qui incluent la structure et le soutien cellulaires, le transport des organites, la motilité (mouvement) cellulaire et la séparation des chromosomes pendant la division cellulaire.

Les microtubules sont des tubes creux dont les parois sont composées de protéines de tubuline globulaire. Chaque molécule de tubuline est un hétérodimère, composé d’une sous-unité de tubuline-α et d’une sous-unité de tubuline-β. Les dimères sont disposés en rangées linéaires appelées protofilaments. Un microtubule se compose habituellement de 13 protofilaments, disposés côte à côte, enroulés autour du cœur creux.

En raison de cet arrangement, les microtubules sont polaires, ce qui signifie qu’ils ont des extrémités différentes. L’extrémité plus possède la tubuline-β qui est exposée, et l’extrémité moins possède la tubuline-α exposée. Les microtubules peuvent rapidement s’assembler — se développer en longueur grâce à la polymérisation des molécules de tubuline — et se désassembler. Les deux extrémités se comportent différemment à cet égard. L’extrémité plus est généralement l’extrémité à croissance rapide ou l’extrémité à laquelle la tubuline est ajoutée, et l’extrémité moins est l’extrémité à croissance lente ou l’extrémité de laquelle la tubuline se dissocie, selon la situation.

Ce processus d’instabilité dynamique, où les microtubules se développent et rétrécissent rapidement, est important pour des fonctions telles que le remodelage du cytosquelette pendant la division cellulaire et l’extension des axones des neurones en développement.

Les microtubules peuvent également être stables, souvent en se liant à des protéines associées aux microtubules, qui aident la cellule à maintenir sa forme. D’autres protéines, appelées des protéines motrices, peuvent interagir avec les microtubules pour transporter les organites dans un sens particulier. Par exemple, de nombreux neurotransmetteurs sont empaquetés dans des vésicules au niveau du corps cellulaire d’un neurone et sont ensuite transportés à travers l’axone, le long d’une “ voie ” de microtubules, acheminant les vésicules à l’endroit où ils sont nécessaires. Enfin, les microtubules peuvent également dépasser à l’extérieur de la cellule, ce qui constitue la flagelle filamenteuse et les cils qui bougent pour pousser sur les cellules (comme les spermatozoïdes) ou pour déplacer le fluide sur leurs surfaces, comme dans les poumons.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

4.10: Microtubules
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

4.10: Microtubules

There are three types of cytoskeletal structures in eukaryotic cells—microfilaments, intermediate filaments, and microtubules. With a diameter of about 25 nm, microtubules are the thickest of these fibers. Microtubules carry out a variety of functions that include cell structure and support, transport of organelles, cell motility (movement), and the separation of chromosomes during cell division.

Microtubules are hollow tubes whose walls are made up of globular tubulin proteins. Each tubulin molecule is a heterodimer, consisting of a subunit of α-tubulin and a subunit of β-tubulin. The dimers are arranged in linear rows called protofilaments. A microtubule usually consists of 13 protofilaments, arranged side by side, wrapped around the hollow core.

Because of this arrangement, microtubules are polar, meaning that they have different ends. The plus end has β-tubulin exposed, and the minus end has α-tubulin exposed. Microtubules can rapidly assemble—grow in length through polymerization of tubulin molecules—and disassemble. The two ends behave differently in this regard. The plus end is typically the fast-growing end or the end where tubulin is added, and the minus end is the slow-growing end or the end where tubulin dissociates—depending on the situation.

This process of dynamic instability, where microtubules rapidly grow and shrink, is important for functions such as the remodeling of the cytoskeleton during cell division and the extension of axons from growing neurons.

Microtubules also can be stable, often by binding to microtubule-associated proteins, which help the cell to maintain its shape. Other proteins, called motor proteins, can interact with microtubules to transport organelles in a particular direction. For example, many neurotransmitters are packaged into vesicles in the cell body of a neuron and are then transported down the axon along a “track” of microtubules, delivering the vesicles to where they are needed. Finally, microtubules can also protrude outside of the cell—making up the filamentous flagella and cilia that move to push cells (such as sperm) along, or to move fluid across their surfaces, such as in the lungs.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter