Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

4.14: Tissus
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Tissus
 
TRANSCRIPTION

4.14: Tissus

Les cellules ayant une structure et une fonction similaires sont regroupées en tissus. Un groupe de tissus ayant une fonction spécialisée s’appelle un organe. Il existe quatre principaux types de tissus chez les vertébrés : épithélial, conjonctif, musculaire et nerveux.

Tissu épithélial

Le tissu épithélial se compose de fines feuilles de cellules et comprend la peau ainsi que les muqueuses des organes internes et des cavités corporelles. Les cellules épithéliales sont serrées, offrant une barrière contre les blessures, les infections et la perte d’eau. Le tissu épithélial peut être une couche unique appelée épithélium simple, ou plusieurs couches appelées épithélium stratifié. Dans l’épithélium stratifié comme la peau, les cellules externes, qui sont sujettes à des dommages, sont remplacées grâce à la division des cellules en dessous. Les cellules épithéliales ont une variété de formes, y compris squameuse (aplatie), cuboïde, et colonnaire. Certains tissus épithéliaux absorbent ou sécrètent des substances, comme la muqueuse des intestins.

Tissu conjonctif

Le tissu conjonctif est composé de cellules dans une matrice extracellulaire et comprend le tissu conjonctif lâche, le tissu conjonctif fibreux, le tissu adipeux (graisseux), le cartilage, l’os et le sang. Bien que les caractéristiques du tissu conjonctif varient considérablement, leur fonction générale est de soutenir et de relier plusieurs tissus. Par exemple, les tendons sont faits de tissu conjonctif fibreux et relient le muscle à l’os. Le sang transporte l’oxygène, les nutriments ainsi que les déchets et il exerce des fonctions immunitaires pour répondre aux besoins d’autres tissus.

Le tissu musculaire

Le tissu musculaire se compose de groupes de cellules musculaires longues et minces, appelées fibres musculaires. Les cellules musculaires peuvent se contracter et se détendre, ce qui permet au corps et aux organes internes de se déplacer. Les principaux types de tissu musculaire sont le muscle cardiaque du cœur, les muscles squelettiques qui se fixent aux os, tels que les muscles des membres, et le muscle lisse qui se trouve dans les organes viscéraux comme les intestins.

Le tissu nerveux

Le tissu nerveux est composé de neurones — cellules spécialisées qui envoient, transportent et reçoivent l’information par signalisation électrochimique — et de cellules de soutien appelées des cellules gliales. Un faisceau de neurones est un nerf. Un cerveau est la concentration de tissus nerveux. En plus de contrôler le mouvement à travers les muscles, le tissu nerveux détecte les stimuli sensoriels et il est responsable de diriger de nombreuses activités du corps.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

4.10: Tissues
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

4.10: Tissues

Cells with similar structure and function are grouped into tissues. A group of tissues with a specialized function is called an organ. There are four main types of tissue in vertebrates: epithelial, connective, muscle, and nervous.

Epithelial Tissue

Epithelial tissue consists of thin sheets of cells and includes the skin and the linings of internal organs and body cavities. Epithelial cells are tightly packed, providing a barrier against injury, infection, and water loss. Epithelial tissue can be a single layer called simple epithelium, or multiple layers called stratified epithelium. In stratified epithelium, such as the skin, the outer cells—which are subject to damage—are replaced through the division of cells underneath. Epithelial cells have a variety of shapes, including squamous (flattened), cuboid, and columnar. Some epithelial tissues absorb or secrete substances, such as the lining of the intestines.

Connective Tissue

Connective tissue is composed of cells within an extracellular matrix and includes loose connective tissue, fibrous connective tissue, adipose (fat) tissue, cartilage, bone, and blood. Although the characteristics of connective tissue vary greatly, their general function is to support and attach multiple tissues. For example, tendons are made of fibrous connective tissue and attach muscle to bone. Blood transports oxygen, nutrients and waste products, and exerts immune functions, to support the needs of other tissues.

Muscle Tissue

Muscle tissue consists of groups of long, thin muscle cells—called muscle fibers. Muscle cells can contract and expand, allowing the body and internal organs to move. The main types of muscle tissue are the cardiac muscle of the heart; the skeletal muscles that attach to bones, such as the limb muscles; and smooth muscle found in visceral organs such as the intestines.

Nervous Tissue

Nervous tissue is composed of neurons—specialized cells that send, transport, and receive information through electrochemical signaling—and supporting cells called glial cells. A bundle of neurons is a nerve. A brain is the concentration of nervous tissue. Besides controlling movement through the muscles, nervous tissue detects sensory stimuli and is responsible for directing many of the activities of the body.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter