Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.4: Qu'est-ce qu'un gradient électrochimique ?
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

This content is Free Access.

Education
Qu'est-ce qu'un gradient électrochimique ?
 
TRANSCRIPTION

5.4: Qu'est-ce qu'un gradient électrochimique ?

L’adénosine triphosphate, ou ATP, est considérée comme étant la source d’énergie primaire dans les cellules. Cependant, l’énergie peut également être stockée dans le gradient électrochimique d’un ion à travers la membrane plasmique, ce qui est déterminé par deux facteurs : ses gradients chimique et électrique.

Le gradient chimique repose sur des différences entre l’abondance d’une substance à l’extérieur par rapport à l’intérieur d’une cellule et il se propage à partir des zones de concentration ionique élevée vers les zones de faible concentration ionique. En revanche, le gradient électrique tourne autour de la charge électrique d’un ion et des charges globales des environnements intracellulaire et extracellulaire.

Le gradient électrique d’un ion chargé positivement se propage des régions positives aux régions négatives, tandis que l’inverse est vrai pour les ions chargés négativement. C’est l’action combinée de ces facteurs électriques et chimiques qui détermine la direction ultime d’un gradient électrochimique. Quand un ion se déplace le long de cette voie, dans le sens de son gradient électrochimique, de l’énergie est libérée pouvant alors alimenter divers processus biologiques.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

5.4: What is an Electrochemical Gradient?
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

5.4: What is an Electrochemical Gradient?

Adenosine triphosphate, or ATP, is considered the primary energy source in cells. However, energy can also be stored in the electrochemical gradient of an ion across the plasma membrane, which is determined by two factors: its chemical and electrical gradients.

The chemical gradient relies on differences in the abundance of a substance on the outside versus the inside of a cell and flows from areas of high to low ion concentration. In contrast, the electrical gradient revolves around an ion’s electrical charge and the overall charges of the intracellular and extracellular environments.

The electrical gradient of a positively-charged ion flows from positive to negative regions, while the reverse is true for negatively-charged ions. It is the combined action of these electrical and chemical factors that determine the ultimate direction of an electrochemical gradient. When an ion moves along this path, down its electrochemical gradient, energy is freed that can then power diverse biological processes.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter