Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.8: Qu'est-ce que le climat ?
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
What is Climate?
 
TRANSCRIPTION

29.8: Qu'est-ce que le climat ?

Le climat fait référence aux conditions météorologiques qui prévalent dans une région spécifique sur une période prolongée. Comme le dit l’adage : “ le climat est ce que à quoi vous vous attendez ; le temps ce que vous avez ”. Le climat est influencé par des facteurs géographiques, tels que la latitude, le terrain et la proximité des plans d’eau.

Météo et climat

Les conditions météorologiques et climatiques sont liées, bien qu’elles diffèrent en termes d’échelle de temps et de prévisibilité. La météo fait référence à l’état de l’atmosphère à un moment et à un endroit précis, alors que le climat englobe les conditions météorologiques “ moyennes ” sur une période beaucoup plus longue. En termes de prévisibilité, les prévisions météorologiques sont limitées à plusieurs jours, mais le climat peut être modélisé et prévu sur des périodes importantes, telles que des années, voire des décennies.

Le système climatique

Le système climatique de la Terre se compose de plusieurs sous-systèmes plus petits et en interaction. L’atmosphère est une enveloppe de gaz entourant la Terre. L’hydrosphère se compose de toute l’eau à la surface de la Terre, au-dessus ou en dessous. Les océans couvrent plus des deux tiers de la surface de la Terre. La glace, y compris la banquise, les glaciers, les calottes glaciaires et la neige, représente la cryosphère, qui fait également partie de l’hydrosphère. La géosphère, ou lithosphère, se compose de la croûte terrestre. Enfin, la biosphère comprend tous les écosystèmes de la Terre, ce qui inclut tous les organismes vivants et leurs interactions avec l’atmosphère, l’hydrosphère, la cryosphère et la lithosphère. Ces sous-systèmes échangent de l’énergie, de l’eau et la quantité de mouvement. La source d’énergie à l’origine de toutes ces interactions complexes est le rayonnement du soleil.

Équilibre énergétique planétaire

Le système climatique est alimenté par le rayonnement du soleil ; cependant, le rayonnement solaire ne fournit même pas assez d’énergie pour maintenir la Terre au-dessus des températures de congélation. La température de la Terre, qui a un impact significatif sur le climat, dépend de l’amplification de l’énergie thermique du rayonnement solaire. La surface de la Terre absorbe environ 49 % du rayonnement solaire, et ~20 % est absorbé par l’atmosphère. Ce rayonnement réchauffe la planète, ce qui fait qu’à son tour la Terre renvoie de l’énergie dans l’espace. Ainsi, la température ultime de la planète est déterminée par l’équilibre entre l’énergie qui est absorbée et l’énergie perdue.

Changement climatique et société

Par rapport aux modèles révélés par les données historiques, le climat de la Terre évolue actuellement rapidement. Bien que ces changements soient trop infimes pour être remarqués au quotidien, l’accumulation de ces changements infimes pourrait avoir des répercussions dévastatrices sur la société. Les industries de l’agriculture et de la production alimentaire sont particulièrement vulnérables au changement climatique, et plusieurs modèles ont été créés pour prévoir les effets potentiels du changement climatique. Bien que les effets du changement climatique sur la production alimentaire varient selon les cultures et les régions, un modèle prévoit que l’Asie du Sud et l’Afrique méridionale sont susceptibles de subir des effets négatifs sur plusieurs récoltes qui sont importantes pour les grandes populations en situation d’insécurité alimentaire.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

29.2: What is Climate?
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

29.2: What is Climate?

Climate refers to the prevailing weather conditions in a specific area over an extended period. As the saying goes, “Climate is what you expect. Weather is what you get.” Climate is influenced by geographic factors, such as latitude, terrain, and proximity to bodies of water.

Weather and Climate

Weather and climate are related, though they differ in terms of time scale and predictability. Weather refers to the state of the atmosphere at a specific time and place, whereas climate encompasses the “average” weather conditions over a much longer time. In terms of predictability, weather forecasts are limited to days, but the climate can be modeled and predicted over substantial periods, such as years or even decades.

The Climate System

The Earth’s climate system consists of several smaller, interacting sub-systems. The atmosphere is an envelope of gases surrounding the Earth. The hydrosphere consists of all the water on, above, or below the Earth’s surface. Oceans cover more than two-thirds of the Earth’s surface. Ice, including sea ice, glaciers, ice sheets, and snow, comprises the cryosphere, which is also part of the hydrosphere. The geosphere, or lithosphere, consists of the Earth’s crust. Finally, the biosphere includes all the ecosystems on Earth, including all living organisms and their interactions with the atmosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and lithosphere. These sub-systems exchange energy, water, and momentum. The power source driving all of these complex interactions is radiation from the sun.

Planetary Energy Balance

The climate system is powered by radiation from the sun; however, solar radiation does not even provide enough energy to keep the Earth above freezing temperatures. The Earth’s temperature, which has a significant impact on climate, depends on the amplification of thermal energy from solar radiation. The Earth’s surface absorbs approximately 49% of solar radiation, and ~20% is absorbed by the atmosphere. This radiation warms the planet, which in turn causes the Earth to radiate energy back into space. Thus, the ultimate temperature of the planet is determined by the balance between the energy that as absorbed and lost.

Climate Change and Society

Compared to patterns revealed by historical data, Earth’s climate is currently changing rapidly. While these changes are too minute to notice on a day-to-day basis, the accumulation of these minute changes could have devastating impacts on society. Agriculture and food production industries are particularly vulnerable to climate change, and several models have been created to predict the potential effects of climate change. While the effects of climate change on food production vary by crop and region, one model predicts that South Asia and Southern Africa are likely to suffer negative impacts on several crops that are important to large, food-insecure populations.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter