Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

32.1: Was ist Populationsgenetik?
INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Was ist Populationsgenetik?
 
PROTOKOLLE

32.1: Was ist Populationsgenetik?

Eine Population setzt sich aus Mitgliedern derselben Art zusammen, welche gleichzeitig dasselbe Gebiet bewohnen und miteinander interagieren. Wenn sich Individuen in einer Population fortpflanzen, geben sie ihre Gene an ihre Nachkommen weiter. Viele dieser Gene sind polymorph, das heißt sie kommen in mehreren Varianten vor. Solche Varianten eines Gens werden als Allele bezeichnet. Der gemeinsame Satz aller Allele innerhalb einer Population wird als Genpool bezeichnet.

Während einige Allele eines bestimmten Gens häufig vorkommen, können andere Varianten weniger oft vorkommen. Genpools sind nicht statisch. Die Häufigkeit und das Vorkommen der Allelen in einem Genpool können sich mit der Zeit ändern. Zum Beispiel ändern sich die Häufigkeiten der Allele durch zufällige Mutationen, natürlicher Selektion, Migration und dem Zufall.

Populationsgenetik untersucht die genetische Variation innerhalb und zwischen Populationen sowie Veränderungen der Allelhäufigkeit über Generationen hinweg. Populationsgenetiker verwenden mathematische Modelle, um Allelhäufigkeiten in Populationen zu untersuchen und vorherzusagen.

Die vergleichende Populationsgenetik und ihre Bedeutung

Die Genpools von natürlichen Populationen können erheblich variieren. Ein Ziel der Populationsgenetik ist es, die genetische Variation zwischen verschiedenen Populationen derselben Art zu bestimmen. Die Untersuchung solcher Variationen hat Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit, Tierzüchtung, Bewirtschaftung und Erhaltung der Arten. Beispielsweise führt die zunehmende Verstädterung zu einer allmählichen Trennung von natürlichen Landschaften und somit zu einem Verlust des Lebensraums und folglich zur Teilung und Isolierung natürlicher Populationen. Der Vergleich des genetischen Aufbaus verschiedener Populationen kann Erkenntnisse über den Genfluss liefern und ist wichtig für die Erhaltung der Wildtierpopulationen. Das Verständnis des Genpools von gefährdeten Arten ist entscheidend für die Erhaltung der Biodiversität im globalen Ökosystem.

Menschliche Gesundheit und Bevölkerungsgenetik

Populationsgenetik kann auch zur Untersuchung der genetischen Variation innerhalb und zwischen menschlichen Populationen verwendet werden. Unterschiede in den Allelhäufigkeiten verursachen die Variation im Auftreten bestimmter Erbkrankheiten, wie z.B. das Tay-Sachs-Syndroms der Aschkenasi oder der β-Thalassämie in der mediterranen Bevölkerung.

Die Populationsgenetik wird auch zum Verständnis der genetischen Grundlage anderer menschlicher Merkmale verwendet. Zum Beispiel wurde die Populationsgenetik verwendet, um zu untersuchen, wie die natürliche Selektion die angeborenen Immunität, die Körpergröße und die Langlebigkeit beeinflusst hat.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

33.1: What is Population Genetics?
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

33.1: What is Population Genetics?

A population is composed of members of the same species that simultaneously live and interact in the same area. When individuals in a population breed, they pass down their genes to their offspring. Many of these genes are polymorphic, meaning that they occur in multiple variants. Such variations of a gene are referred to as alleles. The collective set of all the alleles within a population is known as the gene pool.

While some alleles of a given gene might be observed commonly, other variants may be encountered at a much lower frequency. Gene pools are not static. The frequency and occurrence of alleles in a gene pool may change over time. For instance, allele frequencies change due to random mutations, natural selection, migration, and chance.

Population genetics examines genetic variation within and between populations, and changes in allele frequencies across generations. Population geneticists use mathematical models to investigate and predict allele frequencies in populations.

Comparative Population Genetics and Its Implications

The gene pools of natural populations may vary significantly. One goal of population genetics is to determine genetic variation among different populations of the same species. Studying such variations has implications for species health, domestication, management and conservation. For instance, increased urbanization gradually fragments natural landscapes and leads to habitat loss, division, and isolation of natural populations. Comparing the genetic makeup of different populations can provide insights about gene flow, and is important for maintaining wildlife populations. Understanding the gene pool of endangered species is crucial for conserving biodiversity in the global ecosystem.

Human Health and Population Genetics

Population genetics can also be used to investigate the genetic variation within and among human populations. Differences in allele frequencies underlie the variation in the occurrence of certain hereditary diseases, such as Tay-Sachs disease in the Ashkenazi Jewish population or beta-thalassemia in Mediterranean populations.

Population genetics is also used to understand the genetic basis of other human characteristics. For instance, population genetics has been used to study how natural selection has shaped innate immunity, body height, and longevity.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter