Baseline characteristics and availability of secondary outcomes
Table 1 summarizes baseline characteristics for 122 extended-regimen and 130 single-dose participants. The displayed category counts are consistent with these denominators. The mean stone diameter was 0.8 ± 0.3 cm versus 0.9 ± 0.4 cm (approximate unadjusted Welch P = 0.025); other displayed baseline comparisons had p ≥ 0.05. These comparisons do not establish clinical equivalence or exclude residual imbalance. Postoperative hospital stay, actual double-J stent duration, operative-time summaries, and 1-month stone-clearance counts were not reported by the group. Figure 3 displays baseline characteristics using the same group summaries as Table 1. Continuous values are shown as mean ± SD and categorical values as patient counts. Table 1 identifies the exploratory summary-based statistical comparisons.
Comparison of postoperative inflammatory markers between groups
Before surgery, WBC was 6.1 ± 1.2 × 109/L in the extended-regimen group and 6.4 ± 1.1 × 109/L in the single-dose group (approximate unadjusted Welch p = 0.040). Preoperative NEUT%, CRP, and PCT comparisons had p = 0.296, 0.527, and 1.000, respectively (Table 2). Thus, the claim that all preoperative inflammatory markers were comparable is not supported by the displayed summaries. On postoperative days 1 and 3, all four mean marker values were lower in the extended-regimen group (all unadjusted summary-based p < 0.001; Tables 3 and 4). Figures 4–6 display the marker summaries at each time point. Both groups had higher postoperative mean values than preoperative values, followed by lower means on day 3 than on day 1. These descriptive patterns do not establish a faster recovery trajectory because numerical group-by-time results and adjusted longitudinal contrasts are not reported. The reported percentage-change summaries are presented in Table 5 and Figures 7 and 8. These values are retained as descriptive summaries of individual percentage change; the percentage changes cannot be reconstructed or validated from ratios of rounded group means. No longitudinal or adjusted p-values are assigned to these summaries.
Comparison of postoperative infection-related symptoms between groups
The reported symptom composite occurred in 20/122 extended-regimen participants (16.4%) and 39/130 single-dose participants (30.0%; two-sided Fisher exact p = 0.012). Fever occurred in 7/122 (5.7%) versus 13/130 (10.0%; p = 0.249), and chills in 5/122 (4.1%) versus 9/130 (6.9%; P = 0.414). Urinary frequency occurred in 2/122 (1.6%) versus 6/130 (4.6%; p = 0.283), urgency in 2/122 (1.6%) versus 5/130 (3.8%; p = 0.448), and dysuria in 4/122 (3.3%) versus 6/130 (4.6%; p = 0.750). These are unadjusted comparisons of manifestations rather than confirmed infections (Table 6; Figure 9). No pooled urinary-symptom test is reported because patient-level overlap among symptoms is not available.
Comparison of postoperative complications between groups
The reported overall surgical-complication counts were 13/122 (10.7%) and 19/130 (14.6%) in the extended-regimen and single-dose groups. Exploratory Fisher exact comparisons did not show statistically significant differences for the reported surgical outcomes (Table 7; Figure 10). These findings neither establish equivalence nor characterize ceftriaxone-related safety. Exact group-specific frequencies of allergic, gastrointestinal, hepatic, renal, and C. difficile-associated events were not reported. Reported overall counts are interpreted as participant-level totals; event overlap cannot be established from the category summaries alone. Numerical variance inflation factors (VIFs) and tolerance values were not reported, so the absence of problematic multicollinearity cannot be established from Table 843.
Analysis of risk factors for postoperative infection-related manifestations
The reported multivariable model concerned infection-related manifestations rather than microbiologically confirmed infection (Table 8). The model included age ≥60 years, diabetes mellitus, stone CT value ≥1000 HU, operative duration ≥60 min, and single-dose ceftriaxone prophylaxis. Separate univariable results were not reported. Reported adjusted odds ratios were 2.35 (95% CI 1.26–4.36) for age ≥60 years, 2.81 (1.43–5.56) for diabetes, 1.92 (1.06–3.52) for stone CT value ≥1000 HU, 2.46 (1.28–4.67) for operative duration ≥60 min, and 2.63 (1.36–5.03) for single-dose ceftriaxone prophylaxis. Table 8 presents the reported coefficients, standard errors, Wald statistics, odds ratios, confidence intervals, and P-values. The model estimates have not been reconstructed from patient-level data. These exploratory associations do not establish causation or identify a subgroup in which extended prophylaxis is effective44. In particular, an association between regimen and symptoms does not prove that a prolonged course prevents confirmed infection. No treatment-by-risk-factor interaction analysis is reported.
Comparison of the quality of life between groups
SF-36 discharge scores are shown in Table 9 and Figure 11. Approximate unadjusted Welch p-values from the displayed summaries were physical functioning, 0.166; role-physical, 0.238; bodily pain, <0.001; general health, <0.001; vitality, <0.001; social functioning, <0.001; role-emotional, 0.170; mental health, 0.070. Mean scores were higher in the extended-regimen group for bodily pain, general health, vitality, and social functioning. These comparisons are exploratory. The extended-regimen group had higher scores in selected SF-36 domains at discharge. Baseline SF-36 values, baseline-adjusted comparisons, multiplicity-adjusted results, and a prespecified clinically important difference were not reported. These findings therefore describe exploratory between-group differences at discharge and do not demonstrate improvement from baseline or a direct ceftriaxone effect45.
DATA AVAILABILITY:
The raw data that support the findings of this study are publicly available in the form of a supplementary compressed folder called “Rawdata.rar”. Please click here to download this file.

Figure 1: Schematic diagram. Schematic overview of ureteroscopic access to the ureter and renal pelvis for stone visualization and laser fragmentation. Figure 1 is an original anatomical schematic created by the authors using Canva Pro. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 2: Overview of the ceftriaxone prophylaxis regimens and assessment schedule. The displayed n = 122 and n = 130 are the counts for the analyzed groups. This overview does not establish initial randomization counts or the absence of attrition. Figure 2 is an original study regimen diagram created using Microsoft PowerPoint, version 2019. Abbreviations: RUL = rigid ureteroscopic lithotripsy. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 3: Baseline characteristics of the ceftriaxone groups. (A) Age, (B) BMI, (C) Diabetes, (D) Sex, (E) Hypertension, (F) Stone CT value, (G) Stone diameter, (H) Stone location, and (I) Stone number. Continuous variables are mean ± SD; categorical panels display patient counts. Group summaries match Table 1. Statistical comparisons are exploratory summary-based checks reported in Table 1. Figures 3–11 were generated by the authors from this study’s data using GraphPad Prism 9.3.1. The authors confirm that these figures contain no previously published images, adapted panels, or third-party icons. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 4: Preoperative levels. (A) CRP, (B) NEUT%, (C) PCT, and (D) WBC. Bars show mean ± SD for the extended-regimen (n = 122) and single-dose (n = 130) ceftriaxone groups. Panel order and plotted values match Table 2. Approximate unadjusted time-specific p-values are reported in Table 2; these are not longitudinal-model results. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 5: Postoperative day-1 levels. (A) CRP, (B) NEUT%, (C) PCT, and (D) WBC. Bars show the ceftriaxone group mean ± SD, as reported in Table 3. Time-specific comparisons in Table 3 are approximate and unadjusted. No group, time, group-by-time, or adjusted pairwise model statistics are represented. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 6: Postoperative day-3 levels. (A) CRP, (B) NEUT%, (C) PCT, and (D) WBC. Bars show the ceftriaxone group mean ± SD, as reported in Table 4. Time-specific comparisons in Table 4 are approximate and unadjusted. No group, time, group-by-time, or adjusted pairwise model statistics are represented. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 7: Reported percentage changes from preoperative values to postoperative day 1. (A) CRP, (B) NEUT%, (C) PCT, and (D) WBC. Bars show the ceftriaxone group mean ± SD from Table 5. Individual percentage-change values cannot be reconstructed from group means. No adjusted longitudinal inference is shown. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 8: Reported percentage changes from preoperative values to postoperative day 3. (A) CRP, (B) NEUT%, (C) PCT, and (D) WBC. Bars show the ceftriaxone group mean ± SD from Table 5. Individual percentage-change values cannot be reconstructed from group means. No adjusted longitudinal inference is shown. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 9: Reported infection-related manifestations. (A) Chills, (B) Fever, (C) Urinary frequency, urgency, and dysuria, and (D) The symptom composite. Bars show ceftriaxone-group patient counts, with group denominators of 122 and 130, respectively. Symptoms are not confirmed infections. Unadjusted two-sided Fisher's exact p-values are given in Table 6. No symptom-free urinary-symptom category is inferred from overlapping event counts. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 10. Reported surgical complications. (A) Hemorrhage, (B) Ureteral perforation, (C) Urinary obstruction, (D) Double-J stent-related symptoms, and (E) Overall complication count. Bars show ceftriaxone-group patient counts with group denominators of 122 and 130. Unadjusted two-sided Fisher's exact p-values are given in Table 7. These panels do not report ceftriaxone-related safety. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 11. SF-36 scores at discharge. (A) Physical functioning, (B) Role-physical, (C) Bodily pain, (D) General health, (E) Vitality, (F) Social functioning, (G) Role-emotional, and (H) Mental health. Bars show ceftriaxone-group mean ± SD from Table 9 on the 0–100 score scale. Approximate unadjusted summary-based Welch comparisons are given in Table 9; no baseline-adjusted or multiplicity-adjusted treatment effect is shown. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.
| Characteristics | Extended-regimen group (n = 122) | Single-dose group (n = 130) | p-value |
| Sex (M/F) | 62 / 60 | 74 / 56 | 0.376 |
| Age (years) | 42.7 ± 8.2 | 43.1 ± 8.6 | 0.706 |
| BMI (kg/m²) | 23.6 ± 3.1 | 24.2 ± 3.4 | 0.144 |
| Hypertension [n (%)] | 23 (18.9%) | 25 (19.2%) | 1 |
| Diabetes [n (%)] | 13 (10.7%) | 17 (13.1%) | 0.567 |
| Stone Location [n (%)] | | | 0.61 |
| Proximal ureter | 39 (32.0%) | 37 (28.5%) | |
| Mid ureter | 46 (37.7%) | 46 (35.4%) | |
| Distal ureter | 37 (30.3%) | 47 (36.2%) | |
| Stone Diameter (cm) | 0.8 ± 0.3 | 0.9 ± 0.4 | 0.025 |
| Stone Number [n (%)] | | | 0.859 |
| Single | 104 (85.2%) | 112 (86.2%) | |
| Multiple | 18 (14.8%) | 18 (13.8%) | |
| Stone CT Value (HU) | 866 ± 245 | 893 ± 257 | 0.394 |
Table 1: Baseline characteristics of the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups. Demographic, comorbidity, and stone characteristics are summarized for 122 and 130 participants, respectively. Continuous values are mean ± SD, and categorical values are n (%); comparisons are exploratory. Data are mean ± SD or n (%), using denominators of 122 and 130. Approximate two-sided Welch t-test p-values were calculated from the displayed rounded continuous summaries. Categorical comparisons use two-sided Fisher's exact tests, except for stone location (Pearson chi-square, χ2 = 0.990, df = 2). All p-values are exploratory and unadjusted. Abbreviations: BMI = body mass index; CT = computed tomography; HU = Hounsfield units.
| Group | WBC (×10⁹/L) | NEUT (%) | CRP (mg/L) | PCT (ng/mL) |
| Extended regimen (n = 122) | 6.1 ± 1.2 | 59.6 ± 4.4 | 3.6 ± 1.3 | 0.06 ± 0.02 |
| Single dose (n = 130) | 6.4 ± 1.1 | 60.2 ± 4.7 | 3.7 ± 1.2 | 0.06 ± 0.01 |
| p-value | 0.04 | 0.296 | 0.527 | 1 |
Table 2: Preoperative inflammatory markers in the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups. White blood cell count, neutrophil percentage, C-reactive protein, and procalcitonin are summarized before surgery. Values are mean ± SD; p-values are approximate, unadjusted comparisons of rounded group summaries. Data are mean ± SD. Approximate unadjusted two-sided Welch p-values were calculated from the displayed rounded summaries and n = 122/130. These are preoperative comparisons, not longitudinal-model outputs. Abbreviations: WBC = white blood cell count; NEUT = neutrophil percentage; CRP = C-reactive protein; PCT = procalcitonin.
| Group | WBC (×10⁹/L) | NEUT (%) | CRP (mg/L) | PCT (ng/mL) |
| Extended regimen (n = 122) | 8.4 ± 1.1 | 72.1 ± 5.4 | 15.1 ± 3.2 | 0.11 ± 0.04 |
| Single dose (n = 130) | 10.3 ± 1.4 | 78.4 ± 6.1 | 22.4 ± 4.1 | 0.24 ± 0.03 |
| p-value | <0.001 | <0.001 | <0.001 | <0.001 |
Table 3: Inflammatory markers on postoperative day 1 in the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups. Day-1 white blood cell count, neutrophil percentage, C-reactive protein, and procalcitonin are summarized as mean ± SD. p-values are approximate unadjusted between-group comparisons, not longitudinal treatment effects. Data are mean ± SD. P-values are approximate, unadjusted, two-sided Welch comparisons of day-1 rounded summaries using n = 122/130. They do not test a group-by-time interaction and are not adjusted for longitudinal contrasts.
| Group | n | WBC (×10⁹/L) | NEUT (%) | CRP (mg/L) | PCT (ng/mL) |
| Extended-regimen group | 122 | 7.7 ± 1.1 | 68.6 ± 4.7 | 8.4 ± 2.3 | 0.09 ± 0.03 |
| Single-dose group | 130 | 9.6 ± 1.2 | 74.3 ± 5.6 | 14.5 ± 3.2 | 0.17 ± 0.05 |
| P-value | - | <0.001 | <0.001 | <0.001 | <0.001 |
Table 4: Inflammatory markers on postoperative day 3 in the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups. Data are mean ± SD. p-values are approximate, unadjusted, two-sided Welch comparisons of day-3 rounded summaries using n = 122/130. They do not test a group-by-time interaction and are not adjusted for longitudinal contrasts.
| Marker | Time point | Extended regimen (n = 122) | Single dose (n = 130) |
| WBC | Postoperative Day 1 | 33.3±12.3 | 60.9±15.6 |
| Postoperative Day 3 | 22.2±10.6 | 50.0±14.2 |
| NEUT% | Postoperative Day 1 | 21.0±8.4 | 30.2±10.2 |
| Postoperative Day 3 | 15.1±7.2 | 23.4±9.1 |
| CRP | Postoperative Day 1 | 319.4±98.2 | 505.4±132.1 |
| Postoperative Day 3 | 133.3±67.4 | 291.9±94.3 |
| PCT | Postoperative Day 1 | 83.3±60.5 | 300.0±120.6 |
| Postoperative Day 3 | 50.0±42.3 | 183.3±94.5 |
Table 5: Percentage change in inflammatory markers from preoperative values after ceftriaxone prophylaxis. Values are the reported mean ± SD percentage changes. Mean individual percentage change is distinct from the percentage change calculated from group means. —, adjusted longitudinal p-value not reported. No repeated-measures inference is assigned to these descriptive summaries.
| Symptom | Extended-regimen group (n = 122) | Single-dose group (n = 130) | p-value |
| Fever | 7 (5.7%) | 13 (10.0%) | 0.249 |
| Chills | 5 (4.1%) | 9 (6.9%) | 0.414 |
| Urinary symptoms | | | — |
| Urinary Frequency | 2 (1.6%) | 6 (4.6%) | 0.283 |
| Urinary Urgency | 2 (1.6%) | 5 (3.8%) | 0.448 |
| Dysuria | 4 (3.3%) | 6 (4.6%) | 0.75 |
| Reported symptom composite | 20 (16.4%) | 39 (30.0%) | 0.012 |
Table 6: Postoperative infection-related manifestations in the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups [n (%)]. Data are n (%). p-values were calculated using two-sided Fisher's exact tests from the displayed counts and are unadjusted. The reported composite is at least one manifestation per participant; it is not a confirmed infection. —, no pooled urinary-symptom comparison because unique-patient overlap counts are unavailable.
| Complication | Extended-regimen group (n = 122) | Single-dose group (n = 130) | p-value |
| Hemorrhage | 2 (1.6%) | 3 (2.3%) | 1 |
| Perforation | 0 (0.0%) | 1 (0.8%) | 1 |
| Urinary obstruction | 2 (1.6%) | 3 (2.3%) | 1 |
| Double-J stent-related symptoms | 9 (7.4%) | 12 (9.2%) | 0.653 |
| Overall complication rate | 13 (10.7%) | 19 (14.6%) | 0.449 |
Table 7: Postoperative complications in the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups [n (%)]. Data are n (%), calculated from the displayed counts and n = 122/130. p-values use two-sided Fisher's exact tests and are unadjusted. The reported overall count is distinct from a sum of overlapping events. Surgical complications do not establish ceftriaxone safety; ceftriaxone-related adverse-event frequencies were not reported.
| Risk factor | β | SE | Wald | OR | 95% CI | p-value |
| Age ≥ 60 years | 0.853 | 0.316 | 7.29 | 2.35 | 1.26 – 4.36 | 0.007 |
| Diabetes mellitus | 1.034 | 0.349 | 8.78 | 2.81 | 1.43 – 5.56 | 0.003 |
| Stone CT value ≥1000 HU | 0.653 | 0.309 | 4.48 | 1.92 | 1.06 – 3.52 | 0.034 |
| Operative duration ≥60 min | 0.902 | 0.328 | 7.48 | 2.46 | 1.28 – 4.67 | 0.006 |
| Single-dose ceftriaxone | 0.968 | 0.335 | 8.38 | 2.63 | 1.36 – 5.03 | 0.004 |
Table 8: Multivariable logistic regression of postoperative infection-related manifestations after ceftriaxone prophylaxis. Reported multivariable estimates for the infection-related manifestation outcome. Reference categories are age <60 years, no diabetes, stone CT value <1000 HU, operative duration <60 min, and extended regimen. Numerical VIF and tolerance values and complete model diagnostics were not reported; the estimates remain exploratory. Abbreviations: β = regression coefficient; SE = standard error; OR = odds ratio; CI = confidence interval.
| Domain | Extended regimen (n = 122) | Single dose (n = 130) | p-value |
| Physical functioning | 72.6 ± 10.4 | 70.7 ± 11.3 | 0.166 |
| Role-physical | 65.4 ± 12.3 | 63.5 ± 13.2 | 0.238 |
| Bodily pain | 78.5 ± 9.1 | 72.5 ± 10.5 | <0.001 |
| General health | 70.1 ± 8.6 | 65.8 ± 9.2 | <0.001 |
| Vitality | 69.7 ± 7.7 | 64.3 ± 8.6 | <0.001 |
| Social functioning | 73.6 ± 8.4 | 68.7 ± 9.2 | <0.001 |
| Role-emotional | 71.3 ± 10.6 | 69.4 ± 11.3 | 0.17 |
| Mental health | 74.5 ± 9.7 | 72.2 ± 10.4 | 0.07 |
Table 9: SF-36 scores at discharge in the extended and single-dose ceftriaxone groups. Data are mean ± SD. P-values are approximate, unadjusted two-sided Welch tests calculated from the displayed rounded summaries and n = 122/130. Baseline SF-36 values and multiplicity-adjusted comparisons were not reported. Higher scores indicate better reported health status.