Study selection
The original search identified 144 records. After removal of duplicates, 68 records underwent title and abstract screening. Sixty records were excluded, and eight full texts were assessed. Three full texts were excluded because two were not randomized and one was a companion report of an included trial. Five unique randomized trials involving 458 participants were included (Figure 1A).
The updated bibliographic search through 26 September 2026 retrieved nine records: five from Wanfang Data and four from VIP, with none from PubMed, Embase, Web of Science, CNKI, or SinoMed. After cross-database deduplication, six unique records were screened; none represented an additional eligible independent randomized trial. The evidence base therefore remained five unique randomized trials involving 458 participants (Figure 1B; Supplementary Table 7).
Study and intervention characteristics
The trials were published from 2019 to 2023 and were conducted in China25,26,27,28,29. Sample sizes ranged from 60 to 200 participants. Four trials used oral plus topical Jidesheng Snake Tablets, whereas one used oral treatment alone. Four reports identified the same manufacturer and approval number. The approval number in Shen et al. was unclear. Oral dose, topical solvent or paste, application schedule, treatment duration, conventional care, antivenom use, and outcome timing varied. The evidence, therefore, could not isolate oral from topical effects or define one reproducible regimen.
Several trials focused on viper bites, whereas others used mixed or uncertain classifications. Li et al. enrolled patients with venomous insect stings or snakebite, without separable snakebite data27. Hu et al. included many patients with unidentified or reportedly nonvenomous exposures25. These populations limited directness and generalizability. Table 1 summarizes study characteristics, and Supplementary Tables 1–2 provide complete mappings of interventions and outcomes.
The studies did not use a uniform core outcome set. Three reported clinical responses, three reported hospital stay, and four reported swelling-resolution time. Only two or three trials contributed to individual biomarker or pain outcomes. Mortality, permanent disability, amputation, validated limb function, quality of life, antivenom dose, and economic outcomes were not consistently reported. Adverse-event reporting consisted mainly of brief statements rather than denominator-based surveillance.
Risk of bias
Every trial raised some concerns about randomization because allocation concealment was not reported. Clinical response and swelling resolution outcomes were judged to be high risk overall. Participants and assessors were not blinded, and the outcomes were investigator-defined or lacked common operational thresholds. Hospital stay and C-reactive protein were judged as having some concerns overall. Laboratory measurement reduced measurement bias for C-reactive protein, but prespecification remained unavailable. Figure 2, Supplementary Table 4, and Supplementary File 1 provide the complete outcome-level assessment.
Clinical response
Three trials reported investigator-defined clinical response, but the constructs were not equivalent. The study-specific risk ratio was 1.20 (95% confidence interval, 1.01 to 1.42) for Shen SH 2023. It was 1.24 (1.04 to 1.48) for Li BL 2022 and 1.26 (1.08 to 1.46) for the source-defined marked response in Shen L 2019. No primary pooled response estimate was calculated.
The post hoc harmonized any-improvement sensitivity analysis included three trials. The restricted maximum-likelihood modified Hartung-Knapp estimate was 1.14 (95% confidence interval, 0.97 to 1.35; tau2 = 0.0004; I2 = 7.9%). The fixed-effect sensitivity estimate was 1.14 (95% confidence interval, 1.06 to 1.22). The inference, therefore, depended on the statistical model and a post hoc reclassification of the endpoint (Figure 3; Table 2; Supplementary Table 6).
Swelling-resolution time
Four trials involving 258 participants reported swelling-resolution time25,26,27,28. Individual mean differences ranged from 0.91 to 2.80 days shorter with adjunctive treatment. The restricted maximum-likelihood modified Hartung-Knapp estimate was 1.64 days shorter (95% confidence interval, 3.05 to 0.24 days shorter; tau2 = 0.640; I2 = 90.0%). The fixed-effect sensitivity estimate was 1.59 days shorter (95% confidence interval, 1.84 to 1.34 days shorter), but this model was not preferred under substantial heterogeneity.
Every leave-one-out robust confidence interval crossed zero. Exclusion of Li et al. produced an estimate of 1.88 days shorter (95% confidence interval, 4.22 days shorter to 0.46 days longer; I2 = 91.2%). The analyses indicate an average directional effect but poor stability and an uncertain magnitude (Figure 4; Table 2; Supplementary Table 6).
Hospital stay
Three trials involving 198 participants reported hospital stay25,27,28. Individual estimates were directionally consistent and ranged from approximately 1.3 to 1.9 days shorter. The restricted maximum-likelihood modified Hartung-Knapp estimate was 1.49 days shorter (95% confidence interval, 2.38 to 0.61 days shorter; tau2 = 0; I2 = 0%). The fixed-effect sensitivity estimate was also 1.49 days shorter (95% confidence interval, 1.90 to 1.09 days shorter).
Each leave-one-out analysis included only two studies, and every robust confidence interval crossed zero. Excluding Li et al. yielded an estimate of 1.76 days shorter (95% confidence interval, 5.70 days shorter to 2.17 days longer). No trial reported standardized discharge criteria (Figure 5; Table 2; Supplementary Table 6).
Biomarkers, pain, and safety reporting
C-reactive protein was not quantitatively pooled. Shen SH 2023 reported post-treatment values of 10.42 ± 2.78 versus 17.53 ± 1.94 mg/L, but the exact day was unclear26. Shen L 2019 reported day-6 values of 3.9 ± 9.6 versus 9.6 ± 10.6 mg/L29. Hu J 2021 reported day-7 high-sensitivity C-reactive protein values of 0.7 ± 0.2 versus 1.5 ± 0.7 mg/mL, as printed25. All comparisons favored adjunctive treatment, but analyte labels, units, and assessment times prevented an interpretable raw mean-difference synthesis.
Pain-disappearance data were not pooled because one source reported hours while the others reported days. Creatine kinase and liver-related findings were retained as narrative source observations rather than pooled claims. The reports did not provide comprehensive adverse-event tables with denominators, severity, timing, causality, or withdrawals. They did not identify a clear safety signal, but the reporting was insufficient to establish safety.
Publication bias and certainty
Formal publication-bias testing was not performed because fewer than ten studies contributed to every pooled outcome. Publication bias was considered not assessable. GRADE certainty was very low for clinical response, swelling-resolution time, hospital stay, and C-reactive protein. Downgrading reflected outcome-level risk of bias, indirectness, small samples, and outcome-specific inconsistency or imprecision (Table 3; Supplementary Table 5).
DATA AVAILABILITY:
Supplementary Files 1 and 2 provide the extracted data, supporting analyses, source documentation, updated-search screening and audit record, and executable R workflow. Supplementary Tables 1–7 provide the corresponding supporting data. No individual participant data was used.

Figure 1: PRISMA flow diagram. (A) The original search identified 144 records, retained 68 after deduplication, assessed eight full texts, and included five unique randomized trials. The three original full-text exclusions were two nonrandomized studies and one companion report. (B) The updated bibliographic search from 23 February through 26 September 2026 identified nine records, retained six unique records after cross-database deduplication, and identified no additional eligible independent randomized trial. The evidence base remained five unique randomized trials involving 458 participants. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 2: Outcome-level RoB 2 judgments. Green indicates low risk, amber indicates some concerns, and red indicates high risk. D1, randomization process; D2, deviations from intended interventions; D3, missing outcome data; D4, outcome measurement; D5, selection of the reported result. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 3: Clinical-response effects. (A) Source-specific response effects are shown without a pooled primary estimate because definitions differ. (B) The post hoc any-improvement sensitivity analysis uses a restricted maximum-likelihood random-effects model with modified Hartung-Knapp confidence intervals. RR, risk ratio; CI, confidence interval. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 4: Swelling-resolution time. Study mean differences and the pooled restricted maximum-likelihood random-effects estimate with modified Hartung-Knapp confidence intervals are shown. Negative values favor adjunctive Jidesheng treatment. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.

Figure 5: Hospital stay. Study mean differences and the pooled restricted maximum-likelihood random-effects estimate with modified Hartung-Knapp confidence intervals are shown. Negative values favor adjunctive Jidesheng treatment. Please click here to view a larger version of this figure.
| Study | Population/species ascertainment | n (T/C) | Randomization / concealment | Product and manufacturer | Route | Oral regimen | Topical preparation | Duration | Comparator / antivenom | Principal outcomes and timing |
| Shen SH 2023 | Clinically diagnosed viper bite; exact species confirmation unclear | 30/30 | Random-number allocation; concealment NR | Jidesheng Snake Tablets; Jinghua; Z32020048 | Oral + topical | 10 tablets q6h | 20 tablets + 20 mL saline; applied 3–4 h | Not fixed | Conventional care including anti-viper serum; therapeutic timing NR | Clinical response after treatment; swelling time; CRP after treatment, exact day unclear |
| Li BL 2022 | Venomous insect stings or snakebite; snakebite subgroup not separable | 37/37 | Random-number table; concealment NR | Jidesheng Snake Tablets 0.4 g; Jinghua; Z32020048 | Oral + topical | First 20 tablets, then 10 q6h; flexible escalation | Mixed with water and applied; quantity/frequency incompletely standardized | 7–10 d | Antivenom according to condition; timing NR | Clinical response after treatment; swelling time; hospital stay |
| Deng ZF 2019 | Clinically diagnosed viper bite | 30/30 | Random-number table; concealment NR | Jidesheng Snake Tablets; Jinghua; Z32020048 | Oral + topical | First 20 tablets, then 10 q6h | 10 tablets + saline; once daily | 7 d | Anti-viper serum 6000 U IV; exact timing NR | Swelling-disappearance time; hospital stay |
| Hu J 2021 | 17 species-identified; 47 unidentified or reportedly nonvenomous exposures | 32/32 | Random-number table; concealment NR | Jidesheng Snake Tablets 0.4 g; Jinghua; Z32020048 | Oral + topical | First 8 g, then 4 g q6h | 8 g + ~20 mL 75% ethanol; once daily | 7 d | Matching IV antivenom only if species identified; not uniform | Swelling-resolution time; hospital stay; hs-CRP day 7 |
| Shen L 2019 | Clinically diagnosed viper bite | 100/100 | Random-number table; concealment NR | Jidesheng Snake Tablets; Jinghua; approval unclear | Oral only | 10 tablets four times daily | Not used (oral-only regimen) | 6 d | Anti-viper serum 6000 U IV; exact timing NR | Marked response and CRP at day 6 |
Table 1: Characteristics of the five unique randomized trials. The table summarizes population, intervention reproducibility, comparator, and principal outcome definitions. Complete source mappings are provided in Supplementary File 1.
NOTE: NR, not reported; T, treatment group; C, control group. Full intervention details are provided in Supplementary Table 1 and exact outcome definitions in Supplementary Table 2.
| Outcome | Analysis | Model | k | Effect (95% CI) | T2 | I2 | Interpretation |
| Clinical response | Source-specific | No primary pool | 3 | Shen SH RR 1.20 (1.01-1.42); Li BL RR 1.24 (1.04-1.48); Shen L RR 1.26 (1.08-1.46) | — | — | Definitions differed |
| Any improvement | Post hoc harmonized | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp | 3 | RR 1.14 (0.97-1.35) | 4E-04 | 7.9% | CI includes 1 |
| Any improvement | Fixed-effect sensitivity | Fixed effect | 3 | RR 1.14 (1.06-1.22) | — | 0% | Sensitivity only |
| Swelling-resolution time | Primary | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp | 4 | MD -1.64 d (-3.05 to -0.24) | 0.64 | 90.0% | High heterogeneity; leave-one-out unstable |
| Swelling-resolution time | Fixed-effect sensitivity | Fixed effect | 4 | MD -1.59 d (-1.84 to -1.34) | — | 88.5% | Not preferred |
| Swelling-resolution time | Exclude Li BL 2022 | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp | 3 | MD -1.88 d (-4.22 to 0.46) | 0.762 | 91.2% | Population sensitivity; CI crosses 0 |
| Hospital stay | Primary | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp | 3 | MD -1.49 d (-2.38 to -0.61) | 0 | 0% | Discharge criteria not standardized |
| Hospital stay | Fixed-effect sensitivity | Fixed effect | 3 | MD -1.49 d (-1.90 to -1.09) | — | 0% | Sensitivity only |
| Hospital stay | Exclude Li BL 2022 | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp | 2 | MD -1.76 d (-5.70 to 2.17) | 0 | 0% | Population sensitivity; CI crosses 0 |
| CRP / hs-CRP | Narrative only | No raw-MD pooling | 3 | No pooled estimate | — | — | Analyte label, printed unit and time differed |
| Publication bias | Not assessable | No formal test | <10 per outcome | — | — | — | Funnel/asymmetry tests not performed |
Table 2: Final quantitative synthesis and sensitivity analyses. Random-effects estimates use restricted maximum likelihood with modified Hartung-Knapp confidence intervals. Fixed-effect estimates are sensitivity analyses.
NOTE: Complete leave-one-out results are provided in Supplementary Table 6. Negative mean difference (MD) values favor adjunctive Jidesheng treatment.
| Outcome | Evidence base | Main finding | Certainty | Main reasons for downgrading |
| Clinical response | 3 RCTs; 334 participants | Source-specific RRs were 1.20 (95% CI 1.01–1.42), 1.24 (1.04–1.48), and 1.26 (1.08–1.46); results were not pooled as the primary analysis. Post hoc harmonized sensitivity: RR 1.14 (0.97–1.35). | Very low | Serious risk of bias, indirectness, and imprecision; response definitions differed across studies. |
| Swelling-resolution time | 4 RCTs; 258 participants | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp: MD -1.64 days (95% CI -3.05 to -0.24); I² = 90.0%. Every leave-one-out robust CI crossed 0. | Very low | Serious risk of bias, inconsistency, indirectness, and imprecision. |
| Hospital stay | 3 RCTs; 198 participants | REML + modified Hartung-Knapp: MD -1.49 days (95% CI -2.38 to -0.61); I² = 0.0%. Every two-study sensitivity robust CI crossed 0. | Very low | Serious risk of bias, indirectness, and imprecision. |
| C-reactive protein | 3 RCTs; narrative synthesis only | Raw mean differences were not pooled because analyte labels, printed units, and assessment times differed. | Very low | Serious risk of bias, indirectness, and imprecision; quantitative synthesis was not interpretable. |
Table 3: GRADE certainty assessment. All principal outcomes were rated very low certainty. NOTE: Publication bias was not assessable because fewer than 10 studies contributed to every outcome. Detailed domain-level GRADE judgments are provided in Supplementary Table 5.
Supplementary File 1: Source-verified dataset and evidence-assessment materials. This file contains the extracted numerical data, source mappings, intervention and outcome definitions, duplicate-report audit, final R results, sensitivity analyses, RoB 2 signaling responses, GRADE assessments, legacy-file provenance, and the updated-search screening and exclusion audit.Please click here to download this file.
Supplementary File 2: Executable R workflow. This file contains the R code used for (A) the statistical analyses and (B–C) reproducibility of the meta-analysis.Please click here to download this file.
Supplementary Table 1: Detailed intervention characteristics of the five included trials. Detailed characteristics of the interventions and comparators used in the five included randomized controlled trials, including the Jidesheng Snake intervention regimen, route of administration, treatment duration, and corresponding conventional-care regimen, as reported in each study.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: Product and regimen details are transcribed from the six uploaded primary reports; NR denotes not reported.
Supplementary Table 2: Outcome definitions and data-handling decisions for the included trials. Detailed definitions of the outcomes reported across the included trials, together with the corresponding extraction, harmonization, and data-handling decisions applied for the systematic review and quantitative synthesis.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: The 96/87 classification for Shen L 2019 is a post hoc derivation, not the source-defined marked-response endpoint.
Supplementary Table 3: Duplicate-publication audit comparing the companion reports of the same randomized trial. Detailed comparison of the companion reports originating from the same randomized controlled trial, including overlapping study characteristics and outcome information, was used to identify the reports as duplicate publications and determine which report was retained for analysis.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: The exact matching features support treatment of Gong XH 2018 as a companion report of the Shen L 2019 trial.
Supplementary Table 4: Outcome-level Risk of Bias 2 domain judgments and rationales. Outcome-level Risk of Bias 2 assessments for the included randomized controlled trials, including domain-specific judgments and the corresponding rationales supporting each judgment.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: D1–D5 are the five Cochrane RoB 2 domains. Complete signaling-question responses are in Supplementary File 1.
Supplementary Table 5: GRADE certainty-of-evidence judgments and downgrading rationales. GRADE certainty-of-evidence judgments for the evaluated outcomes, including assessments of the relevant certainty domains and the specific rationales for any downgrading of the evidence.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: GRADE certainty: high, moderate, low or very low. Domain judgments and rationale are outcome specific.
Supplementary Table 6: Exact quantitative synthesis and sensitivity analyses, including leave-one-out results. Detailed results of the quantitative syntheses and sensitivity analyses, including pooled effect estimates, measures of heterogeneity, and leave-one-out analyses used to evaluate the robustness of the findings.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: All random-effects analyses use REML with the modified Hartung-Knapp safeguard. Fixed-effect estimates are sensitivity analyses only.
Supplementary Table 7: Updated bibliographic search audit and exclusion decisions. Database-specific yields for the update period from 23 February through 26 September 2026, the six unique records screened after deduplication, the screening decision for each record, the concise exclusion reason, and source or full-text status are reported.Please click here to download this file.
NOTE: The Wei 2026 decision concerns the inability to establish dataset independence; it is not an allegation of misconduct. The updated search did not change the five-trial, 458-participant evidence base.