Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.4: Raisonnement inductif
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Raisonnement inductif
 
TRANSCRIPTION

1.4: Raisonnement inductif

Aperçu

Le raisonnement inductif est un type de logique dans lequel les prémisses mènent à une conclusion. Le raisonnement inductif est incertain et fonctionne à des degrés auxquels les conclusions sont crédibles. En tant que tels, les arguments inductifs peuvent être faibles ou forts, plutôt que valables ou non valables, et les conclusions peuvent être utilisées pour formuler des hypothèses vérifiables et falsifiables.

Raisonnement inductif

Dans le raisonnement inductif, les preuves recueillies d’un échantillon, souvent petit, sont utilisées pour en tirer une conclusion. Cela permet la possibilité que la conclusion soit fausse. Cela ne ressemble pas au raisonnement déductif, qui commence par une hypothèse et examine les possibilités d’arriver à une conclusion précise et logique.

Par exemple, si on observe que tous les poissons d’un étang font gicler de l’eau dans l’air en direction d’insectes qu’ils récupèrent et mangent ensuite, un raisonnement inductif indiquerait que tous les poissons doivent être en mesure de projeter de l’eau comme un moyen pour chasser les insectes.

Parce que cette conclusion est crédible, elle peut être utilisée pour formuler une hypothèse vérifiable et falsifiable : tous les poissons projettent de l’eau pour attraper leurs proies d’insectes. En général, il s’agit d’un argument faible étant donné que toutes les sortes de poissons ne sont pas présentes dans cet étang particulier. Ensuite, afin de tester cette hypothèse, le chercheur pourrait recueillir plusieurs sortes de poissons provenant de l’étang, en plus d’autres sortes de poissons mangeant des insectes provenant d’autres sources d’eau, et observer comment ils se comportent en laboratoire en présence d’insectes. Les résultats peuvent mener à la conclusion que tous les poissons ne font pas gicler de l’eau sur leurs proies. Par exemple, on sait que les poissons archers tirent sur les insectes avec un jet d’eau, mais les poissons-globe ne le font pas.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

1.4: Inductive Reasoning
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

1.4: Inductive Reasoning

Overview

Inductive reasoning is a type of logic in which premises lead to a conclusion. Inductive reasoning is uncertain and operates in degrees to which the conclusions are credible. As such, inductive arguments can be weak or strong, rather than valid or invalid, and conclusions can be used to formulate testable, falsifiable hypotheses.

Inductive Reasoning

In inductive reasoning, collected evidence of an often small sample is used to draw a conclusion. It allows for the possibility that the conclusion is false. This is unlike deductive reasoning, which starts with a hypothesis and looks at the possibilities to reach a specific, logical conclusion.

For example, if all fish in a pond are observed squirting water into the air towards insects that they then retrieve and eat, inductive reasoning would indicate that all fish must be able to project water as a method of preying on insects.

Because this conclusion is credible, it can be used to formulate a testable, falsifiable hypothesis—that all fish project water to catch their insect prey. In general, this is a weak argument considering that not all types of fish are present in this particular pond. Then, in order to test this hypothesis, the researcher could collect multiple types of fish from the pond—in addition to other types of fish that eat insects from other water sources—and observe how they behave in a laboratory setting, in the presence of insects. The results may lead to the conclusion that not all fish squirt water at their prey. For example, it is known that archerfish shoot insects with a stream of water, but pufferfish do not.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter