Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

6.4: Signalisation dépendante du contact
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Contact-dependent Signaling
 
TRANSCRIPTION

6.4: Signalisation dépendante du contact

La signalisation dépendante du contact utilise des canaux cytoplasmiques spécialisés entre les cellules qui permettent le flux de petites molécules entre elles. Chez les cellules animales, ces canaux s’appellent des jonctions communicantes. Chez les plantes, ils sont connus sous le nom de plasmodesmes.

Les jonctions communicantes se forment lorsque deux hémicanaux, ou connexons, se joignent ; un connexon d’une cellule se couplant à un connexon d’une cellule adjacente. Le connexon de chaque cellule est formé à partir de six protéines créant un canal circulaire. Il existe plus de 20 types différents de ces protéines, ou connexines, de sorte qu’il y a des variations considérables dans la façon dont elles se réunissent en tant que connexons et en tant que jonctions communicantes. Les connexines ont quatre sous-unités transmembranaires avec leurs N-terminus et C-terminus situés de façon intracellulaire. Le C-terminus a plusieurs sites de phosphorylation de sorte qu’il peut être activé par de nombreuses kinases différentes, ce qui agrandi davantage la variété des jonctions communicantes.

Suivant la kinase d’activation et les résidus d’acides aminés du C-terminus des connexines qui sont phosphorylés, les jonctions communicantes peuvent être partiellement ou entièrement ouvertes. Cela permet sélectivement aux petites molécules de circuler d’une cellule à l’autre. Une jonction communicante peut également exclure selon la charge électrochimique. La sélectivité des jonctions communicantes permet à une seule cellule de coordonner une réponse multicellulaire complexe. Cependant, certaines molécules toxiques, qui correspondent à la taille et à la préférence électrochimique de la jonction communicante, peuvent également passer entre les cellules. Il en résulte un “ effet témoin ” où une cellule endommagée ou malade transmet des signaux apoptotiques à sa voisine entraînant la mort des deux cellules.

Chez les plantes, la signalisation dépendante du contact se produit par l’utilisation de plasmodesmes. Comme les jonctions communicantes, ce sont des canaux cytoplasmiques entre deux cellules. Ils traversent la paroi cellulaire et la membrane. Les plasmodesmes dirige également la communication d’une seule cellule vers de nombreuses cellules ; ils sont donc également sensibles à “ l’effet témoin ”.

Contrairement aux jonctions communicantes, les canaux de plasmodesmes sont plus flexibles au niveau des molécules qu’ils laissent passer entre les cellules. Au centre de la plupart des canaux se trouve un tube du réticulum endoplasmique (RE) qui s’étend entre les deux cellules. Cette extension du RE est appelée le desmotubule qui entoure le manchon cytoplasmique. Ce manchon permet le transport passif et actif des molécules. Pour transporter de plus grandes molécules, comme les facteurs de transcription, les petits ARN ou d’autres acides nucléiques et protéines, les plasmodesmes peuvent se dilater. En raison de cette faculté, les plasmodesmes jouent un rôle essentiel dans l’information de la position cellulaire et le destin de la cellule. Malheureusement, cette faculté permet également que l’infection virale se propage rapidement entre les cellules.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

6.3: Contact-dependent Signaling
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

6.3: Contact-dependent Signaling

Contact-dependent signaling uses specialized cytoplasmic channels between cells that allow the flow of small molecules between them. In animal cells, these channels are called gap junctions. In plants, they are known as plasmodesmata.

Gap junctions form when two hemichannels, or connexons, join; one connexon from one cell coupling to a connexon of an adjacent cell. Each cell’s connexon is formed from six proteins creating a circular channel. There are over 20 different types of these proteins, or connexins, so there is substantial variation in how they come together as connexons and as gap junctions. Connexins have four transmembrane subunits with both their N- and C-terminus endings located intracellularly. The C-terminus has multiple phosphorylation sites so it can be activated by numerous different kinases- further adding to gap junction variety.

Depending on the activating kinase, and the C-terminal amino acid residues of connexins that are phosphorylated, gap junctions can be partially or fully opened. This selectively allows small molecules to flow from one cell into another. A gap junction may also exclude by electrochemical charge. The selectivity of gap junctions allows a single cell to coordinate a complex multicellular response. However, some toxic molecules, matching the size and electrochemical preference of the gap junction, can also pass between cells. This results in a “bystander effect.” where a damaged or diseased cell passes on apoptotic signals to its neighbor resulting in the death of both the cells.

In plants, contact-dependent signaling occurs through the use of plasmodesmata. Like gap junctions, they are cytoplasmic channels between two cells. They pass through both the cell wall and membrane. The plasmodesmata also direct communication from a single cell out to many cells; thus they are also susceptible to “bystander effects.”

Unlike gap junctions, the channels of plasmodesmata are more flexible in the molecules they let pass between cells. At the center of most channels is a tube of the endoplasmic reticulum (ER) that runs between the two cells. This ER extension is called the desmotubule which surrounds the cytoplasmic sleeve. This sleeve permits the passive and active transport of molecules. To transport larger molecules, like transcription factors, small RNA, or other nucleic acids and proteins, the plasmodesmata can dilate. Because of this ability, plasmodesmata play a key role in cell position information and cell fate. Unfortunately, this ability also permits viral infection to quickly spread between cells.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter