Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

10.3: Scissiparité
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Binary Fission
 
TRANSCRIPTION

10.3: Scissiparité

La fission est la division d’une seule entité en deux ou plusieurs parties, qui se régénèrent en entités distinctes ressemblant à l’original. Les organismes des domaines Archaea et Bactéria se reproduisent en utilisant la fission binaire, dans laquelle une cellule mère se divise en deux parties qui peuvent atteindre la taille de la cellule mère d’origine. Cette méthode asexuée de reproduction produit des cellules génétiquement identiques.

La vitesse de la fission bactérienne

Bien que sa vitesse varie d’une espèce à l’autre, la fission binaire est généralement rapide et peut produire une croissance stupéfiante. Pendant le temps qu’il faut aux cellules bactériennes pour subir une fission binaire, le nombre de cellules dans la culture bactérienne double. Ainsi, cette période est le temps de doublement. Par exemple, les cellules d’Escherichia coli se divisent généralement toutes les 20 minutes. La croissance bactérienne est cependant limitée par des facteurs comme la disponibilité des éléments nutritifs et de l’espace. Ainsi, la fission binaire se produit à des vitesses beaucoup plus faibles dans les cultures bactériennes qui ont rencontré un facteur limitant la croissance (c.-à-d. qui sont entrées dans une phase de croissance stationnaire).

La fission des organites dans les cellules eucaryotes

En plus des organismes des domaines Archaea et Bactéria, certaines organites dans les cellules eucaryotes se reproduisent également par fission binaire. Les mitochondries, par exemple, se divisent par fission binaire procaryotique. Ce processus nécessite la division des protéines et de l’ADN mitochondriaux.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

10.3: Binary Fission
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

10.3: Binary Fission

Fission is the division of a single entity into two or more parts, which regenerate into separate entities that resemble the original. Organisms in the Archaea and Bacteria domains reproduce using binary fission, in which a parent cell splits into two parts that can each grow to the size of the original parent cell. This asexual method of reproduction produces cells that are all genetically identical.

The speed of Bacterial Fission

Though its speed varies among species, binary fission is generally rapid and can yield staggering growth. In the amount of time it takes bacterial cells to undergo binary fission, the number of cells in the bacterial culture doubles. Thus, this period is the doubling time. For example, Escherichia coli cells typically divide every 20 minutes. Bacterial growth, however, is limited by factors including nutrient and space availability. Thus, binary fission occurs at much lower rates in bacterial cultures that have encountered a growth-limiting factor (i.e., entered a stationary growth phase).

Fission of Organelles in Eukaryotic Cells

In addition to organisms in the Archaea and Bacteria domains, some organelles in eukaryotic cells also reproduce via binary fission. Mitochondria, for example, divide by prokaryotic binary fission. This process requires the division of mitochondrial proteins and DNA.

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter