Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.6: Axe hypothalamique-hypophysaire
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Axe hypothalamique-hypophysaire
 
TRANSCRIPTION

21.6: Axe hypothalamique-hypophysaire

La réponse au stress — qu’il soit physique ou psychologique, aigu ou chronique — implique l’activation de l’axe hypothalamo-hypophyso-surrénalien (HHS). L’axe HHS fait partie du système neuro-endocrinien parce qu’il implique à la fois la communication neuronale et hormonale. Sa fonction est de réguler les systèmes homéostatiques — métaboliques, cardiovasculaires et immunitaires — en fournissant les moyens nécessaires pour répondre à un facteur de stress.

Ce qui se passe pendant le stress

En réponse au stress, les neurones de l’hypothalamus libèrent la corticolibérine, ou CRH pour corticotropin-releasing hormone, dans la circulation sanguine. La CRH fait un court voyage à la glande hypophysaire où elle stimule la libération de l’hormone adrénocorticotrope, ou ACTH. Le site d’action pour l’ACTH sont les glandes surrénales qui se trouvent juste à la surface des reins. Lorsqu’elles sont stimulées, les glandes surrénales libèrent deux types de messages de stress.

La stimulation neuronale initie le premier message : la libération d’adrénaline et de noradrénaline de la médullaire surrénale. Ceci active le système nerveux sympathique ayant pour résultat l’élévation de la fréquence cardiaque, du flux sanguin et de la respiration — des mécanismes conçus pour activer les états de vigilance et d’excitation. Ces deux substances chimiques sont également appelées, respectivement, épinéphrine et norépinéphrine.

L’ACTH initie le deuxième message : la libération des glucocorticoïdes par le cortex surrénal. Chez l’homme, le cortisol est l’hormone primaire impliquée dans la réponse au stress. Alors que les premiers messages stimulent les systèmes, les seconds messages fortifient certains systèmes et inhibent d’autres systèmes non vitaux. Le cortisol mobilise les réserves de glucose et favorise la gluconéogenèse par le catabolisme des acides gras et des protéines. Il inhibe également temporairement les réponses immunitaires et inflammatoires. Puis, lorsque les niveaux de cortisol sanguin atteignent un certain seuil, il déclenche une boucle de rétroaction négative qui inhibe à la fois l’hypothalamus et l’activité hypophysaire. Cela désactive l’axe HHS et met fin à la réponse au stress.

L’activation chronique de l’axe HHS, soit par le stress chronique ou le stress aigu chronique, peut conduire à un épuisement du cortisol. Puisque le cortisol a plusieurs fonctions pendant les périodes de stress et de non-stress, ceci peut mener à la douleur chronique, la dépression, l’infertilité, et peut jouer un rôle dans l’abus de substances et la dépendance.


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

21.5: Hypothalamic-Pituitary Axis
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

21.5: Hypothalamic-Pituitary Axis

The response to stress—be it physical or psychological, acute or chronic—involves activation of the Hypothalamic-Pituitary-Adrenal (HPA) axis. The HPA axis is part of the neuroendocrine system because it involves both neuronal and hormonal communication. Its function is to regulate homeostatic systems—metabolic, cardiovascular, and immune—providing the necessary means to respond to a stressor.

What Happens During Stress

In response to stress, the neurons in the hypothalamus release corticotropin-releasing hormone, or CRH, into the bloodstream. CRH takes a short journey to the pituitary gland where it stimulates the release of adrenocorticotropic hormone, or ACTH. The site of action for ACTH are the adrenal glands which lay just on the surface of the kidneys. When stimulated, the adrenal glands release two types of stress messages.

Neural stimulation initiates the first message—the release of epinephrine and norepinephrine from the adrenal medulla. This activates the sympathetic nervous system resulting in elevated heart rate, blood flow, and respiration—processes designed to activate states of alertness and arousal. These two chemicals are also referred to as adrenaline and noradrenaline, respectively.

ACTH initiates the second message—the release of glucocorticoids by the adrenal cortex. In humans, cortisol is the primary hormone involved in the stress response. While the first messages stimulate systems, the second messages fortify some systems and inhibit other non-vital systems. Cortisol mobilizes glucose fuel reserves and promotes gluconeogenesis via the catabolism of fatty acids and proteins. It also temporarily inhibits the immune and inflammatory responses. Then, when blood cortisol levels reach a certain threshold, it triggers a negative feedback loop which inhibits both the hypothalamus and pituitary activity. This deactivates the HPA axis and brings the stress response to a stop.

Chronic activation of the HPA axis, either through chronic stress or chronic acute stress, can lead to a depletion of cortisol. Since cortisol has multiple functions during stress and non-stress periods this can lead to chronic pain, depression, infertility, and may play a role in substance abuse and addiction.


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter