Waiting
Login processing...

Trial ends in Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

22.1: Le système respiratoire
TABLE DES
MATIÈRES

JoVE Core
Biology

A subscription to JoVE is required to view this content.
You will only be able to see the first 20 seconds.

Education
Le système respiratoire
 
TRANSCRIPTION

22.1: Le système respiratoire

Le système respiratoire est composé des organes qui permettent de respirer. L’air pénètre dans les narines et la bouche, suivis par le pharynx (gorge) et le larynx (boîte vocale), qui mènent à la trachée. Dans la cavité thoracique, la trachée se divise en deux bronches qui permettent à l’air d’entrer dans les poumons. Les bronches sont divisées en bronchioles de plus en plus petites et se terminent en petits groupes de minuscules sacs dans les poumons appelés alvéoles, où l’échange de gaz se produit.

L’enlèvement des débris

L’air est nettoyé dans la cavité nasale, mais tout ce qui pénètre ces défenses ou pénètre par la bouche peut être capturé dans les poumons. Les poumons produisent du mucus qui piège les particules étrangères, et les bronches ainsi que les bronchioles sont tapissées de cils qui font remonter le mucus et les débris vers la gorge pour l’élimination (c.-à-d. la déglutition). Fumer endommage les cils, ce qui rend l’élimination de l’excès de mucus produit par le tabagisme plus difficile. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles les fumeurs sont plus sensibles aux infections respiratoires.

La trachée

La trachée est un tube de 10 à 12 cm de long situé devant l’œsophage qui permet à l’air d’entrer et de sortir des poumons. Son cartilage hyalin en forme de C maintient la trachée ouverte. Lorsque le muscle lisse de la trachée se contracte, le diamètre de la trachée diminue et l’air expiré est poussé avec une grande force (p. ex., en toussant). En cas de dommages à la gorge ou à la bouche qui bloquent la respiration, une trachéostomie, un trou dans la trachée créé chirurgicalement, peut permettre à l’air d’entrer et de sortir des poumons.

Les alvéoles

Un seul conduit alvéolaire à l’extrémité d’une bronchiole se divise en environ 100 sacs alvéolaires, qui ressemblent chacun à une grappe de raisins sur une tige. Chaque sac alvéolaire possède 20-30 alvéoles, qui ressemblent à de petites bulles, ou à des raisins. Les alvéoles sont les sites d’échange de gaz et sont en contact direct avec les capillaires. Cette structure est cruciale pour la fonction des poumons, fournissant à l’organisme de l’oxygène et éliminant le dioxyde de carbone, car elle maximise la surface des poumons. Les poumons contiennent 75 m2 de surface alvéolaire, la taille d’un petit appartement !


Lecture suggérée

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
Simple Hit Counter

Trial Ending in: Request Full Access Tell Your Colleague About Jove

22.1: The Respiratory System
TABLE OF
CONTENTS

 
TRANSCRIPT

22.1: The Respiratory System

The respiratory system is comprised of the organs that enable breathing. Air enters the nostrils and mouth, followed by the pharynx (throat) and larynx (voice box), which lead to the trachea (windpipe). In the thoracic cavity, the trachea splits into two bronchi that allow air to enter the lungs. The bronchi split into progressively smaller bronchioles and terminate in small groups of tiny sacs in the lungs called alveoli, where gas exchange occurs.

Removal of Debris

Air is cleansed in the nasal cavity, but anything that passes those defenses or enters through the mouth can be caught in the lungs. The lungs produce mucus that traps foreign particles, and the bronchi and bronchioles are lined with cilia that beat mucus and debris upward toward the throat for disposal (i.e., swallowing). Smoking damages the cilia, making removal of the excess mucus produced by smoking more difficult. This is one of the reasons smokers are more susceptible to respiratory infections.

Trachea

The trachea is a 10-12 cm long tube located in front of the esophagus that allows air to enter and exit the lungs. Its C-shaped hyaline cartilage keeps the trachea open. When the smooth muscle of the trachea contracts, the diameter of the trachea decreases and exhaled air is pushed out with great force (e.g., coughing). In cases of damage to the throat or mouth that blocks breathing, a tracheostomy, a surgically-created hole in the trachea, can allow air into and out of the lungs.

Alveoli

A single alveolar duct at the end of a bronchiole divides into approximately 100 alveolar sacs, which each resembling a bunch of grapes on a stem. Each alveolar sac has 20-30 alveoli, which look like little bubbles, or grapes. Alveoli are the sites of gas exchange and have direct contact with capillaries. This structure is crucial to the function of the lungs—providing the body with oxygen and removing carbon dioxide—because it maximizes the surface area of the lungs. The lungs contain 75 m2 of alveoli surface area, the size of a small apartment!


Suggested Reading

Get cutting-edge science videos from JoVE sent straight to your inbox every month.

Waiting X
simple hit counter